We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best BBQ in Small Town Texas”
Review of Prause Market

Prause Market
Ranked #6 of 37 Restaurants in La Grange
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
La Grange, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best BBQ in Small Town Texas”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

If you are ever in LaGrange Tx and just want some go ole BBQ stop by and talk to Mark Prause , he'll serve you up some of the best around...

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    14
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
La Grange, Texas, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great meat market”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Great meat market for cuts of meats anyway you like it cut and much better smoked sausage than Elgin. Good barbque much better than Lockhart.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Larry979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Grange, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great Texas Tradition”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Family owned and operated small town Texas BBQ joint. It's the best BBQ and the best atmosphere. It is def a must for BBQ lovers!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoyRidesTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beats ALL Lockhart (and most other Centex) BBQ joints”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

If you value family history (100+ years) and consistently good BBQ (and good steaks to take home and grill) this is the place. The Prause brothers and sister Kathy have a good time serving locals and passers-through their always tender and moist meats. Their sauce is tangy and a little different. Ask them to nuke it 'cause it's served cold otherwise. Don't be surprised if they don't have brisket until 1100 and they run out of ribs early. They open real early.

For a treat, ride your bike (or bicycle) to the square early, grab a pig or sweet roll and coffee at Lukas Bakery, eat your roll and enjoy the coffee on a court house bench, window shop then beat the crowd to Prause for early lunch.

Weekdays from 6:30am to 5:30pm except for Thursdays, when it closes at 1pm; Saturdays from 5:30am to 1pm. Closed Sundays.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank olcarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Tasty lunch”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We made an early lunch stop and I'm glad we did. It got much busier after we sat down.

I sampled the brisket and my hubby also added a barbecue link. We both had the baked potato salad. We found the brisket a little dry, but very tasty. We really enjoyed the potato salad. I wish I had the recipe! The only thing I'd change was to have the sauce served warm. The cold sauce was a distraction. I would certainly come back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Originalsweetone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prause Market also viewed

 

Been to Prause Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing