We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent accommodations given the circumstances.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
River Valley Motor Inn
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in La Grange
Hurst, Texas
Level Contributor
126 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodations given the circumstances.”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

My great grandmother recently passed away at the end of march, so we were down in La Grange for her funeral. Most hotels were booked up in the area due to the antique and craft festival in warrenton the same weekend.

We found vacancy in this hotel and stayed 2 nights. I'm 26 and have had family in La Grange all my life, so I've always had a place to stay coming down, but always wondered what the surrounding area hotels were like.

Let me just say that this particular hotel was an excellent choice! The beds were comfortable, the shower was nice and hot with great water pressure, and the staff were very friendly. I would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it to anyone deciding where to stay.

Only reason we give a 4 is just that the floors could use a good steam vac job, but that is such a minor detail due to everything else having been so pleasant.

Thank you!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris-Holly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    21
    4
    3
    5
See reviews for
10
8
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas Panhandle
Level Contributor
99 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed at the River Valley Motor Inn for the first time during the fall antique show - two weeks, end of September and first week in October. We are vendors, so this was a business stay. We stayed on the west side of the building, in a downstairs double. After reading the reviews, I was concerned...but we were pleasantly surprised. Our room was very clean, and housekeeping kept it that way every day. The furnishings are older, but in our room they were sturdy and functional. The beds were very good...which is very important to us. Rooms are very large; lots of room for us and two dogs. No charge for the dogs, which is very nice. None of the lodging in any of the surrounding area is cheap - but this one was reasonable. Good ice machine on the property; washer and dryer available to guests - microfridge in the room. Great air conditioner. Lots of working guys stay here, which is fine with me - by and large, they are there to sleep and not to party. We had no complaints; will stay here as long as the place is as good and reasonable as it was this time.

Room Tip: We were told to stay on the east side because of the afternoon sun, but our air conditioner was fine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cobwebs11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2010

This had to be the worst accommodations ever. The shower was very moldy and chips of soap lay on the tub with large amounts of grime around them. Probably not cleaned in weeks. The headboard was pulled off the wall, the mattress was hard as a brick. It appeared to accommodate workers and their familes. Hot dogs and burgers on the pit outside the door (pit was chained to the post), loud music, children running and skateboarding up and down in front of the rooms. Ice machine did not work. Guests above us stomping on the floor until the wee hours of the morning. No phone to call the front desk. No, I am not going back and hopefully you will not either.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank texasgale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston tx
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2009

Have been staying there for over ten years when in La Grange. It is convenient to the eating area for dinner and breakfast. The Inn is going down more and more each time I go. When I started going there, it was better maintained, in all manners, and was a reasonable place to stay. I just keep hoping that the management will see their way to clean it up, fix up the furnishings and have a fixed maintencnce check sheet that is used to check out the phones, the TV's, the plumbing, defrost the refrigerators and to check all of the light fixtures, as these are items that I have encuntered on individual trips that are badly in need of being done. Carpet is badly in need of being replaced (have made severf trips to La Grange during later 2008 and 2009 to date ending up in various rooms and the soiled carpet hits you first).

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chiquitaamor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
Reviewed September 28, 2008

We came to take in the antique fair nearby and found this location to be amazingly clean and a breath of fresh air in the motel arena. They had just done tremendous service for the "Ike" people, vistims and helpers, and were still able to present a superb room and package that we have not seen the likes of in a long time. the staff was the best and everything was more like a chain hotel with big budget and backing. For a privately owned outfit our hat is off to this location in La Grange and we will be back for sure!!! Thanks so much!!!

  • Liked — clean neat value package
  • Disliked — loved this place!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MontyTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2007

We had loved the River Valley and have stayed there for over eight years BUT this is the second time in a row we have stayed there and have NOT been able to sleep - a business complex adjacent to this FINE hotel now has a COWBOY RODEO dance hall with a bass virbration so loud that customers on the east side of the hotel can feel the vibrations from the frame of the facility and sleep for most is not possible. The motel has given out the police and business numbers to complain to but nothing seems to happen. The first time for us the hotel moved us to the other side which was inconvenient but at least we could go to sleep. This weekend they were booked and the ENTIRE east side of the hotel was "up in arms" but nothing was done. I will only stay there again when this "problem" is fixed. vr

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank taraSanAntonio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2004

Our stay at the lovely LaGrange, TX River Valley Motor Inn was eye-opening. Upon our arrival, we entered Room 221 to find hair and grease in the provided microwave and suspicous stains on the wall (blood?). We chose not to investigate too closely. The room was dark and had ventilation issues. The decor was reminiscent of a bad porno that we once saw. When we ran into friends who were also guest of the Motor Inn, we learned that not all rooms were created equal. Our neighbors in both 223 and 241 commented that our room was far better than theirs, but we didn't see these rooms ourselves, sadly. We did however spend some time in Room 120, The Honeymoon Suite. This room can only be described as the crown jewel of LaGrange. It featured colonial two-poster headboards bolted to the wall as well as a quarter-operated vibrating bed. In summation, shoudl you ever be blessed with the opportunity to visit fair LaGrange, and you choose to stay in the River Valley Motor Inn- request Room 120, or if need be Room 221, but never Rooms 223 or 241.
Thank you, drive thru.

Helpful?
20 Thank Thomas_Heston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Grange
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn La Grange
Hampton Inn La Grange
#1 of 7 in La Grange
192 reviews
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN La Grange Inn & Suites
14.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Schulenburg Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Schulenburg
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Cottonwood Inn
#5 of 7 in La Grange
35 reviews
18.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Flatonia Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Valley Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Valley Motor Inn

Property: River Valley Motor Inn
Address: 1575 West Travis Street, Business Hwy. 71 West, La Grange, TX 78945
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > La Grange
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in La Grange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — River Valley Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your River Valley Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Valley Motor Hotel La Grange
River Valley Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing