We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food”
Review of La Marina

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
La Marina
Ranked #18 of 37 Restaurants in La Grange
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Smithville, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Great place to get some good food at good prices. Love the hot sauce that is served with chips before the meal. Kathy was our server and you could not ask for better

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anna9179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    13
    4
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A great steak but the Mexican tasted frozen”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

They have a great Rib Eye steak but all the maxican food I tried tasted frozen and was so hot it had to be microwaved. The owner thinks his food cant be bad and is not very customer friendly. The bar was pretty good but the décor was atrocious. PURPLE WALLS

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank cowboydad1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas Panhandle
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good food, cheerful service, and nice prices!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We are in La Grange twice a year, for two weeks at a time, on business. We stay at a motel right across the street from this restaurant. We eat here several times each time we stay. The menu is varied....lots of Mexican choices, sandwiches, a small but fresh salad bar (really good ranch dressing!) steaks and seafood. This trip, I ate mostly Mexican - the beef fajita with one enchilada (your choice) is a nice-sized piece of beef, cut in strips like fajitas, and very well seasoned and cooked - most of the Mexican choices come with a plate of rice, beans (refried or charro) guacamole, and pico de gallo. All of it is very good, and more than I can eat. My husband had the mixed fajitas couple times and liked it very much. Their charro beans are excellent; never had the refried. One night I had a ribeye with baked potato and the salad bar, and it was excellent. Real good food, real good prices. If there is a negative, it is that sometimes it takes a while to get your food - the servers are good and quick, but sometimes there are too few of them. We never mind, as we are never in a hurry. We sit, drink tea, eat their very good chips and salsa, and wait patiently. This is a GOOD place to eat.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cobwebs11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highly Recommend”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Great food, varied prices. Tuna salad isn't too good, but EVERYTHING else is awesome. Charbroiled burger to die for (request with white cheese :]), the chicken supreme is my favorite, along with the chicken tenders. The mexican food is all too good. Large plates, mostly good prices.. But of course they offer Steaks which can get pricy, like most places with steak. Ultimately a great food place for anyone desiring ANYTHING (there's pasta too). Highly recommend

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank haans367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Grange, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“My favorite place in La Grange”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

I love this place. They always have great lunch specials and especially like their tex-mex choices.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Candace S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Marina also viewed

 

Been to La Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing