We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Texas vacation ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sage Hill Inn & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Kyle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Texas vacation ever!”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

My daughters and I were sitting in my home in Pennsylvania over Christmas under 2 feet of snow and decided that we needed to book our first ever girls' weekend away. All we knew is that we wanted to be sure wherever we ended up would be warm and fun. One daughter was coming from San Francisco, the other from Virginia and I was coming from Pennsylvania. We wanted somewhere that was somewhat equidistant for us all. We decided on Texas, but weren't really familiar with much there. We searched our favorite things: wine tasting, horses, beautiful scenery, and the Sage Hill Inn popped up. It seemed perfect, so we booked it without really knowing what we had booked. Over the course of months prior to our arrival the Inn helped us plan a wine tasting tour, horseback riding, car rentals and more. They were always so very helpful and congenial. Upon arrival we were struck by the natural beauty of the place. It is not ostentatious but rather country-luxurious. We stayed in the Nance suite. It is furnished in an understatedly beautiful contemporary style. And it was huge. The Inn offers 24 hour access to beverages and snacks. They serve gourmet breakfasts and dinners. Twice our itinerary did not allow us to be at dinner/breakfast. The Inn arranged for us to eat at a later time at our convenience. The area is beautiful and I have not experienced such quiet in years. However, it is not so remote as to make other attractions difficult to access. Everything, including Austin, is no more than a 30 minute drive. The wine tasting is great, and the natural beauty of the area made us all say that we would definitely be back.

Room Tip: They are all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    30
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
37
261
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Texas
1 review
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here 4 times over the years and it is the best B&B we have ever stayed in. Extraordinary accommodations and food!

It is secluded and overlooks the beautiful Hill Country. This time of year the wild flowers were in full bloom. It's close to Wimberly and so many of the quaint little Texas Hill Country towns.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We just returned from three glorious nights, and even though the first day was full of rain, the second was better, and the third was fabulous. I'm so glad we went at this time with the bluebonnets in full bloom. The food is delicious and the accommodations lovely. We stayed in the Michaelis Room this time and thoroughly enjoyed the fireplace, the soaking tub, the big shower, two sinks, the balcony, and the super comfortable bed. But most of all, I loved just sitting and listening to the birds and feel the cool breeze and warm sun. Super!

Room Tip: Loved the Michaelis Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dianaholbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

If you're looking to run away and escape the hasstle and stress of the real world, then visit this Texas Country Inn. Located 20 minutes south of Austin, the facility is set seemingly in the middle of no where in the Classic Hill Country of Texas. You're a full breakfast and a full supper. The quality of the cuisine is equal to any top restaurant anywhere. The ambience is totally relaxed, communal, and neighborly. If, however, you wish to seclude yourself, then they will accommodate your wishes, and you can eat by yourself. The rooms are modern and up to date.

If there is a draw back, it is facilities wish to accommodate groups who are celebrating an event together. Their loud enthusiasm can smother your desire for a quiet escape. I didn't think that was fair.

Room Tip: study the room options and pick the one that best fits your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4238777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We enjoyed a five night stay above Onion Creek in March/April. A more comfortable and relaxing stay is hard to imagine. The rooms were large, comfortable, clean and well equipped. Both breakfast and the evening meals were delicious and imaginative and offered the possibility of mixing with fellow guests, as did the after dinner fire-pit. The location, deep in the Hill Country above Kyle, was very peaceful and offered long and interesting trails through the extensive grounds. Thank you Amy and all your team (particularly those in the kitchen) for a most enjoyable stay - we hope to be back.

Room Tip: Both rooms we used, Schlemmer and Martin, were excellent, though Schlemmer is on the 3rd floor and e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjb29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We have visited "The Inn" almost 20 times. My husband and I call it "The Inn" because we have been to many many B&B's and this is by far the most wonderful experience you will ever have. And Amy, the innkeeper will meet any need you may have. But believe me, all of your needs will be met as soon as you arrive.
You may feel it is expensive, but if you go to a regular B&B, you have to find your own restaurant and pay for dinner, wine.....you bring your own bottle here and a gourmet dinner is included in the price.
You will not regret it. It will be a stay of your lifetime.

Room Tip: Any room would be great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jrandolph32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We recently spent 2 nights in the Nance Suite at Sage Hill Inn and had a wonderful time. The property is secluded in the Hill Country about a mile off the main road and approximately 5 miles from Kyle. The grounds were very beautiful as we enjoyed the sunset from the hilltop view and then sat by the fire pit later. Our room was very clean and the staff was very helpful for anything that we needed. Breakfast and dinner were included in the nightly rate. We found both meals to be very good and offered a good variety of items.

We used this as our base for a couple of days as we explored the Hill Country. The location provides a great escape from the City and feels like you have your own private place in the country. We will definitely plan to stay here again and recommend to our friends if they are searching for a B&B in the Hill Country.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klmtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kyle
22.7 mi away
Lakeway Resort and Spa
5.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Kyle - Austin South
18.5 mi away
Hotel Granduca Austin
Hotel Granduca Austin
#5 of 203 in Austin
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin South/Buda
6.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Buda at Cabela's
17.3 mi away
Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sage Hill Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sage Hill Inn & Spa

Property: Sage Hill Inn & Spa
Address: 4444 W Fm 150, Kyle, TX 78640-8600 (Formerly The Inn Above Onion Creek)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Kyle
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Kyle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sage Hill Inn & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 16-room luxury inn and spa on 88 acres with stunning views, relaxing porches and luxury accommodations. Located just 25 miles from Austin, TX, Sage Hill Inn Above Onion Creek was designed to be the ultimate Texas Hill Country escape for romantic getaways, Hill Country vacations or corporate retreats. Come and experience some of the best Hill Country views, award winning food and luxurious Hummingbird Farms products. Great nearby locations like the Salt Lick, Duchman Winery and the nearby shopping in San Marcos are only 10 or 20 minutes away! Our new spa is called the "Garden Spa" with its main entrance and patio being integrated right into our main garden! Our goal is to expand the way you experience the peaceful environment at our Hill Country inn. Not only can you get a massage or facial at our Texas day spa, you can also enjoy lunch with a special spa package. Rejuvenate your mind, body and spirit while enjoying luxurious pampering at our spa. The Spa offers carefully selected body and skin treatments to expand your senses, quiet the mind and enrich your appearance. We are committed to giving you the best possible results with the best products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Sage Hill Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn Above Onion Creek Hotel Kyle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing