We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely B&B in the Texas Hill Country caters to every need”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sage Hill Inn & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Kyle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
League City, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely B&B in the Texas Hill Country caters to every need”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

When you plan a weekend away, a group get together, or an adult family get together, please know that the Inn Above Onion Creek, goes out of their way to make your stay as peaceful and restorative as possible. They offer guest rooms, suites, and cottages. They provide outstanding breakfast and gourmet dinner, as well as complementary drinks, coffee, tea, water, cookies and fruit in the kitchen between meals. It's homey when it needs to be, and contemporary. The decor is impressive, the view and tame and wild life gives you something to look at, as well as the garden and grounds have endless types of flowers and plants to make someone who's not even interested find appreciation. The Staff is outstanding, and you are on a first name basis from your check in. however no one every bothers you . You are free to roam about, relax in your room, swim, or take advantage of the spa services. We chose to dine in our room in the evenings, butt have breakfast in the dining room in the morning. We also got excellent massages, and a lovely thunderstorm lite up the country side during the the overnight.. we great seats... a huge feather bed on the third floor. This place is located west of Kyle, Texas, and near Wimberly in the Texas Hill Country. I think the Fall is a great time to go, but Spring is probably is awesome, too Try this wonderful "first class" Inn!!

Room Tip: We chose the Nance Suite, it's on the third floor, and it's roomy for 2 and truly built for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay1972Feagins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    29
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
37
254
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Very comfortable room with a fireplace and full bath. Complimentary beverages in frig. There were plenty of cookies and tea for snacks. Very comfortable bed and sheets were excellent.

Hiking trails and great view of sunset

A full dinner prepared by chef was served family style. The breakfast was served with breads, juice, fresh sausage and eggs.

Room Tip: Rooms in main building that face east/west give you the full advantage of sunrise and sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

If you want to simply relax and get away from it all, The Inn Above Onion Creek is an ideal retreat for couples. A peaceful, remote setting with beautiful views, the property is thoughtfully appointed and immaculate both inside and out.

Unlike other B&B's in the area, the Inn's daily rate includes both breakfast and dinner which were delicious. Snacks and n/a beverages are readily available throughout the day and you are allowed to bring your own wine. We stayed in The Kyle which was a large, super-clean and tastefully decorated first floor suite which also happens to be wheel-chair accessible. The hard, king size bed, however, is due for an upgrade.

We enjoyed the pool/hot tub, hiking down to the creek, touring the gardens, watching birds and butterflies while lazing in the hammock, visiting Duchman Family Winery, and sitting under the stars around a fire with fellow travelers. Noisy construction projects and loud music from the clamorous kitchen at breakfast (competing with smooth jazz playing in the dining room) did put a small dent in an otherwise tranquil and romantic stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank womanare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
onion_innkeeper, General Manager at Sage Hill Inn & Spa, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. You will be happy to know that when you return to the Inn, you will find a new plush Stearns and Foster bed in the Kyle room. Also, our major construction projects are nearly complete and we certainly appreciate your patience when things got a little noisy. We are excited about showing you our new 4 treatment room Garden Spa where you and your loved one can treat yourselves to a relaxing couples massage. Your feedback is very important to us and rest assured that on your next visit, you will be hearing only soft music in the dining room while you enjoy your meals.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We spend one night at the Inn to celebrate our 25th anniversary. Absolutely wonderful place to stay, rooms were big, spacious and very well appointed, staff was super friendly, facilities are first rate, first was top notch. Just a great place, to getaway from it all, turn off the phones, relax, visit a winery, and look at the stars at night, would highly recommend the Inn.

Room Tip: Look online and the videos of each room, and take your pick. Room actually much nicer than pics.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrankVZ8521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
93 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

The Inn sits in a very nice location in the Texas Hill country. We stayed in the Kuykendahl room which is a two story suite. The downstairs has a living room, small bar area with mini fridge and sink, and a half bath. There are both front and rear porches with very nice views (the first floor of the suite is on the second floor of the building). The second floor of the room has a large bedroom with sitting area, TV with DISH and a very comfortable king size bed. Attached to the bedroom is a huge bathroom. It has a double shower and a tub large enough for two with a view.

Breakfast and Dinner were provided each day. Most of the food was really good albeit a little fancy for my simple tastes. If you are looking for southern comfort food with huge portions you won't find them here. This is not a knock on their food, just a description of what to expect.

The first night we opted for the private dinner for two in the library. It was very nice having the room to ourselves for dinner, however, eating in the main dining area for the other meals allowed us to meet the other guest which was nice also. The dining area seats about 24 people or so it is not a huge restaurant, which is nice.

They have a nice pool area with hot tub, but we did not get around to using it so I can't say much about it.

In front of the main building, overlooking the hills, they have a really nice fire pit. It is gas fired and on a timer so you don't have to wait for the staff to start the fire. Just turn the knob and instant bon fire.

The hiking trails were well maintained and we enjoyed about a mile and half walk down to the creek bed and through the trees.

Wimberley is close by with many little shops. There are also wineries in the area if you want a little wine tasting. We did a little of both.

Saturday night we scheduled a couples massage. Like everything else, it was great.

All-in-all is was a very nice place and a great weekend. We will return!

All the staff is extremely friendly and make you feel right at home.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffreyPMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spangdahlem, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2013

This is a beautiful place to get away from the hustle and bustle of daily life. It's quiet, the staff treat you like family, and it's super relaxing. Loved every minute of staying there.

Side note: too many bees/wasps by the pool though during our stay...

Room Tip: Hays room has a great view, it's own back balcony, and a hot tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael-Cara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raynham, MA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We selected The Inn Above Onion Creek for our first stay in Texas because they are part of the Select Registry. What a place! We stayed in Maurice's Guest Room on the grounds about a quarter mile from the main inn. The room was squeeky clean and full of character. I loved sitting on the porch at night listening to the absolute silence. Our meals were fantastic and the staff couldn't be nicer. This place was a winner in every regard.

Room Tip: If you're into hiking there are plenty of trails on the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roamers99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kyle
5.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Kyle - Austin South
6.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Buda at Cabela's
18.5 mi away
Hotel Granduca Austin
Hotel Granduca Austin
#6 of 201 in Austin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Dripping Springs
Sleep Inn & Suites Dripping Spri...
#1 of 2 in Dripping Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
22.7 mi away
Lakeway Resort and Spa
15.0 mi away
BellaVida Bed and Breakfast Retreat Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sage Hill Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sage Hill Inn & Spa

Property: Sage Hill Inn & Spa
Address: 4444 W FM 150, Kyle, TX 78640-8600 (Formerly The Inn Above Onion Creek)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Kyle
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Kyle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sage Hill Inn & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 16-room luxury inn and spa on 88 acres with stunning views, relaxing porches and luxury accommodations. Located just 25 miles from Austin, TX, Sage Hill Inn Above Onion Creek was designed to be the ultimate Texas Hill Country escape for romantic getaways, Hill Country vacations or corporate retreats. Come and experience some of the best Hill Country views, award winning food and luxurious Hummingbird Farms products. Great nearby locations like the Salt Lick, Duchman Winery and the nearby shopping in San Marcos are only 10 or 20 minutes away! Our new spa is called the "Garden Spa" with its main entrance and patio being integrated right into our main garden! Our goal is to expand the way you experience the peaceful environment at our Hill Country inn. Not only can you get a massage or facial at our Texas day spa, you can also enjoy lunch with a special spa package. Rejuvenate your mind, body and spirit while enjoying luxurious pampering at our spa. The Spa offers carefully selected body and skin treatments to expand your senses, quiet the mind and enrich your appearance. We are committed to giving you the best possible results with the best products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sage Hill Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn Above Onion Creek Hotel Kyle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing