We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sage Hill Inn & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Kyle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We spend one night at the Inn to celebrate our 25th anniversary. Absolutely wonderful place to stay, rooms were big, spacious and very well appointed, staff was super friendly, facilities are first rate, first was top notch. Just a great place, to getaway from it all, turn off the phones, relax, visit a winery, and look at the stars at night, would highly recommend the Inn.

Room Tip: Look online and the videos of each room, and take your pick. Room actually much nicer than pics.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrankVZ8521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    30
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
37
259
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Cypress, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
95 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

The Inn sits in a very nice location in the Texas Hill country. We stayed in the Kuykendahl room which is a two story suite. The downstairs has a living room, small bar area with mini fridge and sink, and a half bath. There are both front and rear porches with very nice views (the first floor of the suite is on the second floor of the building). The second floor of the room has a large bedroom with sitting area, TV with DISH and a very comfortable king size bed. Attached to the bedroom is a huge bathroom. It has a double shower and a tub large enough for two with a view.

Breakfast and Dinner were provided each day. Most of the food was really good albeit a little fancy for my simple tastes. If you are looking for southern comfort food with huge portions you won't find them here. This is not a knock on their food, just a description of what to expect.

The first night we opted for the private dinner for two in the library. It was very nice having the room to ourselves for dinner, however, eating in the main dining area for the other meals allowed us to meet the other guest which was nice also. The dining area seats about 24 people or so it is not a huge restaurant, which is nice.

They have a nice pool area with hot tub, but we did not get around to using it so I can't say much about it.

In front of the main building, overlooking the hills, they have a really nice fire pit. It is gas fired and on a timer so you don't have to wait for the staff to start the fire. Just turn the knob and instant bon fire.

The hiking trails were well maintained and we enjoyed about a mile and half walk down to the creek bed and through the trees.

Wimberley is close by with many little shops. There are also wineries in the area if you want a little wine tasting. We did a little of both.

Saturday night we scheduled a couples massage. Like everything else, it was great.

All-in-all is was a very nice place and a great weekend. We will return!

All the staff is extremely friendly and make you feel right at home.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffreyPMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spangdahlem, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2013

This is a beautiful place to get away from the hustle and bustle of daily life. It's quiet, the staff treat you like family, and it's super relaxing. Loved every minute of staying there.

Side note: too many bees/wasps by the pool though during our stay...

Room Tip: Hays room has a great view, it's own back balcony, and a hot tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael-Cara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raynham, MA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We selected The Inn Above Onion Creek for our first stay in Texas because they are part of the Select Registry. What a place! We stayed in Maurice's Guest Room on the grounds about a quarter mile from the main inn. The room was squeeky clean and full of character. I loved sitting on the porch at night listening to the absolute silence. Our meals were fantastic and the staff couldn't be nicer. This place was a winner in every regard.

Room Tip: If you're into hiking there are plenty of trails on the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roamers99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed over Labor Day weekend for our anniversary. We were in the Martin room which was very spacious with a queen bed. The room had a gas fireplace (did not use in Texas in September), satellite tv, dvd player, and dorm frig in room. The room had a shared balcony/porch with a fantastic view of the Hill Country. There are great relaxing places such as pool, hot tub, fire pit, hammock, swing, walking trails, and spa. We really enjoyed relaxing in the pool and looking at the stars. The staff was very good and helpful. They had homemade cookies everyday and a guest fridge that was stocked with sodas and water. My only complaints were that the food was inconsistent in portion size and quality. The food ranged from average to very good. The other was that my wife and I had a hard time finding the right pillow combination. One was too flat and two was too much. I realize that this is a personal preference; but if you have similar issues you may want to bring your own.

Overall it was a very good stay and we would consider again in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chubbyviking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Hands down the best lodging experience ever. This place has everything- beautiful, relaxing grounds, amazing food, comfortable rooms, and let me not forget the exceptional service.

5 star resorts have nothing like this place offers in terms of service. They blend pampering with making a guest feel at home.

I stayed for 2 nights by myself on a business trip. Others here were on a romantic getaway, or a staycation.

The grounds are gorgeous. BEAUTIFUL hillside country. Great walking trails, chances to steal to a quiet spot to read on a tree swing, or sleep in a hammock. So serene.

I am actually looking forward to more business trips to Austin, just so I can come back to my new home away from home.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aishamichelle74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed August 30, 2013

My girlfriend and i recently stayed one night in maurice's coach house. The small cottage was amazing inside and out, and the view was amazing. Loved the large bath tub and shower. The grounds were amazing and I had a nice time walking the trails after breakfast. The porch around the main building was very nice and the library was a bonus with some cool reading material in it. The pool was surrounded by oak trees and also had a very nice view.

All the food was amazing and the staff was very helpful and accommodating. Everything about this place was beautiful and we will definitely return. It was so peaceful and relaxing. Next time we will book something at the spa services too.

Room Tip: if you want privacy stay in maurices coach house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kyle
5.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Kyle - Austin South
22.7 mi away
Lakeway Resort and Spa
6.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Buda at Cabela's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Hotel Granduca Austin
Hotel Granduca Austin
#7 of 203 in Austin
280 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin South/Buda
17.3 mi away
Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sage Hill Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sage Hill Inn & Spa

Property: Sage Hill Inn & Spa
Address: 4444 W FM 150, Kyle, TX 78640-8600 (Formerly The Inn Above Onion Creek)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Kyle
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Kyle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sage Hill Inn & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 16-room luxury inn and spa on 88 acres with stunning views, relaxing porches and luxury accommodations. Located just 25 miles from Austin, TX, Sage Hill Inn Above Onion Creek was designed to be the ultimate Texas Hill Country escape for romantic getaways, Hill Country vacations or corporate retreats. Come and experience some of the best Hill Country views, award winning food and luxurious Hummingbird Farms products. Great nearby locations like the Salt Lick, Duchman Winery and the nearby shopping in San Marcos are only 10 or 20 minutes away! Our new spa is called the "Garden Spa" with its main entrance and patio being integrated right into our main garden! Our goal is to expand the way you experience the peaceful environment at our Hill Country inn. Not only can you get a massage or facial at our Texas day spa, you can also enjoy lunch with a special spa package. Rejuvenate your mind, body and spirit while enjoying luxurious pampering at our spa. The Spa offers carefully selected body and skin treatments to expand your senses, quiet the mind and enrich your appearance. We are committed to giving you the best possible results with the best products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Sage Hill Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn Above Onion Creek Hotel Kyle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing