We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic BabyMoon!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sage Hill Inn & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Kyle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We just resturned from a 3 night stay pre-baby, and had the best experience! The staff is so nice and friendly, meals (breakfast and dinner) were OUTSTANDING and the room was beautiful and comfortable. The dining room is always open so you have access to drinks and cookies and popcorn. Just bring snacks with you, as dinner is served at 6 and we were hungry again around 930! Nice walking trails and you are very close to Wimberley and many wineries. FYI: I don't think kiddos are welcome unless renting the entire place, but call to be sure.

Room Tip: The Michaelis room has a comfy sitting area with fireplace, private balcony, large jetted tub and la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Staci T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (419)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

275 - 281 of 419 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2012

It was a wonderful stay, very spacious room with huge bath room, huge shower and very large claw footed bath. Wonderful views of the Texas landscape. Food is great!! Be careful you are stair ready, our room was at the top of 3 stair runs. A bit outside of the city of Kyle and thanks for that. The water is good and they've thought of almost everything you could need. Call them and talk to Don, he's the go to guy.

Room Tip: If you can handle stairs, get the Schlemer Suite. Otherwise, be certain to request ground floor or s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

My husband and I are currently enjoying our 7th trip here in as many years. It is far and away our favorite destination in the Texas hill country. The location is gorgeous--the inn is a mile off the main road, so it is very quiet and peaceful. The views from every room are lovely. We especially appreciate that they serve dinner so we don't have to drive anywhere else after a fantastic meal; and we have always enjoyed the company of the other very interesting guests. Breakfast is also wonderful. The staff are welcoming and friendly. Rooms are very clean, spacious, comfortable and decorated in a simple/rustic/ lovely way. We are already looking forward to next year's trip!

Room Tip: We have stayed in virtually every room, plus the cottage and love them all equally.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Weniga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

My wife an I spent two nights at this wonderful B&B in October 2012. It's located roughly 9 miles west of I-35 in Kyle, TX which is between San Marcos and Austin. The location is great! The terrain is fairly rugged and the inn is well off of the main road and very secluded. We stayed in Maurice's Guest Room which is in the same building as Maurice's Cottage, but they are separated by a breezeway. The building is about a half mile from the main guest house and kitchen in a very private setting. The room was equipped with everything we needed. An incredibly comfortable king size bed with top quality pillows and sheets. Refrigerator, coffee maker, hair dryer, TV with satellite service and excellent cell phone signal. Plenty of water pressure in the shower and super soft and absorbent towels.
Your stay here includes breakfast AND dinner which is a huge bonus because it might be a bit difficult to find a really nice meal close to the inn. Other nice amenities include a spa in a separate building (which we utilized for a very nice couples massage), cookies, coffee, a library with plenty of reading material, a computer with internet access(in the library), restrooms at the main kitchen, a really nice swimming pool, walking trails and plenty of easy parking just to name a few. All of the meals were fantastic! Professionally prepared with good portions and delicious. Absolutely no reason to eat breakfast or dinner away from the inn! Bring your own alcoholic drinks and enjoy!
The staff here is attentive and friendly. We felt very comfortable here and will definitely be going back.
I would include photos but the ones they have posted on their website are very accurate, even the photos of the food! Very, very nice place and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reelmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We celebrated our 35th Anniversary this weekend at Texas' finest Inn--Bar None!! 5-Star accomodations, breakfast and dinner were first class! Amy and her staff's continued "Excellence" are a shining star for Texans to be proud of! I have stayed at two of the top 10 rated Inns in the U.S. and the IAOC's matches their service and outstanding customer service!

Room Tip: We love the Rooms with the Sunset View!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank captredball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Pros: Great property, lovely Hill Country setting, great views, good pool, room was well appointed, spacious and comfortable, with a great bed. Outstanding internet, good tv, books in room. Just a pretty and comfortable room, and I think we had the least expensive room.

Also, a knowledgeable and efficient staff made for a relaxing spa experience.

Bathroom roomy and comfortable, high end toiletries, nice furnishing (but see cons). My wife really liked the walk-in closet. Food was delicous, seriously good meals, portions adequate for most but just adequate. I didn't leave hungry, but since dinner was at 6:00 p.m., I had to hit the (excellent) dining room cookies later in the evening to make it through to breakfast, which was also excellent but with just adequate portions. At both meals, the men at the tables were cleaning off their wive's plates. At breakfast though, you can fill in with self-serve granola (home-made), fruit and muffins.

Cons: And these are very minor quibbles, but the shower was a wrap around curtain around the claw foot tub but curtain wasn't secured with weights or magnets so when you took a shower, it wrapped itself around you. It was like trying to take a shower while a wet sheet kept trying to wind itself around your body. Second problem was the low flow shower heads. I understand that Texas has had a terrible drought the last two years, but I've never seen such a low flow head. The water seemed to completely mist out about two feet from the shower head and it took forever to get the shampoo out of my hair. Perhaps a little less low flow would be good.

An interesting minor quibble was the service (or lack or service) in the dining room. The kitchen staff brought out food with zero interactions with guests, just plates replaced with mechanical efficiency. There were pitchers of water and tea on tables, we brought our own wine and so there wasn't a need for wait staff, but as a guest, it felt more like a mechanical process, more like dinner service on a low end cruise ship, than dinner/breakfast at a higher end resort. No one came by the tables, no one asked if we needed anything or if we enjoyed our meal. I'm sure that I'm wrong on this, but there was a little of a feeling that the staff was in a hurry to get us fed so they could clean up and leave. An odd note in an otherwise excellent experience.

Let me stress that it was an excellent experience overall. If I found myself back in the Hill Country, I would choose this inn again--although I would probably pack in a few midnight snacks.

Room Tip: This would be perfect for a romantic get-away. You can spend a lazy day at the inn or you can plan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NatchitochesTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed @ IAOC for 4 days/3 nights. We choose the "Hayes Room"! The room is so nice, very comfortable bed (AC works greatttt), nice huge bathtub, very large double head shower that has a view out to the hill country. This B&B has such a friendly staff. The breakfast & dinner was amazing. Gourmet food that exceeded our expectations every time! My husband is a meat/cheese only guy, very picky. I was nervous each am/pm when the menu was up, I assumed he wouldn't want to try something out of his comfort zone. But he loved everything we ate. We also enjoyed a couples massage(my husbands first) it was awesome! Both the girls did a wonderful job! Can't wait to return to this B&B!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shantellana84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kyle
22.7 mi away
Lakeway Resort and Spa
19.1 mi away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#26 of 203 in Austin
2,105 reviews
10 mi away
Creekhaven Inn
Creekhaven Inn
#5 of 19 in Wimberley
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10 mi away
Wimberley Inn
Wimberley Inn
#3 of 4 in Wimberley
212 reviews
17.3 mi away
Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa
11.5 mi away
Mountain View Lodge
Mountain View Lodge
#4 of 19 in Wimberley
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sage Hill Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sage Hill Inn & Spa

Address: 4444 W Fm 150, Kyle, TX 78640-8600 (Formerly The Inn Above Onion Creek)
Location: United States > Texas > Kyle
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Kyle
Price Range: $311 - $436 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sage Hill Inn & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 16-room luxury inn and spa on 88 acres with stunning views, relaxing porches and luxury accommodations. Located just 25 miles from Austin, TX, Sage Hill Inn Above Onion Creek was designed to be the ultimate Texas Hill Country escape for romantic getaways, Hill Country vacations or corporate retreats. Come and experience some of the best Hill Country views, award winning food and luxurious Hummingbird Farms products. Great nearby locations like the Salt Lick, Duchman Winery and the nearby shopping in San Marcos are only 10 or 20 minutes away! Our new spa is called the "Garden Spa" with its main entrance and patio being integrated right into our main garden! Our goal is to expand the way you experience the peaceful environment at our Hill Country inn. Not only can you get a massage or facial at our Texas day spa, you can also enjoy lunch with a special spa package. Rejuvenate your mind, body and spirit while enjoying luxurious pampering at our spa. The Spa offers carefully selected body and skin treatments to expand your senses, quiet the mind and enrich your appearance. We are committed to giving you the best possible results with the best products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Sage Hill Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn Above Onion Creek Hotel Kyle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing