We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Nature Lover's Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sage Hill Inn & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Kyle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Escape to nature at the Inn Above Onion Creek! Quiet, relaxing hideaway with unspoiled nature trails and a delightful garden with gazebo. We have encountered a wide variety of birds (including hummers), deer, interesting and unusual varieties of insects, as well as other native wildlife. Bountiful breakfasts and outstanding dinners prepared by chefs that utilize the freshest ingredients obtained from the organic garden and local producers. A wide variety of wild flowers abound on the extensive grounds, particularly during the spring and summer months. Accomodations are luxurious and sunsets viewed from the balcony while relaxing in the rocking chairs are unforgettable. The innkeeper and staff are most amiable and go above and beyond to make your stay absolutely wonderful. Not to miss delightful spa and/or yoga experiences just add to the enjoyable experience! A retreat you will want to visit again and again!

Room Tip: rooms on second and third floors have best views of breathtaking scenery
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VF0rge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (417)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

286 - 292 of 417 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2012

This was our second time to stay in the Inn. I had made reservations for a room farther away from the main building - however the staff called me and asked me if my husband and i would change rooms because another couple had a baby (which i had been told was not allowed) - i agreed and received a room in the building i was trying to avoid.
that night before bed - i has a problem turning off the nightstand light - only to have to reach under the bed and unplug the light - at that point i found dirty panties under our bed.
We were not given and extra upgrades - not even a thank you . The first night - the room next to us - in which we shared a wall - pounded all night. I don't need to say more - but it was very loud. I totally get that - it is no big deal to us- but the walls are thin - Beware

The next day - we decided to make a fresh start and ziplined off property - on the way back we bought a nice bottle of wine which the person working at the hotel said he would put in a kitchen frig and for us to grab before dinner. However as soon as we walked into dinner - we noticed another diner - pouring our bottle of wine into his guests glasses. When i mentioned this to him and the person working at the inn - who had told us to place the wine in the guest frig - the guest told us that we "put our wine in the wrong frig." We took what was left in the bottle - but it was very little.

All i can say about this place - is that the food is very good -

overall compared to our first visit - it was horrible. We heard the Inn had been purchased by a large hotel conglomerate. It has suffered.

I do not recommend you stay here - unless you are willing to compromise and have the patience of Job,

We so loved it the first time we stayed - but that memory was destroyed by our most recent visit.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank shellyFortWorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
onion_innkeeper, General Manager at Sage Hill Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2012

We are horrified to hear about your last experience here. We completely understand your disappointment and we are disappointed as well. We try so hard to make sure people love their stay here and to hear that we failed is very troubling. There were a couple of misfortunate incidents that compounded with a misstep on our part. The article of clothing found under the bed is inexcusable and embarrassing. Part of our housekeeping routine is to check under beds and furniture for any personal items that might have been left behind and for some reason that did not happen. Our housekeeping department offers their utmost apologies for failing to properly prepare your room. Because your stay occurred roughly a year ago we do not remember the specifics regarding the child staying down at the Maurice’s Cottage so it is difficult to comment on that situation. When surprises like that occur we do our best to accommodate everyone effected and unfortunately did not work out well in this situation. I do remember the unfortunate incident when the guest mistakenly took your wine because in the many years I’ve worked here it’s the only time it’s ever happened. It was an unusual situation because the guest who was visiting from Lombardy, Italy and did not speak English very well believed that the wine was complimentary. He did not understand the guest fridge was for folks to place personal items into and that only the sodas and juice were complimentary. In order to avoid confusion in the future we will suggest that folks label items with their name before placing them into the guest fridge. The entire staff including John and Janie Orr, who own the Inn and built it from the ground up 17 years ago, offer our sincerest apologies for not meeting the expectations set by your first visit to the Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at The Inn Above Onion Creek in the Michaelis room. We thoroughly enjoyed our room with an amazing view of the Hill Country from a private porch. The food was phenomenal and staff friendly. Would definitely visit again and recommend to others!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingscout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

I recently stayed ends in the Toalson room with three friends for a birthday girls' weekend. I am so glad that they chose this place. The food is phenominal. The room was charming, comfortable, inviting. I can't think of anything that I would improve. We enjoyed the spa services (Thanks, Becky!) and made some trips out to shop in Wimberly and visit the nearby olive farms and wineries. Totally fun, relaxing weekend.

We loved that the two resident cats, Bootsie and Nigel, hung out with us like we were their family. Such a charming place. Very nice to see the herb and vegetable gardens on site, and the chefs picking fresh fare for the next meal. When they say "fresh squeezed orange juice", they mean it! While walking around we noticed the orange shells in the compost pile.

I plan to recommend this place to anyone that is traveling to the hill country, and I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Khrys F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2012

The Inn is a destination to relax, enjoy good food and reenergize. The price is reasonable, because it includes 3-course dinner, an amazing breakfast, delicious cookies and plenty of rocking chairs to enjoy the beautiful vistas. Although the surrounding area has really commercialized in the last few years, once you make your way down the curvy road to the Inn, you feel removed from the rest of the world. Best to arrive before dark, it can be tricky to find (look for the “AZ Fence” sign on the left if coming from Wimberley). Be sure to bring a bottle of wine to enjoy with dinner, and/or in one of the rocking chairs. Better yet, visit one of the many wineries in the area and bring a bottle or two back with you to enjoy at sunset. Pack good hiking/running shoes to enjoy the trails; a run in the morning is best way to meet the deer and rabbits.

Room Tip: Hays Room remains my favorite because of the shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GottaRun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

I don't get to this area very often, but staying at the Inn Above Onion Creek is worth the drive! The beauty, peace and quiet brings peace to my soul.
An evening swim in the pool, overlooking the hill country with the stars brilliantly shining overhead is an unforgettable experience.

I love the beautiful gardens and herb gardens surrounding the main buildings, providing a casual charm. Plus the breakfast is fabulous! Next time, I want to stay multiple nights.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

We just finished our 20th stay at the Inn Above Onion Creek. We started going there in 1995 shortly after they opened. After all this time it is still our favorite get-away spot. The main reason that we still go there is simple. The room, food and service by the staff is second to no other B&B in the US. It is simply one of the best. This is the place we go to get away from work and decompress. Our only complaint is that we can no longer go there on a spur of the moment thought. The Inn Above Onion Creek has become so popular that we now need to make our reservations at least 1 to 2 months ahead of time. The other thing that makes the Inn so great is meeting and talking to other guest at breakfast and dfinner. We have truely met some wonderful people over the years and this is one of the reasons the Inn is so special. We want express our sincere thanks to the Inn staff for their extreme dedication to first class service. We can not wait to our 21st visit!

Room Tip: Make your plnas to visit in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaryS77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kyle
Hampton Inn Kyle
#1 of 3 in Kyle
49 reviews
South Austin
Kimber Modern Hotel
Kimber Modern Hotel
#2 of 36 in Austin
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Creekhaven Inn
#4 of 19 in Wimberley
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sage Hill Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sage Hill Inn & Spa

Address: 4444 W Fm 150, Kyle, TX 78640-8600 (Formerly The Inn Above Onion Creek)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Kyle
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Kyle
Price Range: $312 - $473 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sage Hill Inn & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 16-room luxury inn and spa on 88 acres with stunning views, relaxing porches and luxury accommodations. Located just 25 miles from Austin, TX, Sage Hill Inn Above Onion Creek was designed to be the ultimate Texas Hill Country escape for romantic getaways, Hill Country vacations or corporate retreats. Come and experience some of the best Hill Country views, award winning food and luxurious Hummingbird Farms products. Great nearby locations like the Salt Lick, Duchman Winery and the nearby shopping in San Marcos are only 10 or 20 minutes away! Our new spa is called the "Garden Spa" with its main entrance and patio being integrated right into our main garden! Our goal is to expand the way you experience the peaceful environment at our Hill Country inn. Not only can you get a massage or facial at our Texas day spa, you can also enjoy lunch with a special spa package. Rejuvenate your mind, body and spirit while enjoying luxurious pampering at our spa. The Spa offers carefully selected body and skin treatments to expand your senses, quiet the mind and enrich your appearance. We are committed to giving you the best possible results with the best products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Sage Hill Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn Above Onion Creek Hotel Kyle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing