We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“20 Stays Later and It is Still Our Favorite Get-Away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sage Hill Inn & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Kyle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed February 21, 2012

We just finished our 20th stay at the Inn Above Onion Creek. We started going there in 1995 shortly after they opened. After all this time it is still our favorite get-away spot. The main reason that we still go there is simple. The room, food and service by the staff is second to no other B&B in the US. It is simply one of the best. This is the place we go to get away from work and decompress. Our only complaint is that we can no longer go there on a spur of the moment thought. The Inn Above Onion Creek has become so popular that we now need to make our reservations at least 1 to 2 months ahead of time. The other thing that makes the Inn so great is meeting and talking to other guest at breakfast and dfinner. We have truely met some wonderful people over the years and this is one of the reasons the Inn is so special. We want express our sincere thanks to the Inn staff for their extreme dedication to first class service. We can not wait to our 21st visit!

Room Tip: Make your plnas to visit in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaryS77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (417)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

292 - 298 of 417 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2012

I attended a seminar here with my spouse. It was nice...I'm not much of a B&B person though, but we enjoyed it. It is beautiful and far away from the hustle and bustle! I visited earlier than 2011, but it won't let me choose that option...

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Revkev93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2011

Loved our stay in the Toalson Suite !! Great size, great value. The Spa was amazing !!

Room Tip: Loved the Toalson Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank psr265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Several of the rooms have a bathtub for two overlooking the Texas Hill Country. We stayed in the Hays Room where French doors next to the tub can be opened wide when weather allows. It's a jacuzzi tub but we listened to the quiet outside and soft Mozart (borrowed from library) playing in our sitting area. The 6pm dinners with other guests wove special memories into the fabric of our stay and the meals were flavor-full and beauty-full We brought a bottle of wine for each dinner associated with memories elsewhere and layered memories. The Inn Above Onion Creek was extremely quiet and peaceful. The bed comfy. The butterflies were beautiful. We have stayed at dozens of bed and breakfasts and this one excels them all

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeekingSpeakingValue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Just returned from our second trip to the Inn Above Onion Creek. We stayed in the Martin Room. Loved it! The room, food, grounds, atmosphere and trails are fantastic. This is an extremely well managed property with a very friendly staff. We can not wait for our 3rd visit.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kamybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Recently returned from our third stay at the Inn. There are so many wonderful things about the Inn Above Onion Creek that make it so special to us it is hard to know where to begin. We ordinarily stay in Maurice's Guest House, which is a little bit away from the main house. A super private suite with it's own gas fire place, sitting area, king-sized feather bed that puts you in an absolute dream state and a porch that allows you to see miles of the Hill Country while rocking away in the provided rocking chairs. There's even satellite TV and DVD player if you want to catch up on movies. Did I mention the library with complimentary "rentals"? This visit we took mom along and stayed in Thelma's cottage, a two-deroom cabin, also a little away from the main house. Mom walks with a cane, so maneuvering around outside to access the cabin wasn't that easy but we just took our time. Two king-sized bedrooms and two full baths offered everyone plenty of privacy but the main area around the fire place gave us plenty of time to spend together as well. Many have said it before but the fact that breakfast and a three course dinner are included in the reservation price, along with all you can eat COOKIES (two kinds EVERYDAY!!), complimentary water, tea and soft drinks and other special treats helps you feel pampered in a warm, cozy kind of way. There's a spa onsite (ask for Kevin!!) and plenty to do nearby if desired. If you're looking for great fresh food prepared with ingredients grown locally, great people, cozy and quality accommodations, The Inn Above Onion Creek is your place.

Room Tip: We love the extra privacy of the offsite suites and cabins (Maurice's Guest House, Thelma's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeahK3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

We got this as a groupon and hadn't heard anything about it. Upon asking friends, some said that their family had had some great times here for special occasions. This was such a wonderfuil experience for us. We loved everything about it. I didn't know that the woods around Kyle were so lovely and this place takes advantage of all the area has to offer. We stayed in the Hays room and it was a large room with a sitting area and fireplace. The bathroom was large with a large tub for 2 and large walk in shower overlooking the hill country. Dinner was prepared for the guests and also a wonderful hot breakfast. We were invited to bring our wine in to have with dinner and we enjoyed a champagne toast out by the pool after dinner.
Everything was totally lovely and gorgeous and we will be back again soon. I think you could enjoy this place any time of year - gorgeous and so so quiet. We will be back! Thank you Inn above Onion Creek for a great night of celebration.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimRinger111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kyle
Hampton Inn Kyle
#1 of 3 in Kyle
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Austin
Kimber Modern Hotel
Kimber Modern Hotel
#1 of 36 in Austin
373 reviews
7A Resort
#1 of 7 in Wimberley
29 reviews
Creekhaven Inn
#4 of 19 in Wimberley
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sage Hill Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sage Hill Inn & Spa

Address: 4444 W Fm 150, Kyle, TX 78640-8600 (Formerly The Inn Above Onion Creek)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Kyle
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Kyle
Price Range: $312 - $473 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sage Hill Inn & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 16-room luxury inn and spa on 88 acres with stunning views, relaxing porches and luxury accommodations. Located just 25 miles from Austin, TX, Sage Hill Inn Above Onion Creek was designed to be the ultimate Texas Hill Country escape for romantic getaways, Hill Country vacations or corporate retreats. Come and experience some of the best Hill Country views, award winning food and luxurious Hummingbird Farms products. Great nearby locations like the Salt Lick, Duchman Winery and the nearby shopping in San Marcos are only 10 or 20 minutes away! Our new spa is called the "Garden Spa" with its main entrance and patio being integrated right into our main garden! Our goal is to expand the way you experience the peaceful environment at our Hill Country inn. Not only can you get a massage or facial at our Texas day spa, you can also enjoy lunch with a special spa package. Rejuvenate your mind, body and spirit while enjoying luxurious pampering at our spa. The Spa offers carefully selected body and skin treatments to expand your senses, quiet the mind and enrich your appearance. We are committed to giving you the best possible results with the best products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Sage Hill Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn Above Onion Creek Hotel Kyle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing