We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An authentic Texas oasis”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kountze
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ethridge Farm Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Kountze B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“An authentic Texas oasis”
Reviewed July 5, 2012 via mobile

We were looking for somewhere to stay just outside of Houston on our way to New Orleans and found this gem. We only stayed one night, but it deserves a week. We stayed in the Barn Hideaway, which was decorated in an authentic Texas style. Ann cooked us a candlelight dinner of Texas BBQ and a traditional Texan breakfast with biscuits, eggs, grits, figs and more, which was all divine. The farm itself is a paradise of wildlife. Well worth a stay.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VelvetCrush12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
32
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012 via mobile

We just spent a wonderful weekend in the Big Thicket area of east TX. This B&B was the perfect home base for our adventure. Ann, the Innkeeper/Owner, truly enjoys her guests. She served wonderful, hearty breakfasts, and we also opted for dinner. All meals were delicious and homey. Our cabin was charming, very clean and fresh, and comfortable. We went blueberry picking on the farm, canoeing on a nearby river and walking through the Big Thicket trails. As a unique adventure, we drove the Ghost Light trail and actually saw the ghost light! Creepy! Now that we're back home, we're looking forward to going back in the Fall for Satsuma season. Thank you, Ann, for a wonderful weekend!

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank EclecticTravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

This was the starting point of our holiday in the USA, and we were very impressed by Ann, Jay and Dannie. The cabin was spacious and cosy, with a fantastic outdoor shower. Ann cooked us a nice breakfast and eventook us to a country concert. Quite an experience :-)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jasper_Stefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple,TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2011

We just got home from our 1 year anni.\honeymoon and I have to say it was nothing I expected. THis place was amazing to say the least all the bauetiful flowers blooming,the birds chirping,and Anne the caretaker. From beginning to end our stay here was fantastic!We stayed at Deer Run Cabin it was tastfuly decorated we loved the theme,and the ourdoor shower under the stars was so romantic. The candlelit dinner brought to our cabin was Terrific,so much flavor! Then we were lucky to get a private concert on the lodge patio by another guest that happened to be a Counrty artist ,the service from Anne Ethridge is unsurpassed , If anyone wanted idea's for a romantic getaway for two this is the place there is so much to see on the grounds. we never had to leave . And they have fresh fruit gardens and trees to pick from and they sell homemade jams and jellies from there .Mrs Anne was a delight to be around and makes you feel right at home. This is deffinatley a little slice of paradise in "The Big Thicket"! We will cherish our memories of our stay!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CPeevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monschau, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2011

On our way through the US, we stayed 3 nights in the Cabin on Blueberry Hill, too. There's another (newer) cabin. Surrounded by wilderness and managed by a wonderful lady - it's THE place to be in the Big Thicket (unless you prefer luxury class hotels). You also may want to check out details on the website http://www.ethridgefar.... Nothing more to say.

Hello Miss Ann, a big hug from your friends from Germany.

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank JuppG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2010

I went there on a weekend to get away from work. The occasion was my wife's b'day. This nice B&B is located in a converted barn on a farm. We had an amazing time with Ann making sure we were comfortable. Moreover, as I had already told her it was my wife's b'day she already had a nice bouquet waiting for her in the room. She served us a goumet meal with wine on the eve of my wife's b'day and then also hid a home made cake in a refrigerator just behind the barn for me to bring it in at 12 AM.
This B&B exceeded my expectations on all parameters. The only exception was dust but you would expect that if you are going to stay in a converted barn in the middle of a farm.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sameer_garima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 5, 2009

I have stayed at Ethridge Farm on all of my many trips to the Big Thicket, and my wonderful experiences at The Farm are part of what draw me back to the area. It is a true country experience, from sleeping in the Barn Room, to a delicious country breakfast, to the solitude, sounds and sights of the countryside -- a totally peaceful atmosphere. Ann and Bill are wonderful, gracious, down-home hosts, and Ann's love of cooking is one of the best parts of the package. The Barn Room isn't fancy, but it is as comfortable as an old shoe, has a TV and a private bath with shower stall (no tub). Arriving at Ethridge Farm always feels like I've just come back home again.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TXcolumbine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kountze
7.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lumberton
7.5 mi away
Days Inn Lumberton
Days Inn Lumberton
#2 of 2 in Lumberton
86 reviews
16.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Beaumont-Parkdale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Pinewood Inn
Pinewood Inn
#2 of 2 in Silsbee
3 reviews
8.9 mi away
Garden Inn & Suites
Garden Inn & Suites
#1 of 2 in Silsbee
16 reviews
3.2 mi away
Super 8 Kountze Big Thicket Nat'l Pres Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ethridge Farm Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ethridge Farm Bed and Breakfast

Property: Ethridge Farm Bed and Breakfast
Address: 103 S Williford Rd, Kountze, TX 77625-7271
Location: United States > Texas > Kountze
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Kountze
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Ethridge Farm Bed And Breakfast Texas/Kountze, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing