We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty basic, but ok for a night or two”
Review of Executive Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Executive Inn
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Kingsville
Reviewed May 18, 2010

This is an older place, but it seemed to be clean, no gross-out like one reviewer's experience. The price was cheap, but the amenities were few -- the room had a fridge, but not much else. The bed was fine. No clock radio, no coffee maker (no great loss, based on my experience with hotel room coffee). Breakfast was extremely limited and was crammed into in the office. I bought supplies the night before at H-E-B and ate breakfast in my room. My room was quiet with the A/C running (which worked fine). There was a sort of pancake house across the road at which we ate supper (next to the closed Mexican place). The manager was very friendly and helpful. I don't know if there are any fancier places in town, but this place would for a short stay if not much else was available.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rd52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (18)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 18 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2010

RUN RUN AS FAST AS YOU CAN!! This place is GROSS! This place was a last resort for us! My husband, myself and 2 small children had to either stay there or sleep in the car because every other hotel/motel in town was booked.. I pulled back the bed and found hairs/dirt and stains on the sheet. We put tshirts over the pillow cases and I did NOT let my children walk around in that room barefooted!! The carpet was disgusting and hadn't been vacuumed.. Worst stay ever!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank imfromthestars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2009

I reviewed the property options before leaving, but I did not have time to book a reservation. I must admit I considered other properties before choosing this one at the last minute. I remembered reading the favorable Trip Advisor reviews on this property. The staff informed me that there was only one room available and that it was smoking (I'd preferred a non-smoking). The staff was very accomodating, courteous, and friendly. Without a doubt, it was a very good choice. I was not disappointed.

If you want an economical, choice, a clean, quiet room, and an accomodating staff, this is the place.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrobles905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2009

I was looking for someplace ok and inexpensive, which this was, for one night only. I was in town to birdwatch at King Ranch the next day. The room was a bit threadbare, with an old carpet and a little peeling paint, but it was clean. The lighting was a little dingy. The bed was comfortable. There was a refrigerator, microwave, hair dryer, and shampoo. Not much of a breakfast. Everything worked except the Internet (see below).

My only real complaint was that the Internet barely worked at all. One of my prime considerations when booking a room is wireless Internet, so I was a bit frustrated. The manager was also frustrated that it wasn't working. If I had been staying more than one night, I would have moved to a different hotel.

My customer service experience, however, was very good. The manager was was very polite and attentive. A short while after being in my room, I noticed a bee in the roonm. Since I freak out at bees, I immediately called the front desk. The manager sent over two maintenance men immediately (not sure why two were needed), who rapidly dispatched the bee. Great service!

In short, it's cheap and not too bad for travelers on a budget. If you don't care about Internet, you'd be ok to stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank CTbirdlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2009

My wife and I needed a motel to visit the areas of Brownsville and S. Padre Island, but wanted to stay a little north of these areas.We settled on Kingsville, Texas. I got a good rate at the Econo Lodge ( 2203 E. King Ave. ) When we checked in, the hotel looked a little unkept, to say the least ,but hey, it's just to sleep a couple of nights . Card keys wouldn't work on our room door. Got that corrected, and some of the lights in the room wouldn't work. OK we're going to sleep anyway. The room was just bareley tolerable, but were tired and needed some sleep. The next day we had a really nice visit to Brownsville and S. Padre Island. Again, we got back to our room late ,and just wanted some sleep. Again we had trouble with card keys.(not to mention that the lights were on in the room and we heard the deadbolt latch while standing outside) When we went to front desk , to our horror, they had checked us out, and threw all of our possessions (shampoo ,clothes, toothbrushes,medications, etc. into a box). I had a confimation # for the second nite , and when I showed it to the manager, he began to appologize, but I had enought of this disscusting excuss for a motel, and left. We went across the street to a Best Western, and for $5 more a night ,got a nice room that just was renovated. I'm sorry I didn't do that the first nite. Under no circumstance should you stay at the Econo Lodge in Kingsville,Texas.
Gary D. Hare

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingsville hotels
2.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn Kingsville
Rodeway Inn Kingsville
#8 of 10 in Kingsville
19 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Kingsville Inn
Best Western Kingsville Inn
#3 of 10 in Kingsville
119 reviews
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#7 of 10 in Kingsville
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingsville
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingsville
Hampton Inn Kingsville
#2 of 10 in Kingsville
214 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 10 in Kingsville
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Executive Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Executive Inn

Address: 2203 E King Ave, Kingsville, TX 78363-4810 (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Kingsville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Kingsville
Hotel Class:2 star — Executive Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Executive Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing