We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great BBQ”

Spyke's Bar-B-Que & Catering
Ranked #3 of 30 Restaurants in Kingsland
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: Barbecue
Description: The best "Hole in the wall" barbecue in Texas. Located in Kingsland, TX just a short drive from Marbles Falls and not far from Austin. Friendly atmosphere and short lines. Tell em Spyke sent ya.
Restaurant details
Description: The best "Hole in the wall" barbecue in Texas. Located in Kingsland, TX just a short drive from Marbles Falls and not far from Austin. Friendly atmosphere and short lines. Tell em Spyke sent ya.
Reviewed April 13, 2019

New owners have kept the restaurant's great BBQ and service intact. Basic BBQ place with combo plates or a la carte.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Frank R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 88 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2019

Little hole in the wall, family owned. Great food! Come on out and try it! Spyke's is the best BBQ in the Highland Lakes area.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank danieljanean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2019 via mobile

The atmosphere is very rustic but the staff is warm and very friendly and helpful. We had a brisket plate with corn on the cob and potato salad; the corn was soggy but had good flavor. The potato salad was good although not great. The brisket was very tender, lean-almost no fat- and we added a mild jalapeno bbq sauce that was excellent! Highly recommended. Only meanful suggestion is to find a better way to keep the corn hot in some other way than leaving it in the water.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank donnd386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2019 via mobile

Our friends invited us to lunch at Spyke's. They are locals and claim it's the best of the best for ribs and BBQ. I never had brisket before so I ordered a wrap smothered in hot and mild jalapeño BBQ sauce. My companion had a smoked turkey sandwich and loved it. Our friends had ribs and raved about them. They said the potato salad was too mustardy and the slaw needed more "tang!" I want to go there again and try the ribs.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank stoogeg3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2019 via mobile

Great people and food. Extremely busy on weekends so plan ahead for your Bar-B-Q visit. Just a small home town eatery but great food

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank dragonwagon123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Spyke's Bar-B-Que & Catering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing