We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Weekend Vacation”
Review of The Antlers

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kingsland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Antlers
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kingsland
Acton, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 357 helpful votes
“Fantastic Weekend Vacation”
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Everything was just right when we stayed for a weekend in the Texas Writers Suite. Good price for the value. Excellent service and accomodations as advertised. We brought our 22' ski boat and were given a lift at their dock for an additional fee of $25.00. The Inn's hostess recommended the Grand Central Cafe on their premises and Alfredo's Mexican Restaurant in town and both were exceptional. The Antlers is centrally located in Kingsland and sits directly on the Colorado River which feeds Lake LBJ only a 1/4 mile from their dock. Will return to this fabulous place!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank SouthernBoy2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    12
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
25
28
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed in the McKimley Coach, it was roomy with a clean bath and a half. Stove, and dish washer which we never used, close to the water, we brought a jet ski shich we were able to put it close by. Service was very friendly but not overbearing. Very comfortable, low key. Easy to find, many cool places close by. Great cafe on site, but has limited hours. Most local restaurants are Mexican, so if you are looking for something else, expect to drive at leat 30 minutes.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davedave3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwall, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Great place to spend a long weekend. We highly recommend the McKinley coach for a comfortable trip back in time... spacious and old-time luxurious. For some chill time you will find that the log cabin by the river provides a reading nook that is hard to beat.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RickPiet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown,TX
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Wish we could have stayed longer than the 1 night.
For the value - we stayed in the hotel part - it was PHENOMENAL. It was like renting an apartment for the night. Nice old building that's a recognized historical building. We had a huge front sitting room, with TV, small drinks complimentary. The bedroom was just as huge.
The bathroom was like a whole other place, nice accomodations - shower and claw-foot bathtub to sit and soak.
We didn't get to eat at the famous restaurant - unfortunately.
Walked around and spent time down by the water - the cabins look lovely to stay in, private and great views. Canoes available to go out on the water. Little pavilions to sit out and enjoy the water.
Definately stay here!

Room Tip: We were the only people in the hotel - room on the bottom floor had all the bells and whistles for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steffie777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, TX
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed in the McKinley Coach....what a beautiful place to stay. From the kind lady at the front desk to the beautiful peaceful grounds. This place is definately an A+. The only regret we had was we could only stay one night. We will be going back whne we can stay for the weekend!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetraveling61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Euless, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

The caboose is an acceptable accomodation if you are NOT planning to spend much time inside. The area has a kitchenette which was helpful. It was pretty clean except there were several bugs in the shower and cobwebs in the corners. The restroom is VERY small and the caboose would be a struggle for large folks; although, it was kind of a struggle for us and we are not large. It is impossible to get dressed inside the restroom and the shower is tiny. Also, it's a short walk to the water and they have a canoe and row boat available for use; however, the river is overrun by large boats so I wouldn't recommend it. The caboose had a gas grill which was nice. Overall, it was a good experience but I'm not sure that I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Crayz5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We found this resort online and choice it mainly for the fun idea of staying in a cool rail car for our 4 kids aged 11 and under, and we got so much more than just a cool coach to sleep on. First and foremost this was my DH and my Wedding anniversary and waiting for us in our room was two wine glasses, sparkling cider and chocolate with a sweet card saying Happy Anniversary, such a sweet surprise. The McKinley Coach that we stayed in was definitely world class. It is beautiful with all the lovely wood. My kids were so excited, we then ventured over to see the cabooses and those are just as awesome. We really enjoyed the row boat and canoes that they provide for us to use. The property is expansive and very well manicured, by family enjoyed the peach trees and the pear trees as well. The staff is very attentive and friendly towards our kids and even gave us the story behind the resort and a behind the scenes kind of tour. My kids also loved Baby Doll the cat, the swim and fishing docks. This place was completely awesome and we will most definitely return. Only a few suggestions for the McKinley coach, we stayed three nights and it would have been nice if they had extra hooks up in the restroom areas to hang our wet towels and suits. The first night the shower curtain broke and they fixed it right away the next morning, also the housekeepers are sweet and wonderful. I would also suggest that people bring fishing poles, or maybe in the future the resort will provide some as loaners or to rent for their guest that forget. If you like to boat or jet ski, we suggest Splash Rentals, they deliver to the resort dock, it is wonderful and convient.

Room Tip: Love the rail cars!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skholow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingsland
11.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Marble Falls
11.1 mi away
Best Western Marble Falls Inn
Best Western Marble Falls Inn
#3 of 7 in Marble Falls
249 reviews
11.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Marble Falls-On The Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Best Western Post Oak Inn
12.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Marble Falls
13.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Burnet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Antlers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Antlers

Property: The Antlers
Address: 1001 King Ct, Kingsland, TX 78639-5252
Location: United States > Texas > Kingsland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kingsland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Antlers Inn invites you to experience the conveniences expected in the modern day combined with the allure of history. We are located at the junction of the Llano and Colorado Rivers, on Lake LBJ, in Kingsland, Texas. While enjoying your stay with us, stroll amongst our spacious lawns, reflective gardens, and shady wooded areas. Antlers Lake LBJ Park, along the water frontage of Lake LBJ, includes picnic tables, a dock for fishing and canoe launching, or open areas for relaxing. Three different styles of accommodations are here for your choosing. Traditional hotel rooms with private baths, one to three room cabins and cottages, or train cars fully updated to accommodate overnight stays. Guests will enjoy dining at our restaurant, Grand Central Café, for breakfast, lunch, or dinner and cocktails at the Club Car Bar. The Antlers Hotel is a Texas Historic Landmark Hotel and is on the National Register of Historic Places. The railroad opened the Antlers Hotel in 1901 for tourists arriving by train. This stately two-story building surrounded by porches is an elegant choice for visitors to Kingsland in the Hill Country. The original hotel offered luxury by the rivers, and we are proud to continue that tradition today. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Antlers Hotel Kingsland
Antlers Hotel Kingsland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing