We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Killeen - Fort Hood
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Killeen
Certificate of Excellence
Point Pleasant, West Virginia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Just Average”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

We stayed at this hotel in June. Hotel grounds and lobby were nice. The room was average at best. Carpet was stained and room was well used. We were only there for one night, so we made the best of the situation. The pool area was nice and had cabana rooms available for use. I stay in many HI properties each year and sorry that I can't give this one a better rating.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WV_Traveler25550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen M, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Killeen - Fort Hood, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to leave us feedback on your stay with us. I am sorry that your stay was only average. We have a new management team that is addressing the issues you mentioned. I sincerely hope the next time you are in town you will reach out to me directly to make your reservation and we can make your next stay an exceptional one versus just average.
Thank you again for your review and also for your loyalty to the Holiday Inn/IHG Brand.
Please feel free to reach out directly to the new Area Director of Operations at 254-690-5511.

Best Regards,

Jen Huber
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    60
    17
    6
    10
See reviews for
38
16
22
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

I traveled to Killeen to pick up my son. Our room was clean. The bathroom was small and not as clean as I thought it should be. The carpet was VERY stained and looked filthy. I did not want to walk on it barefoot. I tend to prefer a little softer matress so I woke up with a very sore back. I was disappointed that the breakfast was not complimentary. The staff were very nice and pleasant. It was just an okay stay.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Shauna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen M, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Killeen - Fort Hood, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to leave us feedback on your stay. It is because of your feedback that we can ensure continuous improvement at the hotel. I am so sorry your room carpet was not up to standard. We have a new management team that is addressing this issue right away.
Thank you again for your comments and we hope the next time you are in Killeen you will reach out to us directly so that we can show you our improvement and provide you with an exceptional stay.

Best Regards,

Jen Huber
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridianville, Alabama
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Love this Holiday Inn!
Pros:This Holiday Inn is newer and is nice and clean. The room even smelled GOOD when we walked in. Usually it smells old or there's no smell at all so this was a surprise! :) The rooms are spacious, the beds are comfy, had everything we needed in the room (microwave, frig, iron, hairdryer, etc), the lobby is nice and there is a restaurant and bar downstairs. The pool is very nice with cabanas and tvs. The staff is very friendly. Close to anything ya'll need.

Cons: Only 3 lounge chairs by the pool (I didn't ask for more, but they could of had some) and there's no free morning breakfast like most Holiday Inn hotels.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel faces the parking lot. I would recommend that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
2 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2014

This review is a little late but here it goes anyway. My friend and I stopped in late one night and we were very glad we did. The room was clean and spacious and the beds were very comfortable. Would return if in the area again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We were there to visit with son and family. He had just been assigned to Ft. Hood.
Hotel was clean and quiet. Their restaurant left the impression though that their personell was new and untrained. I requested sausage with my breakfast every morning we were there, and got bacon instead. Bacon was good, but not what I ordered. Never an explanation or apologies for getting bacon instead of sausage.
Still, would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tagerit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

I usually do not give out 1-stars or bother mentioning negative situations, but when management lacks a quality standard level of detail with communication and accountability, then I'm going to use all the ammo at my disposal and empty the clip. I'm not expecting anything special in return. It's not like I'm going to fly back anytime soon to use a complimentary weekend stay. As if.

Most of the staff I encountered during my hotel visit were very nice and accommodating. Maintenance was prompt to fix any immediate room issues, Housekeeping quickly replenished whatever supplies were needed, and the Front Desk associates were helpful with my questions and requests in a professional and hospitable manner both in person and on the phone. Ok, I've been fair and balanced with my review. Time to deliver some heavier ordinance.

There's nothing quite like a significant billing error to really bring one's financial situation to a grinding halt. I could blast on about finding a roach (photo uploaded to Yelp.com Tips), the non-functioning ice machine on my floor during the 2+ week stay, the elevator buttons that fell out, the out-of-order exercise machine, the unavailable printer in the business center, or the malfunctioning door lock to my room after a local power outage, but I'd rather focus on the hotel billing issue.

I take no pleasure in this rant, well maybe a little, but when the Wifey goes to pay bills online after a holiday weekend and finds out our account has a hotel charge mistake in excess of $1800...Le Sigh. Someone's gonna answer for this.

Allow me to elaborate, all you hard working people: I fly out for work, and our travel department makes arrangements to pre-authorize the hotel billing directly to the business account. Our travel manager sends the info on 5/02/2014. I check-in 5/06 and give my ID and a debit card to cover incidentals, of which there were none during my stay. I check-out, fly home, and spend Memorial weekend with the family.

The following Tuesday 5/27 we receive alerts and Wifey finds out why she can't pay online bills. Our account is now overdrawn. Not to mention, there are other automatic billpay items scheduled to hit the books. I'm calling & emailing to straighten out this mess because the hotel charged the entire bill to my debit card instead of the company travel account, which the hotel had since 5/02. I have initiated all of the phone calls and emails to the hotel with zero callbacks or email replies. ZERO. Funny how it takes a day for a merchant to take your money, but much longer to return it.

After leaving voicemails, I'm still waiting to hear from the hotel's general manager about addressing the number of subsequent overdraft charges that occurred over the holiday weekend. I spoke to him once on 5/27/14. He offered no apology, nor did he reassure me that he was personally working on a correction and would see it through to make it right. In fact, he was leaving early for the day and all too busy to take charge of the matter. The general tone I received was, "We need your company credit card info so we can switch the billing and maybe there was a miscommunication between the company and the hotel."

Wait, didn't you have this information before I arrived in order to reserve the room?

Room Tip: It doesn't matter. None of the rooms have blackout drapes that close, so every room is sunny whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Conrad R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neel M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Killeen - Fort Hood, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Mr. Conrad,
Thank you for taking a moment to leave us feedback about your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry that you had a bad experience regarding your billing issues and we never want any guest to go through that type of issue at any time. We regret any inconvenience it caused and have made every effort to rectify the situation in an expedient manner. If you are still facing any issues please feel free to contact me directly at 254-690-5511. Once again thank you for the valuable feedback and we hope to regain your trust in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
218 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Front desk staff was very friendly, as was the bartender (although a bit air-headed at times). I wish the bar was open later and wish breakfast would run later on the weekends, but overall it was a great stay and I would definitely consider staying here again next time I'm in Killeen for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killeen hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Killeen-Fort Hood Area
1.7 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Killeen
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Killeen
Courtyard Killeen
#3 of 33 in Killeen
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#10 of 33 in Killeen
86 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Killeen
Residence Inn Killeen
#5 of 33 in Killeen
123 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Killeen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Killeen - Fort Hood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Killeen - Fort Hood

Property: Holiday Inn Killeen - Fort Hood
Address: 300 E Central Texas Expy, Killeen, TX 76541-8982
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Killeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Killeen
#3 Family Hotel in Killeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Killeen - Fort Hood 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Hotel Killeen - Fort Hood offers a comfortable stay for travelers. Indulge yourself at the Holiday Inn Hotel in Killeen, Texas, conveniently located only a mile from the Fort Hood Main Gate and just off the Central Texas Expressway. Our hotel offers you the very best in Texas hospitality. Leisure travelers visiting Texas can enjoy area attractions that are in close proximity to our hotel in Killeen. If you enjoy the outdoors, you can visit nearby Stillhouse Lake and Belton Lake, as both feature wonderful recreational facilities for camping, fishing, boating, hiking and wildlife watching. Visitors can learn about the rich military history of the 1st Calvary Division at the Museum at Ft. Hood, or you can explore the heavens at the Mayborn Planetarium. Business travelers will find our Killeen area hotel's location is convenient to Fort Hood, which is just one mile away. Central Texas College, University of Mary Hardin Baylor, Darnell Army Hospital and the Metroplex Hospital are nearby. The Killeen Fort Hood Regional Airport (GRK) is also only four miles away. A 24-hour business center, state-of-the-art conference room and free high-speed Internet access are provided to meet your needs. Our Killeen, Texas hotel's amenities include a European-style pool with a spa and private cabanas and a 24-hour fitness center. Remember, at Holiday Inn, kids always eat free at our restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Reservation Counter, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Killeen - Fort Hood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Killeen-Fort Hood Hotel Killeen
Killeen Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing