We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, clean room, wonderful people”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Killeen - Fort Hood Area
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Killeen
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent service, clean room, wonderful people”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

We have stayed her twice and both times staff was tremendous! This is a great location and by staying here you get access to a local health club (though there are treadmills at the hotel). The check-in was efficient, the room was clean (both times) and the folks at the desk made my wife and I feel very welcomed. Thank you everyone.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bob v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen M, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Killeen - Fort Hood Area, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us feedback. We have sent in the comments on the continental breakfast to the Candlewood Brand Team. I know this is something they like to get feedback on as they make improvements and changes to the Candlewood Service and Amenities offering. I am glad you enjoyed the full kitchen though. Thank you so much for staying with us and I will definitely be passing on your positive comments to our staff.
I hope you get the opportunity to stay with us again in the future.

Best Regards,

Jen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    17
    6
    5
    6
See reviews for
14
6
4
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Laurens, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

forgot to pick us up at airport waited in heat for over one hour after five phone calls never again was told someone would call me they must have forgot again what a joke. if you don't care about service then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen M, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Killeen - Fort Hood Area, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback. I am so sorry you experienced such a delay with our airport shuttle. Our new Area Director of Operations is addressing this issue right away. We would love the opportunity to talk with you more about you experience. At your earliest convenience please contact myself or Quentin Lee at 254-501-3990. We look forward to discussing further with you.

Best Regards,

Jen Huber
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairsville, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We made reservations several days out and confirmed that day we would be checking late. Room, no problem until I opened the door. It appeared to have a party from the night before and air conditioner ripped from the wall. The front desk struggled to find another room and when we opened the door the stench of cigarettes began to say it all. Did I mention the folks that were drunk hanging out in the lobby.... When making reservations for 2 adults and 2 teen children I was recommended for several more dollars a night breakfast to be included. We were then advised the next day that it was only for two people. REALLY, we made reservations for FOUR!!!!!!!!!!!! We went else where for breakfast (The Kettle - Definately worth going to). Now for the positive, the room was clean except for the cigarette smell. The hallway on the 3rd floor smells like cigarettes also. (So much for smoke-free.) Would I stay here again, absolutely not.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank game227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen M, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Killeen - Fort Hood Area, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback on your stay. Our on-site Operations Manager ( Dave Patel) has reached out to you by phone however I wanted to leave you a note as well. I am so sorry for the issues you have been experiencing and we would love the opportunity to discuss further and also adjust the breakfast on your room. At your earliest convenience please contact Dave or myself at the front desk. Again we are very sorry for the experience you are having.

Best Regards,

Jen Huber
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Drum, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Well we are currently still at this hotel. As far as the actual facility it is surprisingly really nice given the location (neighborhood not to appealing on the eyes ) but at the same time very convenient to get around. The rooms are EXTREMELY SPACIOUS everything they have provided in the rm was very nice as well they thought of everything for long term stays this honestly would be a perfect place to stay you can't go wrong!!!! The staff was very friendly the evening girl she helped with all my questions and wasn't rushed about it ! What was shocking was We have 2 different rooms in this hotel. I made the reservations separately for each room via online . The main reason we chose this hotel was because it was "pet friendly" EXCEPT for the pet fee ABSOLUTELY not friendly at all I was shocked that the pet fee with tax was actually more then the rates on either of our 2 rooms we have wow even with being a IHG rewards club member!!! My k9 kid is only well barely 5lbs maybe the weight of a bag of sugar and it cost us $85.00 for him to stay here !!! That isn't very pet friendly at all!! It's not like he's actually would be left in either of our rooms unattended for any reason for any period of time !!!! A pet deposit of that amount understandable of course a business has to cover their butts just incase any discrepancies may happen but a pet fee at that amount. Ridiculous !!!!!!! That would honestly be the only reason why we wouldn't stay at this hotel again is because of the really high pet fee!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chamorita671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen M, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Killeen - Fort Hood Area, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us comments on your stay. We appreciate the feedback. I am so glad that you enjoyed the spacious room and convenience of the location.
I appreciate the comments on the pet fee. The one time fee covers our cost of having an outside company come in after a pet room checks out to fully clean the carpets and drapes etc...
With having pet rooms we have to make sure all hair is removed in case the next guest is allergic to pet hair. I am sorry if the fee was not explained in detail at the time of making your reservation. Our hotel opted for the one time fee versus how many hotels charge a daily fee per pet.
I hope you will stay with us again and please feel free to reach out directly to me to discuss the pet fee more in detail.
Thank you again for staying with us.

Best Regards,

Jen Huber
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

The employees and staff were among the best and most courteous we've ever seen. Great hospitality. Only downside is we wish there was a continental breakfast, but the fact there was a stove, microwave, fridge, dishes, and a dishwasher in the room made up for that.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crystal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is nice and quiet, snack is available for purchase in the lobby, the hotel is Eco friendly. Short driving distance from most stores and food places. Located about 13 min from fort hood, serve the military community and pet friendly

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alexandre J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita Falls, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Staff is very kind and courteous, Jeanne was very polite and helpful with anything I needed during my stay. Christine was also very polite and helpful. The beds were comfortable and condition of hotel is excellent.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killeen hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Killeen - Fort Hood
0.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites Killeen
1.7 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Killeen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Killeen
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Killeen-Fort Hood Area
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Killeen
Residence Inn Killeen
#5 of 33 in Killeen
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Killeen - Fort Hood Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Killeen - Fort Hood Area

Property: Candlewood Suites Killeen - Fort Hood Area
Address: 2300 Florence Rd, Killeen, TX 76542-1839
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Killeen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Killeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Killeen - Fort Hood Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Candlewood Suites® Killeen hotel, you'll not only find warm hospitality but also a convenient location near Fort Hood. Our hotel's address is just 1 mile from one of the largest United States military installations in the world and right off of the Central Texas Expressway. Business travelers love the convenience of the 24-hour business center, where you can work on a guest computer and enjoy free printing and copying services. Our Killeen, TX hotel's proximity to locations like General Dynamics, L3, ESP, Seton Medical Center and Central Texas College means that you'll spend less time driving and more time working. If you are in town visiting Fort Hood, our hotel's location is perfect. We are less than 4 miles from the Fort Hood main gate, giving you more time to explore the 1st Cavalry Division Museum on-Post. Families love seeing the stunning visual display at the Mayborn Planetarium on the campus of Central Texas College. No matter what the reason for your stay in Killeen, TX, our hotel's amenities satisfies your needs. We have free high-speed, wireless Internet access in each of the suites, as well as a 24-hour Fitness Center. And with the 24-hour Candlewood Cupboard store, you'll be able to buy an extra toothbrush or a snack any time. Choose convenience and comfort by staying at the Candlewood Suites® Killeen hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Candlewood Suites Killeen - Fort Hood Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Killeen At Fort Hood Hotel Killeen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing