We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best BBQ in Killeen”
Review of Petty's BBQ

Petty's BBQ
Ranked #15 of 245 Restaurants in Killeen
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
West Warwick, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Best BBQ in Killeen”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

3 minutes literally from the hotel; they need to work on their cornbread, but mannnnnnnnnnnnn, they know what they're doing with the bbq!!!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank JenniferF2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    17
    5
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
291 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Pretty good for the Killeen area”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

For this area, the barb-que is pretty good. Brisket was tender but not finished well on the outside. Sides are typical. Location is strip mall decor. People are very nice. It wouldn't last in Austin but for this area it's better than most.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Al E E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harker Heights, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best BBQ ever”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Best BBQ I have had in years. I frequent this place often.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great little hole-in-the-wall BBQ joint!”
Reviewed February 8, 2012

I tried Petty's because I got a Groupon. It is the best BBQ I have found in the area. It's a tiny little restaurant, but the food is delicious! The green beans are some of the best I have ever had. I am telling everyone I know about Petty's.

Helpful?
Thank Meggera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great BBQ”
Reviewed September 13, 2011

You know you're in the right place when you smell the smokers next to the building. This is classic Barbeque done right, order at the counter and they'll call you when it's ready. I had beef brisket and sausage, my friends both had ribs. We all rated this place as very good (and the other two guys are from Huntsville AL, where BBQ is taken very seriously.) They were out of pulled pork, I'll be back to try that next trip.

Now Killeen is not the garden spot of Texas, but this place was at least worth a detour, if not the trip.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank deemery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Petty's BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Petty's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing