We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great local Indian food restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Onion Indian Bistro

Red Onion Indian Bistro
Ranked #6 of 238 Restaurants in Killeen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Red Onion Indian Bistro has become the popular choice for those looking to explore different flavors and spice! We specialize in all authentic Indian cuisines using the finest of ingredients. We have a variety of Indian dishes to select from with recommendations from our staff for all sorts of pallet types. Here at Red Onion, we thrive to offer a more sophisticated dining experience for those who are seeking to go beyond the ordinary and discover the full potential of Indian fine dining paired with the right drink!
Killeen, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
“Great local Indian food restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

The buffet is great, all different types of dishes and the staff is very friendly. They always have plenty of Naan. Recommend lunch instead of dinner so you can try a little bit of everything!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kimca194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    42
    5
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spring Lake, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
108 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent Indian Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

I am an avid Indian Food fan who mostly sticks to the "safe" Indian foods such as Chicken Tikka Masala, Tandoori Chicken, and different types of paneer, but Red Onion has been a treat! I am used to shoddy Indian restaurants that only have a buffet to fall on, but Red Onion is nicely decorated and well serviced. The waiters are very congenial and will offer helpful suggestions based on one's preferences.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent food, excellent service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012 via mobile

Great food and moderately priced. Friendly service in a nice atmosphere. Highly recommended!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnFord1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
153 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Best in Killeen”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

I would eat here every day if I could afford it. They make a sweet carrot dessert that is very good if you can catch it on the buffett. I usually order their chai masala tea with my lunch. It's really good.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank arachulax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
204 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“An unexpected restaurant in central Texas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

One does not expect to enjoy authentic Indian food in Central Texas, which is better known for BBQ and Tex Mex. The restaurant has a well stocked and beautiful bar and we will likely return just to have a drink. The food is excellent with a large variety of authentic dishes, and some incredible nan. Given the venerated status of cows, you will not find beef on the menu - sorry native Texans! The decor is very clean and comfortable, although it could easily be associated with any other cuisine - i.e. there is no "Indian" feel to the design or decoration. Staff is friendly, but the wait is a bit longer than you may expect. Savor that wait and enjoy the company of your date! Not a place to a visit in rush.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 101jumper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Onion Indian Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Red Onion Indian Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing