We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and reasonable motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Inn of the Hills Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Kerrville
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
128 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Clean and reasonable motel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2010

We were also surprised at the location of the motel because we too expected it to be in a more rural setting rather than on a main street but it is very close to the river and downtown shops. Many of the chain motels are on IH10 away from town. The staff were very friendly and the breakfast buffet was very good. The room was comfortable and clean. We had a room with a stone wall which was nice but my wife thought it was a little dusty since it is hard to dust the wall. We didn't go swimming but the pool looked nice and they have a second pool overlooking the river. I believe kids would like the pool area.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiverBob_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    173
    81
    59
    26
See reviews for
150
179
25
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
165 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2010

We were a bit dissapointed when we realized this hotel was on a main streach of raod in Downtown Kerrville. We had the illusion it was set back in the hills ala Hyatt Hill Country. That said, the hotel was charming. A small town hotel in a small town. The employees were all very nice, the hotel facade has nice Hill Country flair, and the rooms, although a bit outdated, were clean and very comfortable. The hotel is HUGE, with many rooms along courtyards, playgrounds, tennis courts and pools. The bar is a hoot. That alone is worth staying there. Locals hanging out chatting it up, everyone nice, and the atmosphere is truly central Texas. Go. Just expect and adventure. It isn't a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffLowney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2010

If you like sterile chain motels, don't stay here. This is a unique place with a super breakfast and excellent bar with live music, sometimes very good live country music. Yes, it's probably seen better days and caters to less caters to familes and older folks but I found the rooms to be large, accessible, and comfortable. I found the wood furniture and stone walls charming. I think it's a pretty good value all around -- food, bar, laundry. I've stayed all over the world from five star hotels on every continent to $5 a night dumps in Central America. This place is decidedly in between but I really liked it. I stayed there for for 15 nights in August of 2010. I could have easily switched hotels but didn't because there is something about Inn Of The Hills that is appealing compared to the rest of the places in Kerrville. It's hard to describe but if you enjoy a Hill Country vibe, a little funk, a little reality, a little hometown feel, this is a great place to stay in Kerrville.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sasserscampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2010

Do not stay in the "loft" rooms, they smell, the couches were so worn they had holes in them, the vents in the bathroom had so much dust in them it was falling out of the wall, tiles were cracked and grout missing. Don't believe the photos.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebraB14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2010

I love this place and try to stay here once a year. The rooms are set up country western style with pine cabinets, oak beds wide screen tv and granite counters int he bathrooms. They were clean, fresh, with an excellent bed. The swimming pool is realy large and clean. The restaurant is priced reasonable for the exceptional food. But best of all, the service is way above average and all the staff are very personal, friendly and helpful. The is also a very private pool in the back of the property that overlooks the river and connected to almost a gourment restaurent that also looks out over the river. However, most people don't know about this pool so it is very private. So you can enjoy a very inexpensive room, pool and food with your family, or walk to the back of the property and enjoy superb food and a private pool for a romantic evening. The best of both worlds. If you want to make your trip truly spectacular, drive in from Concan north to Leaky and take route 337 (I think) to Kerrville. This is a well paved but little travelled two lane road that takes you back in time to gorgeous mansions, plantations and runs along a very scenic river. Exotic ranches parrellel the road so you can see elk, wildebeasts, nilgie and other exotic animals if you're lucky. It is one of the best kept secrets in Texas and an amazing road for motorcyclists.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bboz56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2010

At first glance it was very inviting. We had entrances on both sides of the room from the parking lot, and the pool area. The room had a musty moldy smell to it. Thought by getting some air circulating that it would fade out. To no avail. It was a spacious room, king size bed with a sofa that pulled out to a bed. Bathroom shower head was really low. I'm 5'8 and it hit the back of my head. Patio was nice.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank screenname78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2010

Some hotels seem nostalgic - while others feel old. This hotel is dated and not in a good way - it is old on top of old.

Rooms are standard for the 1980's...seem moldy, cramped and way behind the times. By contrast we stayed in a new Hampton Inn the next night...same price...180 degree opposite experience.

Unless you have some nostalgic reason to stay here - and you like popcorn celings, that "musty-moldy" smell of a poorly ventilated room, furniture that is too close together and worn, tube-TV's, rooms that open into the parking lot, beds that are UNcomfortable then this is your place.

Also...a gas station to the east, a Wal-Mart to the north, a condiminum complex to the south and a really lame "family center/bank" to the east.

Really lame.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oudds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kerrville hotels
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Kerrville
Hampton Inn Kerrville
#1 of 14 in Kerrville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sunday House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Kerrville
3.1 mi away
Super 8 Kerrville TX
Super 8 Kerrville TX
#3 of 14 in Kerrville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
2.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#8 of 14 in Kerrville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn of the Hills Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Hills Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Inn of the Hills Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 1001 Junction Highway, Kerrville, TX 78028 (Formerly Inn of the Hills River Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Kerrville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Kerrville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn of the Hills Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
166 rooms, With native stone architecture and proximity to the beautiful Guadalupe River, the Inn of the Hills is the landmark hotel for the Texas Hill Country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inn of the Hills Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Hills Resort And Conference
Inn Of The Hills Hotel Kerrville
Hotel Of The Hills Conference

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing