We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great conference center”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Inn of the Hills Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Kerrville
Round Rock, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great conference center”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Our room was very comfortable. The continental breakfast was standard but good. All meals were served buffet style, which made for a long line when our sessions were finished. The staff was efficient and friendly. I didn't understand why a system of vouchers was necessary, but if that is how they want it, no complaints. I intended to use one of the pools, but the water felt too cold for my comfort level. (I'm a wimp.) The grounds are lovely and peaceful. This place is HUGE!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoyceWR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    187
    83
    60
    27
See reviews for
165
188
27
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We spent two nights at the Inn of the Hills the week of 9/15/2013. We had the impression, based on their website, that they were located in the Hill Country (implied - in the country). Unfortunately, and to our surprise, they were located in the heart of a busy business area next to a bank, a condominium complex and a parking lot for trucks.

The "resort" was actually an updated 1950's motel style facility with external entries. We fortunately had an interior room overlooking the grounds, pool and spa which made up for some of the disappointment of not being in the country.

The room was comfortable and provided two very comfortable side chairs, table and amenities as well as a very comfortable king size bed. . It was clean and obviously was updated in the recent past. The TV, a 32" HD flat screen did not provide for HD broadcasts and all stations were "fuzzy" and somewhat distorted. The light above the tub/shower did not work.The front desk offered little help with dining recommendations nor with a message light on the phone which we later determined was 12 days old! We were not given an activity list, any information about the lounge, bar, restaurant at check in. Another gust at check-out determined that he had a charge on his room that was not his and they had to look for someone to authorize the change. No one seemed to be empowered to serve the customer.

The buffet was very nice; the hostess and servers were excellent; service was excellent; food quality good and their offering of 3 different wine tasting for only $5 was a welcome surprise. A background of live grand piano music made for a very nice evening.

The pool area, spa and interior grounds were very well kept. Outside Stairways showed many years of wear with non-skid traction tapes which were loose on most steps. What previously had been a tennis court was an ugly site in as much the surface was torn-up and post holes were readily apparent. The walkways which contained the soft drink machines and ice makers had not been updated and were quite unattractive. Some color and dressing up would have improved these areas immensely.

Overall, the experience was good but not great. We probably would not return primarily due to the location. The Hill Country in Texas is a site to behold and is better seen from locations that are not city bound. However, on the plus side, the value of the offering through Tripadvisor was a real bargain at $139 for two nights plus $50 in dinner vouchers and additional breakfast vouchers as well.

Frank M.

Room Tip: MAke sure you request an interior room on the 2nd floor to stay away from foot traffic and get a muc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frankredbeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Friendly staff, beautiful courtyard, large Texas sized rooms. Not in the hills like I thought but right smack in the middle of town. Used a groupon. The only disappointing thing was the huge wonderful pool was closed due to maintenance.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didcot, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We found the hotel on the Internet and were not disappointed. The pools are very nice and child friendly. The pool near the river has a lovely view and atmosphere. The staff were very friendly, if quirky at times. The restaurant had great food both at dinner and breakfast. The room was adequate and I had no problems with the beds, as other reviewers had mentioned. The room had a nice big bathroom as well. There was a gate in the side wall of the car park so you could actually walk to the good outlets next door.
On Saturday the bar had a life band and it was excellent. Sadly, on Sundays and other nights the bar shut early. The restaurant had a lot of Swiss memorabilia, such as cow bells and clocks. Very nice decor. All in all, we had a great time. The area is lately and has a lot to offer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Napasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I read the reviews all the way up to booking our room. I chose to pay extra and not do groupon because I read the renovated rooms were the ones to stay in. We got a king casa room by the small pool and were not disappointed at all. It was quiet, clean and the bed was comfortable. We enjoyed the pub the first night with Mario flores performing. It was packed with locals and visitors...great place! The next day we enjoyed the pool by the river...very nice! If we ever go back to kerville we will def stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

The Inn of the hills resort is probably the best resort to stay at in Kerrville. I purchased a groupon special so we had a room that was not renovated but it was very clean with two queen beds and a room with a view of the pool. The room was located upstairs and the resort does not have elevators so be prepared to carry your bags up stairs ( If travelling with family physically challenged request a 1st floor room. The lobby was attractive and the front desk was efficient. We had dinner at the resort restaurant, and the seafood buffet was mediocre. We received breakfast coupons at check in, when we went for breakfast at 10am we realized that breakfast buffet ends at 9:30am. I was disappointed as most hotels have breakfast until 10:30 or 11:00 am on weekends. I ordered scrambled eggs and they were not tasty and left me looking for a breakfast place all weekend. The wait staff was not friendly and was not what I expected for service at a resort. After driving through Kerrville I realized that the Inn of the Hills is the nicest hotel in Kerrville. The pool was very nice and most guests enjoyed the pool during the day. The resort does have a pub on the grounds and a pool with a river view a short walk to the river. Some shops to browse are on the grounds. I would stay here again even though the restaurant could use a better menu and staff could use some training on customer service skills, beside the restaurant overall the resort was a nice place for a weekend retreat, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the 1st floor and ask for a remodeled room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank womantrvler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

The first thing we noticed was the door had been kicked in and the splintered wood around the lock was very visible. Glad I brought my handgun! The kind size bed was a King Size back ache! What I don't understand, is why would a Hotel have a bed that that should have been replaced 10 or 15 years ago? This really upset me, but I was not surprised, as some hotels paint the front door and say the place has been renovated!
The room had a moldy type smell so the AC was really helpful in clearing the air. The hotel staff was very friendly and our room was clean with clean linen. Our TV remote wouldn't work unless you were 1 foot away! There is no on TV guide, but there is a cheat sheet to show the channels. To find out what to watch, go to TWC web site on your computer or tablet, and look at the TWC basic, not digital.
I'm giving this poor rating due to the bed and cost of the room! Would probably been better to throw the mattress on the floor! We did that in a hotel in El Paso, and found three kitchen knives on top of the bed frame. Apparently, someone took them out of the kitchen and placed them there to possibly protect themselves if someone broke in?
The location was nice and surrounded with plenty of Restaurants and very close to the Guadalupe River! Billie Gene's, Classic Burgers, and the Boathouse were our favorites! We dined at the Boathouse Twice. Our Waitress, Mary-Ann, from Wisconsin was a real nice person and a hoot! The folks we met in Kerrville are real nice people!

We have complained before about "bad Beds" at other hotels, but we find that they act surprised! What can the hotel clerk do? They know how it is! I would be a little more assertive and change rooms until we found a room with a decent bed!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank alamobrady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kerrville hotels
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Kerrville
Hampton Inn Kerrville
#1 of 14 in Kerrville
484 reviews
3.1 mi away
Best Western Sunday House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Kerrville
3.1 mi away
Super 8 Kerrville TX
Super 8 Kerrville TX
#2 of 14 in Kerrville
522 reviews
2.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#8 of 14 in Kerrville
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn of the Hills Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Hills Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Inn of the Hills Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 1001 Junction Hwy, Kerrville, TX 78028-4986 (Formerly Inn of the Hills River Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Kerrville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Kerrville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn of the Hills Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
166 rooms, With native stone architecture and proximity to the beautiful Guadalupe River, the Inn of the Hills is the landmark hotel for the Texas Hill Country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn of the Hills Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Hills Hotel Kerrville
Inn Of The Hills Resort And Conference
Hotel Of The Hills Conference

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing