We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn of the Hills Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Kerrville
Reviewed December 9, 2011

We only had time to spend one night in this lovely hotel but certainly enjoyed it. We had one of their remodeled rooms and it was great!! The separated bathroom from the dressing table with sink was great. The bed was VERY comfortable. Large flat screen TV, new carpet and nice decor were all enjoyable. The free breakfast buffet at the inhouse restaurant was very good and made the reasonable rate for the hotel even better.

Room Tip: Ask for a remodeled room. The ratings suggested that the others might not be so great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joyce N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (560)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

494 - 500 of 560 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2011

The room was clean and cozy. The staff says the upgrades are coming soon. The service and support there was very good. A drawback.... No elevator, and the spiral staircase is difficult to drag your luggage up and down.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chuck b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Inn of the Hills in Kerrville, Tx on November 25, checked out 26th. This place was not only a lovely, classy place to stay over, but well-served with great staff and blessed with large, clean rooms. Our Saturday morning was graced by a fantastic buffet breakfast. This place represents the $79 I've spent on lodging in a LONG time. Thank you very much, Inn of the Hills!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Profvolkswagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

The hotel could use updating however "Texas Friendly" in the staff offset the mediocre accommodations. Don't expect lavish surroundings but do expect very good to great service. The staff at the front counter, restaurant & bar were extremely friendly & and willing to go the extra mile if necessary. Buffet food is seldom spectacular however the Mexican food buffet on Thursday evening was very good! On weekend mornings, have a freshly made omelet to your liking - great. If you get the chance, order the "Marvin Burger" from the menu. You may get to meet Marvin the Chef (especially if you can eat the entire burger!)

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RelaxedTraveler11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Certainly Inn of the Hills (IOTH) is a bit dated in its look and feel, but given the present popularity of MadMen and PanAm on TV, you'd think that 60's nostalgia would be the perfect attraction. To walk through the well kept IOTH hotel and grounds is to be transported to a time when people mingled and families arrived in Kerrville for the vacation of a lifetime. Sadly, demographics have changed...but this hotel remains.

The management of IOTH really strives to make your stay enjoyable and easy. The hotel has a fabulous breakfast buffet (included in some rates), especially yummy on the weekends. Included in your stay is access to a fitness center with bowling alley and two indoor pools, just 300 ft. from the IOTH. The hotel grounds are inviting and outdoor pools are lovely - one is right down on the river. There are plenty of good walks down to the water or to nearby restaurants and shopes.

The value is found in the total package. The AAA rate we got was fantastic...there is also a Shreiner Univ. rate - we got two rooms darn near for the price of one at a "chain" hotel. Stay in the rooms down around the rock pool - or in the upstairs part of the 6-room cabana in the middle of the property. Rooms are being remodeled. Our room was small, but opened out onto a patio that we absolutely loved. Being built in the 60's, the construction is solid and the hotel is very quiet. Beds are firm. Room appointments are comfortable.

So stay at the IOTH. Step outside, pour yourself a stiff drink, and watch the kids play. Live it up like your parents did - You're at a resort!

Room Tip: Aim for the rooms near the rock bottom pool. Soothing background noise and lovely patios. Ask abou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TexanAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benclawson, General Manager at Inn of the Hills Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2011

We would like to thank you for your time to write a review regarding your recent stay. I am pleased that ou enjoyed our hotel and all of the amentities. You noted our remodeling, the rooms you were in are starting on November 29th. The new appointed rooms are beautiful. We are now also installing flatscreen TV's in all of the rooms as well. Thank you again and we look forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

I agree that the hotel could use some modernizing, but that was part of its charm to me. I stayed for a weekend with my girlfriend and had little to complain about, but also little to be wowed by. The buffet was really underwhelming but no hair or cockroaches, just bland and limited options. The bar in the hotel was actually lots of fun and it's a hot spot for older couples in town to come in full thrift store cowboy outfits and two step, which was entertaining. It's close to lots of sights and tourist spots in Kerrville as well as a hop skip away from Fredericksburg. I wouldn't turn anyone away from this hotel but I wouldn't tell them to expect perfection either.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Texharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benclawson, General Manager at Inn of the Hills Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2011

I would like to thank you for your time and comments. As noted, on some previous reviews we are remodelling. The new rooms are so beautiful. During the remodelling we have focused on the basic refreshment of the other rooms.We do have some entrees occasionally that due not lower in sodium as this does allow the guest to season to taste. We do this for some of our local heart healthy patrons. Our daily lunch and evening buffets do have the delicious carving station with our slow cooked brisket and includes our featured prime rib on Saturday nights. The hotels bakery provides a very luscious dessert selection and breakfast paistries cooked fresh daily. The Inn Pub is alot of fun and we do have an excellent dance floor. You may want to look into the honeyroom suite next time as it has a wonderful large heart shaped jacuzzi that can enhance a romantic getaway. Once again, thank you for your review and look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Very clean and cozy with TWO reading club chairs, a large, comfortable bed, and old-world charm, my room was a joy to return to each of my three nights I stayed this time. The dining room staff was warm and cordial, seating me graciously each morning and responding enthusiastically to any request I made. While I didn't use the pools this visit(cold snap), I have other years and find the one down by the river delightfully private and free most of the time. Ease and relaxation rolls in within hours of stepping through the large, roomy lobby doors. Whenever I visit my friends in Kerrville, I always stay here. I will again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathmdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benclawson, General Manager at Inn of the Hills Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2011

We greatly appreciate your review and are very pleased you had such a wonderful stay. I am very fortunate to have such a wonderful staff. We all believe service comes from the heart and we all have big hearts. Thanks again and we look forward to your next visit and perhaps we can visit at that time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kerrville hotels
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Kerrville
Hampton Inn Kerrville
#1 of 14 in Kerrville
496 reviews
3.1 mi away
Best Western Sunday House Inn
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Kerrville
3.1 mi away
Super 8 Kerrville TX
Super 8 Kerrville TX
#2 of 14 in Kerrville
537 reviews
2.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#8 of 14 in Kerrville
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn of the Hills Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Hills Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 1001 Junction Hwy, Kerrville, TX 78028-4986 (Formerly Inn of the Hills River Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Kerrville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Kerrville
Price Range: $91 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn of the Hills Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
166 rooms, With native stone architecture and proximity to the beautiful Guadalupe River, the Inn of the Hills is the landmark hotel for the Texas Hill Country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn of the Hills Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Hills Resort And Conference
Inn Of The Hills Hotel Kerrville
Hotel Of The Hills Conference

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing