We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Western, best of possibilites”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Sunday House Inn
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Kerrville
Level Contributor
82 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Best Western, best of possibilites”
Reviewed May 9, 2008

Kerrville, TX is a small town with a fairly sizable tourist population, especially popular with the motorcycle crowd, (the fat and fifty type). Consequently, anyplace you stay in K'ville is going to be contaminated with these people and their cackling women. I stayed a few times at the Comfort Inn but found the place sterile and tacky. I transferred to the Inn of the Hills, supposedly the hot spot and found the grounds pretty but the rooms (single queen) tiny and somewhat tacky. This place is overrun with bikers who, for some reason, have to start their bikes at 6:30 to 7 AM and let them run for 30 or 40 minutes.

I went back to the Best Western because it is quieter, although they have their share of bikes, the rooms are at least a third bigger than the Inn and the staff is very friendly and helpful. (I asked a desk clerk, a young woman, at the Inn if I they had a calender I could look at so I could book a few weekends in advance. She said "no" and walked off. I went directly to the BW and asked the same question and the girl behind the desk smiled and said "sure" and handed me a calendar). The BW has a large courtyard with a pool and beautiful large oak trees. The rooms are typical motel furniture, not so new but in fairly decent condition. Upon checking in, they give your a card that is worth a hot breakfast at the Mexican restuarant right next door. You are given a choice of two eggs, bacon or sausage, with potatoes and toast, or two pancakes with bacon or sausage, or dry cereal. You have to pay for your coffee.

This place is right off IH 10 so it is very accessi ble. They offer a senior discount on the week days.

They have wifi and now they have a computer in the lobby for the guests to use.

  • Liked — larger rooms, staff
  • Disliked — plain ol
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    170
    77
    26
    18
See reviews for
149
139
23
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2008

We arrived at the Sunday House Inn after a very tiring day on the road from New Orleans. The first hotel we checked out wanted almost $150 for a room. So, we decided to try this hotel nearby. I was so glad we did.

From the moment I walked into the charming lobby I knew this was different from most Best Westerns I'd stayed at lately. The lobby was furnished in almost a Bavarian hunting lodge style. That puzzled me until I learned the heritage of the area later in our stay.

I was greeted at the desk by a very nice young clerk who was able to get us a room and checked in very quickly. Since we did not have a reservation he explained that our complimentary cookies were not in our room so he brought us two warm Otis Spunkmeyer cookies to enjoy. Sometimes it's the little things when you're bone tired on the road.

The Sunday House Inn's architecture is reminiscent of German houses with lots of wood working. Our room was in the back and we were pleased to find it very spacious. After our cramped quarters in New Orleans it felt like a palace. The room was clean and tidy and the bath spacious. The decor was rather plain however.

We decided to try the restaurant next door for a quick takeout meal. The food was fabulous. We learned that the complimentary breakfast was also at this restaurant.

In the morning we went for breakfast and had a chance to see the grounds a bit. The hotel is built on a hill so our room was actually a floor above the lobby. As you walked through the inner courtyard the walks dropped to a stairway leading into the lobby area. The pool area was beautiful with careful landscaping and lovely trees. Unfortunately, it was not the time of year to enjoy it.

Breakfast was wonderful with generous portions and excellent food.

The Sunday House Inn was a great surprise. Should we travel through Kerrville again we certainly would stop there!

  • Liked — Excellent complimentary breakfast and large rooms.
  • Disliked — Room decor could use an update.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ghstchsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waller
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2007

We have stayed at this hotel many times over the years. The rooms are large and nicely appointed, nothing special. The staff has always been friendly and courteous. The breakfast is good but not great, a fair deal for the room rate.

The big draws for us are:
Motorcycle friendly. They allow bikes to be parked by the room. Those riders who lack the courtesy to enter and leave as quietly as possible are asked to use the parking lot.

The court yard is a wonderful place to relax after a day’s journey. Large oak trees shade the adequate pool. Plenty of table and chairs to while away a nice evening.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank rtbain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2007

This was a typical and dependable Best Western, large, clean, comfortable rooms with a friendly staff. I would recommend an upper pool view room next to one of the outdoor patio tables with umbrellas. We paid $89.95 a night that included a free breakfast. I rated this hotel average only because of the free breakfast offered by Best Western. The breakfast was actually at the adjacent restaurant, Santo Coyote where 3 breakfasts are offered. 1-Eggs, that included 2 eggs, 1 slice of bacon, 1 piece of toast and skimpy potatoes; 2- Pancakes, which actually consisted of 1 small pancake; or 3- Cereal and fresh fruit, box of cereal and a banana. We’ve had many continental breakfasts that were much better.

  • Liked — Clean, comfortable room
  • Disliked — Breakfast offered
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HiMtTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2007

We stayed at this hotel while moving across the country with our dog and two cats. The extra large, spacious room that seemed to be the standard room at this hotel was just what we needed for our little traveling menagerie. Our room was clean and comfortable and well-insulated from the noise of other guests. Though we did not have a chance to take a dip, the swimming pool looked inviting, if on the small side for the number of guests who were in the water enjoying it. A choice of three different breakfasts was included in the rate.

Overall, a very good place to stay.

  • Liked — Spacious room
  • Disliked — Small bathroom
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jenga4eva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Park, Texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2006

- Convenient Location
- Safe area
- Friendly Staff
- Huge Room that was very clean
- Comfortable bed (!)
- Fabulous Breakfast
* Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C-monkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 9, 2004

I stayed at this hotel May 7th thru the 9th, 2004. The room was decorated nicely, large and clean. The front desk employees were very courteous. The restaurant had good food, good service, and the free breakfast buffet was wonderful. I would definitely stay at this hotel the next time I stay in Kerrville.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kerrville hotels
3.1 mi away
Inn of the Hills Hotel & Conference Center
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Kerrville
Hampton Inn Kerrville
#1 of 14 in Kerrville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Kerrville
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Kerrville TX
Super 8 Kerrville TX
#3 of 14 in Kerrville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#8 of 14 in Kerrville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Sunday House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Sunday House Inn

Property: Best Western Sunday House Inn
Address: 2124 Sidney Baker St, Kerrville, TX 78028-2535
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Kerrville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kerrville
#3 Business Hotel in Kerrville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Sunday House Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Sunday House Inn & Suites offers oversized rooms with a beautiful pool and courtyard area. Warm Hospitality is there to greet you every step of the way. Enjoy numerous attractions as well as the Guadalupe River. Your visit is just a click away! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Best Western, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Best Western Sunday House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sunday House Hotel Kerrville
Best Western Kerrville
Kerrville Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing