We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Bait and switch" still lives”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Sunday House Inn
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Kerrville
Kingsville, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“"Bait and switch" still lives”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I requested a room, as advertised, with a fridge and micro-wave and was assured it would be so. When the wife and I arrived, we were told that they did not have any such rooms...but the price stayed the same. When we checked out, another lady asked if we had gotten the fridge and micro-wave. When I told her "No", she said she was so sorry, but they actually had only a few rooms with those amenities.

Room Tip: Try to get a high room number or you will end up by the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald L W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    172
    79
    26
    19
See reviews for
152
139
25
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico
Level Contributor
89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Very clean hotel. Pool is in the middle of the hotel and very relaxing. I like the quit environment that was all the time we were in the hotel. Friendly people from BW. Breakfast at the "Santo Coyote Restaurant" (before entring to the hotel) is a plus. Nice breakfast and friendly people too.

Room Tip: Our room was in front of the pool and was an excelent place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chivamayor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

While the hotel staff were very nice, rooms could use an extra blanket or heavier bedspread. The one thin covering had me feeling chilly at night, even with the a/c turned off. Service was slow at the complimentary breakfast - There were 3 complimentary options & I ordered #1 which comes with 2 eggs, bacon or sausage, potatos & toast. I don't eat eggs & needed protein so asked for bacon instead of 2 eggs. Was told this was not possible. So I was served ONE small sausage patty, small serving of potatos & 1 slice of toast. My group of 4 all felt breakfast was skimpy, so we went to Ihop for breakfast the following day. Unacceptable.

Room Tip: Request room away from parking lot
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank auntjudyjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael L, Manager at Best Western Sunday House Inn, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
I am sorry that we did not meet your breakfast expectations. We receive so many compliments on the hot breakfast each day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I have no idea why any hotel would have a room this huge, but it was enjoyable! They called it a King suite, though there was no "suite" to it, just one gigantic room - at least twice the size of any hotel room I've ever had. Our impression was that these large rooms are the only ones they have with microwave and fridge, but not sure if that is really the case.

The property is older but well maintained and all the good reviews you read about friendliness and service are true. TV did not work in our room - we called the front desk and the manager himself came within 5 minutes and quickly figured out how to reset and get it going.

We were there on Labor Day weekend, during which the Kerrville area is host to the Kerrville Wine & Music Festival and also a motorcycle rally of some kind. So the clientele were mostly older folkies and middle aged bikers - I saw very few children. The place was clean and quiet, everything worked, no complaints at all. It would be nice if they replaced the lounge chairs around the pool - I couldn't find one without a cracked seat. But the pool area in general was very nice, shaded by huge live oak trees.

Complimentary breakfast was at the restaurant next door - same efficient, friendly service and a decent breakfast. For $76, easily the best value ever - SO much better than the shabby Super 8 across the street where we stayed last year. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Texastraveler2026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is an older hotel that has been updated and overall is a good value for your money. Service is good, breakfast at next door restaurant (included in room rate) was also good.

I will recommend the hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stny4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael L, Manager at Best Western Sunday House Inn, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
The Staff and I look forward to your return trip to Kerrville!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2012

I was asked by the manager of this place about four days ahead of my trip if I would change my room to a different room, as the hotel had the need to use the original room to a family who was bringing a child to the Lions Camp in Kerrville. The original room had several beds. I had been booked into it, but was traveling alone. Knowing that the Lions Camp was for children with medical conditions, I would have slept in my truck to help the Sunday House help a family in need!
Kelly, the manager is such a kind person that I will make the Best Western Sunday House my choice when in Kerrville.
By the way, Kelly gave me a nicer room that what I originally booked.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael L, Manager at Best Western Sunday House Inn, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
You were a supberb guest and we thank you again for your thoughtful, caring attitude towards our guest and staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainview, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

The pool area is surrounded by trees and was very clean. Rooms were large and had a small table and chairs. Also had tables and chairs on public balcony area...very peaceful! Breakfast was served in restaurant on premises and was limited but was very filling...something for everyone. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael L, Manager at Best Western Sunday House Inn, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
The courtyard is beautiful year-round and is maintained with great care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kerrville hotels
3.1 mi away
Inn of the Hills Hotel & Conference Center
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Kerrville
Hampton Inn Kerrville
#1 of 14 in Kerrville
466 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Kerrville
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Kerrville TX
Super 8 Kerrville TX
#3 of 14 in Kerrville
496 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#8 of 14 in Kerrville
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Sunday House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Sunday House Inn

Property: Best Western Sunday House Inn
Address: 2124 Sidney Baker St, Kerrville, TX 78028-2535
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Kerrville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kerrville
#3 Business Hotel in Kerrville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Sunday House Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Sunday House Inn & Suites offers oversized rooms with a beautiful pool and courtyard area. Warm Hospitality is there to greet you every step of the way. Enjoy numerous attractions as well as the Guadalupe River. Your visit is just a click away! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Best Western, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Sunday House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sunday House Hotel Kerrville
Best Western Kerrville
Kerrville Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing