We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Trail's End Guest House
Beaumont, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice getaway”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Was looking for a getaway stay in Kerrville, which was not easy. Found Trail's end and booked the Hunter's cabin. Very quiet, clean, and had everything we needed. The pool and pool view were spectacular. Would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JulieDsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    10
    4
    4
    5
See reviews for
11
38
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
houston
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights in June. very quiet, it was not crawded at all. breakfast was delivered to the room and they were veru nice. food was delicious. over see from room (we stayed 2nd floor) also from pool was beautiful. it was romantic. definitely come back!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank houstonjune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We spent a weekend in "The Retreat" and really enjoyed the stay. For a family of four with two small kids, the setup worked out really well. We were able to put the kids (3 yr old and 16 month old) to bed and stay up having wine on the patio, enjoying the hill country night sounds. The property has goats, donkeys, and a huge pig which the kids enjoyed. The grill on the patio was great and we used it to fix a nice meal for my grandmother who lives in town. It is completely worth it to go for the breakfast option! Much of the food is sourced locally and we were lucky enough to get to have some breakfast ham that is cured on site. Absolutely delicious and a nice surprise that we weren't expecting to get to enjoy the "farm to table" style of dining. The owners are attentive and extremely service-oriented.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hartfieldmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed here over Easter in 2012. We got the Hunter's Cabin as an affordable alternative to staying at Grandpa's house with a count of 15+ people. It was the absolute highlight of our trip. From two burrows who love getting their heads scratched, to the awesome jet tub, to Wilber the wild pig pet, this place is the most authentic hill country experience we've had to date. The owners are fantastic and helpful, and the breakfast food is AMAZING. I've never had such amazing home made treats to start the day before - enormous hash browns, cinnamon buns, ahhh... my mouth waters at the memory. The room was small, but adorably appointed, and we were absolutely comfortable for our entire stay. My wife found it to be romantic. I found it to be awesome. You are absolutely not going wrong staying here.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 92AlG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This looks really good on the web page, but in reality it is a bit of a dump. Our room had NO windows, including the bathroom [once had a ventilation fan but no longer worked: surprise!] & no view apart from a 6 foot fence. There is no way this would have passed building or fire standards. Everything looks like it has been done by an amateur handyman. There are piles of junk; maintenance is zero. It's a shame but they didn't appear to have a clue about running a B & B.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BRC36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
htduck, Owner at Trail's End Guest House, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
These guests sent us an e-mail saying the room was charming but they wanted to change to a different room with a view of the hills. We had no other rooms available. They had the option of choosing a room with a view when they made their reservation but opted for the "cheaper one."
When their breakfast in bed was delivered and we asked if all was OK they looked up from their phone, curtly replied yes and looked back down at their phone. We excused ourselves.
After their stay they told us in an e-mail the thing driving their disappointment was in not meeting us so they could discuss the differences in goat ranching in Texas vs New Zealand. They thanked us for the 10% adjustment we made in their bill and said they weren't looking for that.
The room they stayed in is cozy with hand paintings on the two window glasses. It has an enclosed sun room and a patio high fenced for privacy. It is the closest (20 feet) to the pool seating area that has 30 mile views.
We really don't know what these guests expected.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed February 19, 2013

This property was sold as a quaint, comfy retreat that was pet friendly. What we found were the most uncomfortable beds ever invented. Our air mattresses would have been better. When we considered moving one bed's mattress on to the other bed, we discovered dirt under the covers!

Last, their property, called "Some like it hot," was considered pet-friendly, as it as a fenced yard. This yard has exposed pipes and wire fence all across the ground. Not pet friendly, and not people friendly.

They charged $200/night. It may have been worth $60-70 at most. We certainly felt taken advantage of, and will never return or recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank narwhaltastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
htduck, Owner at Trail's End Guest House, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
All our guests are very important to us. We work hard to insure repeat stays. We feel we are not dirty. We do not disagree with any guest's right to state their feelings and we hope they respect our right to respond. When we took these guest's their breakfast in bed and asked them how things were they told us they had the worst night ever due to the beds being so uncomfortable. We told them we had never had this complaint before as we utilize Select Comfort Sleep Number beds in this room. We took their complaint to heart, ordered and installed gel toppers on the beds in this room before week's end.
The "dirt under the covers" confused us as we use all commercially laundered linens and launder our all cotton mattress pads and comforters no less than 26 times per year. Again, this was a new complaint.
We disagree with the wire and pipe complaint.
We were going to offer these guests some sort of adjustment since they seemed so unhappy and ready to leave early. As they stayed 1 and 3/4 hours past check out time while not contacting us and we had to pay our maids extra to wait and clean their room so the next guest could check in on time, we opted not to offer any adjustments. We assumed that possibly they weren't that unhappy after all as they showed reluctance to leave. We are sorry they felt so negative as their review reflects. When you have six years of guests saying how much they like the sleeping accommodations you don't look to change anything. Again, we never desire to get "crosswise" with our guests. We are a small business, we can't afford to do that sort of thing, nor do we choose to run our business that way. We try work with any guest to insure their satisfaction. We feel we could have worked this out with the guests and feel their assessment is incorrect but we respect their right to voice to the internet how, "dirty, uncomfortable, ugly" we are. We respectfully disagree.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Over this time of the year we have had our vacations in places like Hawaii, Costa Rica, Peru, but this year with an addition of our dog we decided stay around in Houston. However, we wanted to get away for a few days with our dog. We were looking for a pet-friendly hotel in Texas hill country for 2 nights after X-mas and came across this place. We rented the largest cottage (more or less house) with a huge fenced yard. As other reviewers indicated, it is a relatively secluded place and located on a top of a hill near Kerrville. The house has a very large living room/ dining room/kitchen. Everything was clean and very well maintained. Two bed rooms have a very comfortable queen sized bed and one of them had a large closet. So we did not encounter 'problems' that were described by one of the reviewers (I don't know what they were expecting from cottages for get away in Hill country, Four Seasons?). Breakfast was excellent as other reviewers unanimously indicated. The owners are very nice and friendly. They leave you alone, which is a good thing for getting away holidays. The second day we drove to Lost Maple State Park. The drive there was so beautiful, if you stay at this place, you must go there even jut for a short walk. The park is also one of the more beautiful state parks. If you enjoy a serious hiking, this is a good place. Kerrville (only a few minutes away) has several excellent restaurants including some decent Asian restaurants. Above all if you have a dog or two, this is an outstanding place.

Room Tip: Choose the 'The Retreat' if you have a dog or two.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sensei62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kerrville hotels
6.8 mi away
Inn of the Hills Hotel & Conference Center
4.1 mi away
Best Western Sunday House Inn
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Kerrville
Hampton Inn Kerrville
#1 of 14 in Kerrville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
4.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#8 of 14 in Kerrville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
4.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Kerrville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trail's End Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trail's End Guest House

Property: Trail's End Guest House
Address: Kerrville, TX
Location: United States > Texas > Kerrville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Kerrville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Trail's End Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Trail's End Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing