We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seen better days” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Y O Ranch Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Y O Ranch Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Kerrville
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Seen better days”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Decades ago, I loved this place. The hotel shows Texas pride in our history and ranching. I just returned from staying several days here and I am not sure that I will again. A friend of mine who has stayed here before brought her own comforter because those in the rooms have not been changed in decades. The room stayed humid no matter how the air conditioner was set. The 1970s decor needs to be updated. Late at night, guests let their children run up and down the halls screaming. This has happened before since this is a family oriented hotel. There are lots of good things about the Y O Hotel, but decor is not one of them. The lobby is fantastic, but needs more seating for the size of the hotel. The pool is great and convenient. I am saddened by the fact that I was embarrassed to bring a friend who was very disappointed in our room.

Room Tip: I have stayed in all buildings on the property over the years and they are much the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barbara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    84
    66
    35
    30
See reviews for
69
83
9
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We stayed at the Y O Ranch Resort for business for 5 nights. The room was clean, the bathroom was roomy, the shower was not bad. The restaurant was OK, but VERY overpriced. The bar was adequate, but be warned that smoking is allowed in the bar. We stay at this hotel every year about the same time each year. ONe of the biggest complaints we have every year is that there are VERY few working ice machines on the facility. I say very few WORKING ice machines. There are lots of machines, but only about half of them work. Has been that way for years. AC untis are VERY noisy. I will give a big shout out to one of the maintenance guys who went above and beyond when we have a problem with the TV.
Bottom line - the property is old and needs to be updated. It's nice, but could be GREAT! Skip the restaurant though.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces into the courtyard facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsPibb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Y O Ranch Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
I appreciate all the comments on the hotel. We are consistently trying to improve our hotel. We are currently replacing the older ice machines with brand new ones. Our lunch buffets have become one of the most popular among the locals in Kerrville. I urge you to come try our lunch buffet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed here memorial day weekend 2012. The hotel was quite full on Saturday, but was still comfortable and we had no problems with service. In fact the service at the YO is excellent. I had emailed a request and when we checked in she didn't think I got it, but when we got to our room there it was! We had room service twice and it arrived both times hot, fresh and ahead of the promised time. All of the staff was eager to serve. The AC in our room was a bit cold but that was easilly controlled. The pool was open and clean, the hot tub was hot and not too crowded. We enjoyed our stay at the YO and will stay there again.

Room Tip: Only the suites have refridgerator & microwave
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank campmomm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Y.O. Hotel in Kerrville for 5 days. We enjoyed seeing all the animals and artwork in the beautiful lobby. We ate several meals in their restaurant which was very good. We particularly liked this hotel and their rooms. We needed a wheelchair accessible room and the space provided in the room and restroom was sufficient. The tiled floors made it easy to get around. We will stay there again on our next visit.

Helpful?
Thank Musictchr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

A group of us stayed at this resort the last week in April. This is an older place. The rooms are a bit run down but very clean. The carpet in the hall ways are very worn looking. but loved the red clay tiles in the rooms. We upgraded to a king exec. room. The only difference in in our room and another was it was very large. lots of empty space. There was a mini refrigerator that kept our drinks only luke cool. The balcony was VERY small. So no sitting outside in the evening after a long ride. Was a little disappointed in the room. The pool area was great. Lots of places for us to sit around and visit. LOVED the deco in the lobby area!!! very beautiful...
We had the breakfast buffet coupons and enjoyed it very much!! the food was good and hot...We didn't visit the bar so can not comment on that.
Would I visit this resort again...Yes...the best part of it is its location....easy in and out and close to the downtown area and many of the resturants.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mscarla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerrville, Texas
Level Contributor
152 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Last week we spent four nights at the YO in Kerrville on a leisure trip. Here's why I'd choose it again:
* Location, location, location. Easy on-off access to I-10, 1.8 miles to downtown Kerrville, and walkable distance to shops and dining.
* Rate. Surprisingly low rate through online travel providers.
* Full service dining in their very nice Branding Iron restaurant, which is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
* Staff is friendly and courteous. They greet you warmly when you encounter them. Front desk staff are great.
* Very nice pool area, surrounded by many chaise lounges, allowing you to soak up the Texas sun or even sit in the shade on the deck.
* Nice lounge - Elm Waterhole Saloon. Live entertainment on weekends. The happy hour grub was substantial; included mini-sliders one night, chicken fingers, pulled pork mini-sandwiches.
* Historic hotel - built in 1984 as a tribute to the Y O Ranch outside of Kerrville which has been in operation since 1883. The decor is of the 1880s period and features a lot of native stone and 9' wide chandeliers.
* Gorgeous lobby with western theme touches, including massive standing stuffed bear.
* Nice gift shop with western trinkets and sundries.
* Free parking.
* Spacious sleeping rooms, most with small decks or balconies.
* Nice meeting rooms (although I didn't use one, this is a great venue for a meeting.)

Having said the "good stuff", here would be my suggestions to management:
* Mini-refrigerators would be great in the sleeping rooms, and there is plenty of room. This would be a great help to those staying more than overnight.
* The soft goods need updating. Redo the linens and especially the bedspreads.
* Redo the bathrooms. This is the main thing. Nice to have two sinks but they are vintage 80s.
* Replace the hallway carpets. They're ready to "bite the dust"!
* Replace the room numbers. They need it!
* Paint the front door - it is the first thing you see.

As you can see, these are all cosmetic issues. I've heard this hotel is part of the 1859 Historic Hotels group which also owns the Crockett and Menger in San Antonio. We also stayed at the Crockett and it is stunning. This property could be and should be the showpiece of the Hill Country. I hope renovations are in the near future.

Enjoy your stay at the Y.O. -- we did!

Room Tip: You might prefer an upstairs view overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ncftx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Spacious , stayed in the family room / suite ! Excepted our pup! Awesome decor , awesome lobby and restaurant.
Outside looks a little rustic but over hotel has character ! Definatley will be back!
Oh yah champagne brunch Sunday was the icing on the cake!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MonikaVM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kerrville hotels
2.9 mi away
Inn of the Hills Hotel & Conference Center
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sunday House Inn
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Kerrville
Hampton Inn Kerrville
#1 of 13 in Kerrville
4.5 of 5 stars 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Kerrville TX
Super 8 Kerrville TX
#3 of 13 in Kerrville
4.0 of 5 stars 371 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 13 in Kerrville
3.5 of 5 stars 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Y O Ranch Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Y O Ranch Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Y O Ranch Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 2033 Sidney Baker Street, Kerrville, TX 78028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Kerrville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Kerrville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Y O Ranch Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Western-themed hotel located in heart of Texas Hill Country with full service restaurant & Texas style saloon. Includes 11,000 square feet of meeting space & 190 sleeping rooms. Several styles of rooms with King, 2 Queen Beds, Family room & suites also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Y O Ranch Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
y o Ranch Hotel Kerrville
y o Ranch Hotel And Conference Center
y o Hotel
y o Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing