We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing”
Review of Cal-Bob's Smoke Shack - CLOSED

Cal-Bob's Smoke Shack
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating
Kerrville, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Cal-Bob's Smoke Shack is AMAZING!!! Not only is the BBQ great, Cal and Carol the owners make you feel like family when you go there. I highly recommend eating there when in KTown.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Calvin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    17
    5
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I'm a fan of this place, the food is good, is fresh and the lemonade is my favorite. The owners are very friendly and the service is good, place is clean.
Go visit you won't regret it!!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DanielaMohr84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerrville, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Barbecue”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Everything was delicious. We had barbecue beef, pork ribs and sausage. Don't miss the banana cream desert. Cal and Carol are great hosts and we will definitely be returning.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerrville, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic BBQ in Kerrville!”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

My wife and I have traveled all over this country sampling the best BBQ in America. We have done Carolina, Memphis, Kansas City and Texas style. We were pleasantly surprised to find some of the best BBQ anywhere is now in Kerrville. I waited until I had eaten there three or four times to make sure before I posted this review. Each time everything was fantastic. My personal favorites are the pulled pork sandwich and cilantro cole slaw. Amazing! Until we discovered CalBob's Smoke Shack, we had to drive over an hour to get good que. Now it's only five minutes from home. I would drive halfway across Texas just to eat at CalBob's. Just go north from I-10 on Highway 16 and CalBob's is just ahead on the left.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank donl111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Kids wanted to move here for the BBQ.”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

I used Tripadvisor To find Cal-Bos and so glad I did. The kids (ages 13, 18, and 18) we like OMG when they took the first bite. They had chopped beef a sandwiches. I had the smoked chicken breast. It was so tender that I was able to cut it with a plastic fork. I am not usually a potato salad person but the potato salad was out of this world yummy. Throughout the meal kids would joke around "will you delive 5 hours away". Finally they agreed that we should just move here so we could come eat anytime we wanted. My son says he won't go to our local BBQ place again because now he has had the best ever.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TxChickadee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cal-Bob's Smoke Shack also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing