We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just keeps getting better”
Review of Cafe at the Ridge

Cafe at the Ridge
Ranked #20 of 119 Restaurants in Kerrville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Cafe at The Ridge is a place to gather, not just around a plate of great food, but around each other. The Ridge offers a place to share stories over a glass of sweet tea and a chicken fried steak. All of our delicious family recipes are created using only the freshest of ingredients and are perfect for the whole family.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Just keeps getting better”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

I love the bakery their pies are the best. I hear they are gonna open I little garden thing that should be neat. The chef is very friendly although he claims not to be a chef just a modest cook he's very talented for being so young . Its worth the drive to try it

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kerrvillen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billy L, Owner at Cafe at the Ridge, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you very much for the kind words and your patronage. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    43
    14
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kerrville, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“This place is "cookin' "”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Many "ingredients" make up a restaurant, right? If I were to name one that must be right it would be anything related to baked goods. Yesterday morning it was the sourdough bread with breakfast and the piece of cake we took home "for later". The week before it was the whole wheat bread loaf taken home with the cookies for later. And all the menu dishes are tasty and fresh with nice portions and fair prices in this freshened up old quick stop and snack place. Its worth the scenic drive out Harper Road by Tierra Linda's entrance to do this. And something is being built next door - is this going to be an improved venue over the likes of Camp Verde? Well managed too. Do this on Sunday morning and start a road trip for the day - we did.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Wayne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billy L, Owner at Cafe at the Ridge, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. We greatly appreciate your business as well as the feedback. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerrville, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“WOW What a change”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

A goup of ladies in our parki went for lunch the food was great the service wasd good, there were all sorts of adorable salt and pepper shakers scattered around and on the table you could by, dident se any two alike. They also have a bakery where you can purchase delidious treats to go (brought Dannyhome a huge Cinnamon roll with a contaiiner of icing on the side) took him 2-3 sittings to eat the wgike thing, They are adding on a garden area not yet opened and a row of small shops.
Nicce drive out Harper Road just before Terra Linda on the right

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NanaWhip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billy L, Owner at Cafe at the Ridge, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. It is a pleasure to hear when we are doing something well and I will be sure to pass your comments on to our staff. Thank you again and we hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harper, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Much Improved!”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Third time eating here since they opened, the food was much better. Crowded and noisy at 1:00 on Wednesday, but greeted right away by hostess. Ordered the beef tenderloin salad, $9.99, which was plentiful and fresh. Others at the table ordered, burger/fries (although, the bun which had been grilled was burnt), said they were both good. Grill chicken salad, which was also plentiful and good. I like this place and think they will only get better and better with time. The food is made when you order so don't expect it fast, but the wait is reasonable.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ctb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic Meal!”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We found this restaurant on TripAdvisor and the reviews were good so we decided to try it out. We were extremely pleased! The place is WAY out on Harper Road off of IH10 West. It was quaint and quiet at 7:30 in the evening. They close early on weeknights (8pm). The waitstaff were very nice and greeted us immediately. The food was home-cooked and wonderfull! I had the beans and cornbread and it tasted like home. My husband's salisbury steak was divine! We bought a six pack of beer from the cooler and our waitress brought out ice cold mugs and kept the bottles in the freezer for us. If you are ever out at James Avery or even just in Kerville, you MUST visit this place. They are almost done with a huge expansion and they have live music on Fridays! And best of all, they are CHEAP! Our meal, with alcohol, was less than $40! Thanks for the great food, good company, and wonderful atmosphere!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shanngus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe at the Ridge also viewed

 

Been to Cafe at the Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing