We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Much Improved!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe at the Ridge

Cafe at the Ridge
Ranked #21 of 117 Restaurants in Kerrville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Cafe at The Ridge is a place to gather, not just around a plate of great food, but around each other. The Ridge offers a place to share stories over a glass of sweet tea and a chicken fried steak. All of our delicious family recipes are created using only the freshest of ingredients and are perfect for the whole family.
Harper, Texas
Level Contributor
110 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Much Improved!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

Third time eating here since they opened, the food was much better. Crowded and noisy at 1:00 on Wednesday, but greeted right away by hostess. Ordered the beef tenderloin salad, $9.99, which was plentiful and fresh. Others at the table ordered, burger/fries (although, the bun which had been grilled was burnt), said they were both good. Grill chicken salad, which was also plentiful and good. I like this place and think they will only get better and better with time. The food is made when you order so don't expect it fast, but the wait is reasonable.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ctb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    39
    12
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic Meal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

We found this restaurant on TripAdvisor and the reviews were good so we decided to try it out. We were extremely pleased! The place is WAY out on Harper Road off of IH10 West. It was quaint and quiet at 7:30 in the evening. They close early on weeknights (8pm). The waitstaff were very nice and greeted us immediately. The food was home-cooked and wonderfull! I had the beans and cornbread and it tasted like home. My husband's salisbury steak was divine! We bought a six pack of beer from the cooler and our waitress brought out ice cold mugs and kept the bottles in the freezer for us. If you are ever out at James Avery or even just in Kerville, you MUST visit this place. They are almost done with a huge expansion and they have live music on Fridays! And best of all, they are CHEAP! Our meal, with alcohol, was less than $40! Thanks for the great food, good company, and wonderful atmosphere!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shanngus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridge City, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Very good - will definitely go back.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

I had heard many good things about Cafe at the Ridge. My husband and I went on a Sunday afternoon, and it was quite crowded. We waited outside a few minutes for a table and then were seated by a very pleasant hostess. Once at our table there seemed to be some confusion as to who was our waiter, but after it was straightened out our service was very good. The meal was excellent (I had the Salisbury steak, my husband had the pinto beans and cornbread) and the servings were huge. Each plate would be enough for two people. There were several things on the menu that I'd like to go back and try. Also, the breakfast menu looked very good, so it is probably a good spot for breakfast out. Of course, we had to take a few cookies to go from the bakery case, and they were so good later that evening with a cold glass of milk. We will be returning to Cafe at the Ridge.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lljun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not what other reviewers found”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

The map through Trip Advisor was incorrect. It is north of I-10 a couple miles, not south of I-10 as the map shows. The hostess who seated us was nice and one of the two waitresses was helpful and pleasant. Sadly, ours wasn't pleasant nor helpful. In addition, our food wasn't what we expected based on other reviews. We ordered 3 sandwiches -- all were very bready. The fries were good, the fruit was good, the fried okra was not -- and there was no dipping sauce. 'Sorry -- the iced tea was watery, too. I would not recommend going out of your way to find this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelLady1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerrville, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“awesome food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

the food was great. worth trying for yourself. cooked fresh. save room for dessert, everything looked great from the bakery! nice prices too. table for 5 was $56. (2 kids)

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank christinebluemel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe at the Ridge also viewed

 

Been to Cafe at the Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing