We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun in the shade”

Kerrville-Schreiner Park
Ranked #5 of 23 things to do in Kerrville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A 500-acre park just off the shores of the Guadalupe River: great for fishing.
Galveston, Texas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Fun in the shade”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We didn't camp in the cabins, just came for a day of swimming in cool, clear water and relaxing under big trees. It was great to park, walk less than 50 feet to a spot at the water's edge and set up our HQ. No charcoal grills allowed but propane is OK. Lots of families. Easy kayak/canoe access, and if you forget supplies there's an HEB a few blocks outside the park.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ironista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    37
    15
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carrollton, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Awesome swimming hole!”
Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

This park was clean even as bandera's medina river was loaded with E. coli virus due to low levels of water . Schreiner was tested and came out clean. Warm water and easy access into water. I highly recommend it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Soccermommy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pflugerville, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice Views”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

The park is small and is basically a swimming location for some folks. The park itself has a nice atmosphere with the wooden walk bridge. There are ducks and they will come right up to you looking for food... Kinda noisy... lol.. The river is nice and the scenery is pretty...

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Flat Rock”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

I was headed up to Kerrville Folk life Festival this weekend and before I went my friend and I stopped off at Flat Rock to jump in the water. The park is nice and easier to get into the water from the side where you pay to get in. The price per person is about $4 each. That's not bad but we were trying to save money for the festival so there is another side you have to drive around to that is free. So that's where we went. It was nice. You can drive your car to a spot and park wherever you want to set up for pick nick or for the day. The only thing was you can't walk out into the water easily. It's kinda marshy so i jumped accross the weeds to get in. You just have to look at the area where you plan to make your spot. Enough tree's there for shade too if you don't want to be in the sun. Great for family or just with friends.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Inga S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerrville, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Great place to camp and be in nature usually deer there to say high closed during winter . Have never camped ther but have gone to see the deer when park is closed

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank NanaWhip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kerrville-Schreiner Park also viewed

 

Been to Kerrville-Schreiner Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing