We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Dinners in Kerrville”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of 1011 Bistro

1011 Bistro
Ranked #6 of 118 Restaurants in Kerrville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: 1011 Bistro, located right in the heart of the Texas Hill Country, has the most spectacular view of the Guadalupe River. You will find something in our menu for a special occasion, family gathering or just kicking back in our upstairs terrace. Our friendly staff will make your visit a special one. We're also open for lunch!
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
122 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best Dinners in Kerrville”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

We had the most amazing dinners tonight at 1011 Bistro. We had the mussels as an appetizer. One of us had the Oso Buco Special. Another had the lamb chops with pistachio pesto. Another had the seared Tuna. WOW!!!!!! Everything was absolutely wonderful. The wine pairings were perfect too. Sadly, we were too full to try any deserts. The service was terrific. Austin, our server, was very attentive. The owner came by several times to ask if we needed anything. And of course the view and the sunset were special.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluebonet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    43
    16
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Magnificently Charming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a beautiful, cozy, charming little Italian restaurant perched on a hill overlooking the Guadalupe River. The service was great, and my filet w/ cabernet sauce was delicious! The filet was cooked exactly as I had requested (medium rare).

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank mpracht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

We have been looking forward to eating at this restaurant for a while now. We finally stopped. But we found it did not live up to our expectations.First we couldnt decide who our waiter was.Then we ordered an appitizer of crap cakes, and we get planko cakes.We could hardly find any crap at all.And agian who is our waiter?We finally get our meal after waiting about 45 min.It was good till we found a hair in our plate.Soo the waiter that we finally figured out was our waiter takes it away. We sit patiently waiting for another plate.Another 45 min goes by he finally brings our ticket we asked for our plate that we thought was being prepared aaall this time. "Oooh i didnt realize you still wanted it" he replied. Very dissapointing! We will never go there again. Unles there is new management,new staff.cuz the view is amazing and atmosphere is nice

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank prisandvanland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomas V, Owner at 1011 Bistro, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
I'm so sorry that you had a bad experience here yesterday. We appreciate all feedback, good or bad, and that will help us work on our mistakes. We have a good crab cake recipe, and just had a staff meeting about actually following the recipes and not rushing through them.
Please contact me at valdestomas@hotmail.com or (210) 556-9299. I think you deserve your next lunch or dinner on the house, and I believe you will change your mind about us if you give us a second chance. Hope to hear back from you!
Tomas Valdes, owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerrville, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Promising New Management”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

Our first trip back since they changed management in November, 2012 shows great promise. Chef Tomas Valdez is serving a beautifully presented menu with something for everybody. The crab cakes were light and not highly spiced as so many are. My wife had the salmon which she praised and I had the veal piccata with angel hair pasta which was generous and as tasty as I've had anywhere. The restaurant is situated above the Guadalupe River with beautiful views from every table. Don't be put off by the unimposing exterior. We'll be returning soon.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fred W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Place on the River”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

The Best Restaurant in town with the best views of the river and it's the only restaurant over the
river. Great place to have a romantic dinner or meet with friends. Don't forget to ask for the Creame brulee for dessert.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hlugo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1011 Bistro also viewed

 

Been to 1011 Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing