We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff!”
Review of The Lakehouse

The Lakehouse
Ranked #12 of 119 Restaurants in Kerrville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American
Good for: Local cuisine
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great staff!”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

The people at this restaurant really make it! From the gentleman who greeted us with a smile to the waitress who was very attentive, this restaurant has a great atmosphere. We had catfish, sirloin steak and chicken. All the food was tasty -- including all the sides. Lots of locals dining here, along with those of us who are visitors. If we were staying longer, we'd go back again.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelLady1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    63
    25
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Temple, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A little over priced for few choices”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

I walked into this restaurant without knowing anything about it. It specializes in catfish, so the menu doesn't have much in the way of variety. I ordered the baked catfish, green beans, and baked potato. It arrived almost immediately. That combined with the overly-salty seasoning really gave the food a "cafeteria" taste. This restaurant also offers a drive-through service, so I was a little surprised at the pricing, but then again, I don't eat catfish that often, so maybe 10-15 bucks a plate is the going rate for such fare. Not a bad place really, just not what I was expecting.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank finkgarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerrville, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Never disappointed here.”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We frequent this lovely place often. Never had a bad meal in 7 yrs. The wait staff and greeters make you feel like they really are glad to see you when you go. Not everyone likes fried catfish and that's fine, so easier for us to get a table by the windows and watch the river.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank cee l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fried goodness”
Reviewed May 25, 2012

I love fried Clams and this is one of the only places to find them! Old Fashioned good service and good people!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank txlavenderlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Everything was OK until black beetle hit me on head and landed on table after finished eating - Eeeek!”
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Four of us all ordered 4 piece catfish. We finished eating and about to leave when felt something hit top of my head then huge black beetle fell and scampered across table. Didn't scream but scooted back away. My husband knocked it to floor and killed it. We told cashier. She said oh really? Then asked for amount to pay bill. No apology. Need to call exterminator.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TimeTravelerToo2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lakehouse also viewed

 

Been to The Lakehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing