We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small gem in Kerrvile”

The Museum of Western Art
Ranked #3 of 24 things to do in Kerrville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Museum of Western Art, formerly the Cowboy Artist of America Museum, is open Tuesday - Saturday 10:00 am to 4:00 pm. It is located 65 miles NW of San Antonio just off I-10, and is a short drive from downtown Kerrville. Larger-than-life style western bronzes dot the exterior grounds. There are several galleries inside (allow 90 minutes to go through), showcasing artwork by craftsmen and women who have devoted their artistic career to preserving the legends of the American West. Young children will enjoy the Journey West Children's Gallery, a hands-on interpretive experience of life on a wagon train. A small museum store sells prints and original art done by local artists along with other western memorabilia. An extensive western research library is on site as well. An annual art sale and exhibition is held each fall.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Have visited this small gem in Kerrville, TX several times in recent years. It has an excellent collection of paintings by contemporary Western artists and delightful, talkative, informative local area volunteers who fill in lots of information for you. Get them to tell you about the ceiling architecture, the wagons, and the saddles. Adults should be sure to check the exhibit for young visitors.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank OvertonP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andysimon1246, Vice-Chairman of the Board at The Museum of Western Art, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Thank you! We do appreciate that you came to visit us and then took time to write how much you've enjoyed our Museum.

You pointed out features we love to call attention to, our galleries, architecture, children's gallery and more. When visitors come, they are usually amazed at what we have here.

We hope the next time you travel to the Hill Country, you'll be back to see us. As you know, exhibits change throughout the year and there is always something new.

Have a nice summer!

Andy Simon
Vice-Chairman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (260)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"mesquite wood"
in 7 reviews
"on display"
in 14 reviews
"chuck wagon"
in 6 reviews
"gift shop"
in 12 reviews
"wonderful paintings"
in 4 reviews
"rainy day"
in 7 reviews
"native americans"
in 3 reviews
"stage coach"
in 3 reviews
"brick ceiling"
in 3 reviews
"hill country"
in 14 reviews
"lovely setting"
in 3 reviews
"well worth the visit"
in 3 reviews
"worth a trip"
in 3 reviews
"high quality"
in 4 reviews
"san antonio"
in 4 reviews
"wonderful place to visit"
in 3 reviews
"docent"
in 37 reviews
Filter

171 - 175 of 260 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2014

Wonderful to see saddles made by all western greats. Especially my grandfather, Lewis Smith. My kids also enjoyed the rest of the museum

Thank large5indian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andysimon1246, Vice-Chairman of the Board at The Museum of Western Art, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

How wonderful to read your comments about finding a saddle designed by your grandfather. That is so exciting to hear - and precisely the reason we exist - to preserve the very special western heritage for future generations to enjoy.

Thank you for taking time to visit the museum and we hope you'll come back again. Our exhibits often change and showcase amazing talents.

Sincerely,

Andy Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Good collection of paintings and sculpture of cowboys in the west. Very interesting building architecture. Art being changed over when we were there, so will have to return to see the permanent collection. Docent very helpful.

Thank HoustonRobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andysimon1246, Vice-Chairman of the Board at The Museum of Western Art, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Thank you! We appreciate the time you took to write a review on your visit.

We're sorry we were in the process of changing things over just at the time you came. We appreciate your indulgence that it takes time to put up a new exhibit and hope that you can come back again to see it before it closes on May 24.

Thank you also for the comments on our volunteer docent. We are so fortunate to have so many great people dedicated to the preservation of western art.

Best regards,

Andy Simon for
Museum of Western Art

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

If you like Western Art and Texas History, then a trip to the Museum of Western Art in Kerrville is a must. Spend an hour or two viewing the galleries, speaking with knowledgeable guides, and shopping in the gift shop.

Thank Runner208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andysimon1246, Vice Chairman of the Board at The Museum of Western Art, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Thanks so much for writing about your recent visit. We're glad you made the trip up and were able to see all we have to offer.

You're right - we do have a lot of treasures here in the form of artwork depicting our western heritage. Our exhibits do change, so we hope you'll stay in touch on our Facebook page and learn what's new.

Again, we appreciate your comments.

Andy Simon for
Museum of Western Art

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

Very nice western museum! Older gentleman who worked there helped us! Loved the children's section love the clothes you could put on! Very nice art and sculptures' overall awesome place

Thank Karoline Korene T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andysimon1246, Vice Chairman of the Board at The Museum of Western Art, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Thank you! We're so pleased you had time to visit us recently and to hear your comments about the museum.

We're glad you enjoy our exhibit area and so pleased that our children's Journey West gallery was a hit! It is fun!

Hopefully you heard that our exhibits do change, so we hope you'll return again. Stay up to date with our Facebook page or sign up on our web page for emails.

Again, thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Museum of Western Art also viewed

 

Been to The Museum of Western Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing