We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WONDERFUL STOP”

The Museum of Western Art
Ranked #4 of 24 things to do in Kerrville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Museum of Western Art, formerly the Cowboy Artist of America Museum, is open Tuesday - Saturday 10:00 am to 4:00 pm. It is located 65 miles NW of San Antonio just off I-10, and is a short drive from downtown Kerrville. Larger-than-life style western bronzes dot the exterior grounds. There are several galleries inside (allow 90 minutes to go through), showcasing artwork by craftsmen and women who have devoted their artistic career to preserving the legends of the American West. Young children will enjoy the Journey West Children's Gallery, a hands-on interpretive experience of life on a wagon train. A small museum store sells prints and original art done by local artists along with other western memorabilia. An extensive western research library is on site as well. An annual art sale and exhibition is held each fall.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Had been here years ago when it was the Cowboy Artists of America museum and it has transformed itself into a true museum of western art. The bronzes were amazing. Enjoyed the various galleries. Docent explained some of the interesting facts about the construction as well as some of the artwork. Very friendly staff. Well worth the stop.

Thank HARRY M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andysimon1246, Vice-Chairman of the Board at The Museum of Western Art, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Thank you! We're so pleased you enjoyed your visit here! You had a long way to travel, all the way from Oregon, and do know we really enjoy introducing our guests from around the country to our galleries and grounds.

We'll be sure to pass on your compliments about our docents. They are true pros and really help people understand even more the wonders of the artists.

Hoping the rest of your trip went well and that one day when you're back in the Hill Country, you'll stop in to see us. And...you can sign up for our newsletter at the bottom of our website - and follow us on Facebook!

Kind Regards,

Andy Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (260)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"mesquite wood"
in 7 reviews
"on display"
in 14 reviews
"chuck wagon"
in 6 reviews
"gift shop"
in 12 reviews
"wonderful paintings"
in 4 reviews
"rainy day"
in 7 reviews
"native americans"
in 3 reviews
"stage coach"
in 3 reviews
"brick ceiling"
in 3 reviews
"hill country"
in 14 reviews
"lovely setting"
in 3 reviews
"well worth the visit"
in 3 reviews
"worth a trip"
in 3 reviews
"high quality"
in 4 reviews
"san antonio"
in 4 reviews
"wonderful place to visit"
in 3 reviews
"docent"
in 37 reviews
Filter

184 - 188 of 260 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2014

We called on our way through town and they were closed, however they said they would wait for us if we could make it over. Well 25 minutes later they were still there waiting for us. I have never met such nicer people. They went out of their way to walk us around each room and explaining the art and artist. They even let us go into the vault to see all of the various bronze sculptures. We even met artist Jason Scull. What a fantastic museum operated by fantastic people. Thank you, thank you, thank you!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andysimon1246, Vice-Chairman of the Board at The Museum of Western Art, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Thank you so much for taking time to comment about your visit to the museum. It was our pleasure indeed to have you come through after hours, and we're so glad we were here to do that since you were just passing through. Your enthusiasm for western art made it very special for us to take time and talk with you....and to give you a "sneak peek" at other parts of our collection which are not on display.

We hope when you do come back, you'll make another stop since we do change our exhibits. And...if you're a Facebook fan, we invite you to stay in touch and updates with our reasons to come back.

Hope the rest of your trip was enjoyable and best regards,

Andy Simon
Vice-Chairman of the Board
Museum of Western Art

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

When in Kerrville, You HAVE to visit this wonderful local museum. The Bronze work is amazing. Many of the paintings give you a true taste of the west . The Staff are wonderful and our docent made it special.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Nancy-Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andysimon1246, Vice-Chair of the Board at The Museum of Western Art, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

We sure appreciate your kind words following your recent visit to see us. Thank you so much
for your enthusiasm over our artwork and bronzes. It's always heartwarming when people appreciate the skills and time put into our pieces by our fabulous artists.

Since you're not far from us, we hope you'll come back soon. And...on April 26, we'll be having our Spring RoundUp Sale, our gala event of dining, entertainment and art for sale by amazing western artists. See details on our website, MuseumofWesternArt.com.

Again, we thank you - and we'll pass on your compliments to our treasured volunteer docents.

Andy Simon
Vice-Chairman of the Board
Museum of Western Art

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We went to this museum because I thought an art show we wanted to see was displayed there. It was at another location but we took a tour of this museum anyway. It had some beautiful sculptures and paintings.

Thank Cindy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ncftx, Vice Chairman of the Board at The Museum of Western Art, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Thank you so much for taking time to review your visit to the museum. We're glad you found us, despite the fact it wasn't the art show you had started out looking for.

So pleased you enjoyed our beautiful collection of bronzes and western art. Although these pieces are part of our permanent collect, we do rotate throughout the year, so we hope you'll return on your next visit to Kerrville.

Many thanks again and kind regards,

Andy Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2014

This excellent museum is located near the edge of town, so a car would be necessary to get there if staying in Kerrville. We were greeted at the door, charged a very reasonable fee ($7, 6$ with AAA or senior discount) and introduced to our docent who oriented us to the museum and then let us explore and view the collections on our own. She continued to check back in with us now and then to see if we had any questions. The whole museum is on one floor, so easy access. There is a central hallway with sculptures, three large galleries with sculptures and paintings, an excellent children's room, a modest gift shop and a library. There are three large sculptures outside and in back several buildings they use for classes and special events. It's just the right size for an hour or two without tiring you out. Pictures are allowed in the central hallway of the sculptures and historical items there, but not in the galleries.

The collection of traditional Western painting and bronze or stone sculpture is inspiring and of excellent quality. It imparts a deeper appreciation of the local landscape, culture and history through art. It is about 2/3 about cowboys, and 1/3 about Native Americans and a bit about Mexican and Spanish culture. The collection rotates every few months.

The children's room is divided into several cozy areas and tells the story of a family of pioneers through the eyes of a child. It's one of the best children's rooms I've seen. There are many artifacts to handle and costumes to dress up in. The engaging narrative is a story told through the journal of the child, and is written in cursive, so an adult may be necessary to read the story to younger children. It's interesting for adults too.

The building itself, though not impressive on the outside, is contemporary and beautifully constructed on the inside with native materials and methods.

Thank LenoreH588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ncftx, Vice Chairman of the Board at The Museum of Western Art, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

What a wonderful in-depth review you wrote! Thank you so much for taking time to help others on TripAdvisor understand why we're a definite "must do" stop in Kerrville.

We do appreciate that you enjoyed the facility, our fabulous permanent collection of western art and bronzes and our entertaining yet educational children's gallery. We also have an extensive research library on the west.

You're a long way away in Florida, but should your travels bring you back here, we hope you'll stop in again. And....we do have a Facebook page and would love to have you stay up to date with our activities.

Thanks again and kind regards,

Andy Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Museum of Western Art also viewed

 

Been to The Museum of Western Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing