We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Delightful Small Art Museum”

Kerr Arts & Cultural Center Inc.
Ranked #6 of 22 things to do in Kerrville
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Kerrville, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A Delightful Small Art Museum”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Located in downtown Kerrville, the Kerr Arts & Cultural Center (KACC) is a gem. It is free to view the exhibits, which are constantly changing. It has a nice shop, featuring work from local artists.

Today, they were hosting the Southwest Gourd Art Show. I always try to make that one. I am absolutely amazed at the artists' creativity and imagination. The show gives you an entirely new perspective on a simple gourd!

The museum is not large, so it can be viewed in a short time. It is well worth a look if you are in downtown Kerrville. Check the website for current exhibitions. Next door is the historical Schreiner Mansion Museum, but that is another story.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cowgirl10_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    21
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Odessa, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice Exhibit”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

The center had the American Plains Artist Annual Show displayed. It was a well rounded show. The staff was nice and helpful.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cindy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
401 reviews
111 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Interesting galleries!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Enjoyed looking at the artwork on display. My daughter especially enjoyed the fluorescent minerals display in a small room. There's no admission fee.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelIntl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, CA
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Center has several sizeable galleries with temporary exhibitions. When we were there in late March 2013, there were two very interesting shows. The first consisted of sketches and finished paintings of scenes in Italy by a local artist. The sketches were done in water color and had fascinating handwritten notes by the painter, presumably to help in preparing the final paintings. The finished paintings had more vivid colors, with acrylic or oil paint (without the notes, of course). The other exhibit was a series of commercial posters done by a relatively famous artist (unknown to me, though). Both exhibitions were most enjoyable, even if they weren't on the very highest level found in elite big-city museums. Besides the two exhibitions, there was some nice jewelry and other miscellaneous stuff for sale. Worth a few hours if you're in Kerrville.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Californian382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“MORE THAN EXPECTED”
Reviewed April 22, 2012

We visited this Center with my wife during a short trip to Kerrville. We found that the facilities were much more than what we expected. The exibition was presented professionaly and the information desk and the voluteer in charge were very polite and good informed.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank MeryandLeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kerr Arts & Cultural Center Inc. also viewed

 

Been to Kerr Arts & Cultural Center Inc.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing