We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect - Sumptuously stylish, fabulously friendly”
Review of The Old Rectory

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old Rectory
Ranked #1 of 1 Kildale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Perfect location when walking Cleveland Way.

Bedrooms and bathrooms beautiful. A stunning home in lovely grounds.

Great breakfast.

Excellent Host - Ian. He was welcoming, helpful, informative and funny (in a good way!)

Would return in a heartbeat and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sjanmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 76 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2014

This is a great place to stay, especially if you are walking the Cleveland Way as there are very few places to stay around Kildale, a recognised end-of-stage on the Way. Ian runs the place and is very welcoming and offers to drive you to a decent pub for your evening meal. The place is tastefully decorated throughout - in fact I could find only one thing to object to: the curtains in the non-ensuite bathroom are wrong in every sense, wrong colour, wrong size, wrong sash. Otherwise, everything hunky-dory, including delicious breakfast.
P.S. there's also an ensuite bathroom.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nigel a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Booked, The Old Rectory so that my husband and I could take a trip down memory lane in whitby. I'm sure what ever I put here will not do this B&B justice, but I will try ! the host Ian met us as the car pulled into his driveway, welcomed us and asked if he could help with the bags. as if we were family friends. The house inside is beautiful and a very warm atmosphere. the room was very clean and the bed was very soft and comfy. the host Ian and his family made us very welcome and was more than happy to point us in the right direction to good restaurants in the area and good places to visit. The breakfast was more than enough for any appetite and pleasing to the eye as well as the stomach! Overall we had a wonderful stay and will stay here again when we are next in the area. YOU will not be disappointed with the Old Rectory

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Brandymate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

A beautiful old house refurbished to a very high standard.
Ian,the host,is very friendly and wonderfully accommodating.
Excellent rooms and lovely breakfast.
Will definitely return and stay in the annexed lodge.
Hightrecommended as a base tto tour the north yYorkshire moors

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nicco27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Stayed here for two nights in February.

The house is delightful, the rooms sumptuous and the breakfast is staggeringly good. All rooms are spotless and guests are even provided with fresh milk for their rooms.

Tip: Take note of Ian's directions as my satnav took me past this brilliant B&B. I was visiting relations in Middlesbrough and will definitely use this place again on my next visit.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dadstheman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Stayed here for two nights while attending a course in Stokesley, which was an easy 15 minute drive away. Very friendly owner, who was a pleasure to chat to and called ahead to warn me of a local road that had flooded before I arrived. The room I stayed in was large with a King bed and an excellent bathroom and hot, powerful shower. There is free wi-fi which was fast and makes a real difference. Breakfast in the morning was home-cooked and excellent, watched by the hens outside the door! Really have no criticisms and would stay again without hesitation - highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alwayswander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Very nice big room with very nice high quality shower. It was all very clean and we were given plenty of tea/coffee/milk/kettle etc.

The breakfast was very nice using his own hens eggs and the owner is very flexible on the breakfast times.

Owner was very friendly and helpful and gave us lots of useful information about the local area (including maps/books which you can borrow while you're staying there as well)

There are lots of B&B's in the area and we were slightly worried that staying here in one of the 'cheaper' ones would be a problem but it exceeded all our expectations and we would definately stay here again in the future if we went back to the area.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank flashsam7267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Old Rectory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory

Address: The Old Rectory Station Road, Kildale, Great Ayton YO21 2RQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Great Ayton > Kildale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kildale
Price Range: $45 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Rectory 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Old Rectory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing