We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What everyone else says...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Old Rectory

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Old Rectory
Ranked #1 of 1 Kildale B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“What everyone else says...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

Stayed here for two nights in February.

The house is delightful, the rooms sumptuous and the breakfast is staggeringly good. All rooms are spotless and guests are even provided with fresh milk for their rooms.

Tip: Take note of Ian's directions as my satnav took me past this brilliant B&B. I was visiting relations in Middlesbrough and will definitely use this place again on my next visit.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dadstheman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
41
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

Stayed here for two nights while attending a course in Stokesley, which was an easy 15 minute drive away. Very friendly owner, who was a pleasure to chat to and called ahead to warn me of a local road that had flooded before I arrived. The room I stayed in was large with a King bed and an excellent bathroom and hot, powerful shower. There is free wi-fi which was fast and makes a real difference. Breakfast in the morning was home-cooked and excellent, watched by the hens outside the door! Really have no criticisms and would stay again without hesitation - highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alwayswander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
289 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

Very nice big room with very nice high quality shower. It was all very clean and we were given plenty of tea/coffee/milk/kettle etc.

The breakfast was very nice using his own hens eggs and the owner is very flexible on the breakfast times.

Owner was very friendly and helpful and gave us lots of useful information about the local area (including maps/books which you can borrow while you're staying there as well)

There are lots of B&B's in the area and we were slightly worried that staying here in one of the 'cheaper' ones would be a problem but it exceeded all our expectations and we would definately stay here again in the future if we went back to the area.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flashsam7267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

Amazing house and really lovely host, who even picked us up from the train station! We walked the Cleveland way back to Saltburn the next morning where we'd left the car. Think they made us feel a bit too welcome as we were v late leaving to cover the 12 miles back the coast. Great last minute weekend break.
Faultless, would recommend!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow on Humber
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed the one night and were very happy with this establisment. The welcome was warm and friendly and the house stunning. Situated in a quiet village this is ideal for walkers and business folk alike. The the room was large and comfortable and the bath room luxurious. Breakfast was excellent with pleasant company. we will definately plan this stop in when we next walk in the area

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

We walked the Cleveland Way in August and this was our favourite overnight stop. Ian went out of his way to make our whole stay special: he gave us and a friend we'd been walking with a great welcome, drove us to a local pub for dinner and picked us up afterwards and served an excellent breakfast (complete with beautiful pastel blue boiled egg and an ingenious boiled egg top cutter!). Like other reviewers we enjoyed everything about our stay from our spacious double bedroom and ensuite bathroom to Ian's sense of humour. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

I stayed here during my walk of the Cleveland Way in September 2013 and this was the best accommodation along the route. Arrived after a day of non stop rain and Ian ensured the fireplace was and placed a clothes rack in front of the fire so our clothes could dry. Room and bathroom were modern and very clean and breakfast in the morning was excellent. In the evening they kindly drove us to the nearest town for food and a drink which was great. All in all an excellent stay, great house, breakfast and host! Highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GARETH H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kildale
4.3 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,412 reviews
4.3 mi away
Wainstones Hotel
Wainstones Hotel
#1 of 1 in Great Broughton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
5.3 mi away
Chapters Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Cross Keys By Good Night Inns
8.0 mi away
Rudby Hall
Rudby Hall
#1 of 1 in Hutton Rudby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Treebridge Hotel
The Treebridge Hotel
#5 of 11 in Middlesbrough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory

Property: The Old Rectory
Address: The Old Rectory Station Road, Kildale, Great Ayton YO21 2RQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Great Ayton > Kildale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kildale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Rectory 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Old Rectory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing