We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My Perfect B & B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Rectory

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Old Rectory
Ranked #1 of 1 Kildale B&B and Inns
Sheffield
Level Contributor
445 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“My Perfect B & B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

What more can you want than a beautiful house, fantastic bedroom and bathroom, brilliant host and a perfect breakfast. Next time we visit Whitby, we shall be staying here and catching the train from the nearby station. This place is FAB-U-LOUS!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SheffieldPip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
41
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Forest Row, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

We had a great stay in the charming Old Rectory. Ian is a perfect host going out of his way to make your stay a pleasant one. The rooms are tastefully decorated and comfortable. The ensuite shower possibly the best in the whole of the UK.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarctK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

The Old Rectory has left us speechless! We stayed in the self-catered house with our dog and what a treat! Gorgeous house, gorgeous area--great for long walks (especially with a dog). Owners are warm and friendly and make you feel right at home. If you decide to come stay here, you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

whilst looking for a couple of days away my wife stumbled upon this little gem.rooms were neat and comfortable Ian was a brilliant host breakfast was magnificent.not to far from Whitby .there is also a railway station in the village.Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
171 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

I stayed at the Old Rectory at the end of May. The Old Rectory is located in the town of Kildale in the Yorkshire Dales. The B&B was fantastic. The room was extremely comfortable with a great bed and very spacious rrom. The bathroom was luxurious with added touches that made it feel like home. The owners made us feel welcome and recommended a local pub to eat at and gave us a lot of local information. Breakfast was great.

The is a superior bed and breakfast where you are made to feel at home.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

A week ago, we, a group of five, stayed in this excellent B&B for one night during our hiking on the clevenland way. This B&B is superb for the following reasons:
1), great hospitality from the owner: Ian is really a nice person and he makes our stay as easy as possible;
2), cosy rooms and nice house: there is even a big bathtub if you need to relax yourself;
3), quiet environment ensures a sound sleep

Definitely worth recommendation!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yanbo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed here one night when walking the Cleveland Way. The owner was welcoming and didn't mind our wet coats and boots! We had a beautiful bedroom and the breakfast was delicious. The local cafe was closed - it closes on Thursdays - so Ian drove us into Great Ayton and collected us later. He couldn't have been more helpful. The Rectory is a beautiful building and has a wonderful restful feel to it. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kildale
4.3 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,377 reviews
5.3 mi away
Chapters Hotel and Restaurant
4.3 mi away
Wainstones Hotel
Wainstones Hotel
#1 of 1 in Great Broughton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Cross Keys By Good Night Inns
11.3 mi away
Judges Country House Hotel
Judges Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kirklevington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
8.0 mi away
Rudby Hall
Rudby Hall
#1 of 1 in Hutton Rudby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory

Property: The Old Rectory
Address: The Old Rectory Station Road, Kildale, Great Ayton YO21 2RQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Great Ayton > Kildale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kildale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Rectory 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, Travelocity and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your The Old Rectory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing