We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Clipper House Inn
Nearby Hotels
$154
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Boardwalk Inn(Kemah)
$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
QualityInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
South Shore Harbour Resort and Conference Center(League City)(Great Value!)
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (240)
Filter reviews
240 results
Traveler rating
205
20
5
6
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
205
20
5
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsflying cloudcakebottle of wineromance cottagemy husband and iget awayclear creek winerybed and breakfastwithin walking distancegarden areakemah boardwalkfresh fruitone of a kindbanana breadcelebrating our anniversarygrape vinesmorning coffee
Filter
Updating list...
103 - 108 of 240 reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2014

I have booked the room at the last minute and enjoyed it. I stayed with my husband and two other friends. The challenge is great for one couple and two other people/ kids. In the description they say that they can pull a portable bed. But, it would be very intimate. I don't suggest you to stay five!!
When we arrived it was after 5 and inkeeper was already gone. But, she was so nice and gave me the directions that we could go in our room easily. It was very clean and cake and fruit were tasty.There is no breakfast other than the fruit and cake as well as coffee which you can make in your own room. We expected some breakfast but not a big deal!! The doors are little hard to open. We thought that the door opening to the alcove area was locked but actually it was just stuck.
The garden area is very well kept. It is really relaxing. There is a winery and restaurant behind the inn that we enjoyed different wines. There is also the steak house owned by same people. But, we didn't try. We found two discount coupons for free appetizers in some restaurants on the board walk. We were craving salt and went to Red, a sushi restaurant. It was a great experience and we had our free appetizers there.
Overall I would suggest Clipper Inn for your trip to Kemah. You will have the real experience of board walk and still be away from the noise!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meltem B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

My wife and I decided to go to Kemah for the evening and celebrate our 32nd wedding anniversary. Upon arrival we were shown to our cottage and found homemade bread and a bottle of wine with our name printed on the label to celebrate our aniv. It was a fantastic evening and the Clipper House was relaxing for us both. It is so close to the Boardwalk. We hope to go back and do this again. We would like to go and actually take the tour of the winery which we did not get to do this time

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiberman1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Clipper Inn. We stayed at the Romance Cottage and were greeted by Barabara and Jerry with a nice smile and hello. If you are looking for a romantic oasis surrounded by a great and entertaining night life, this is the place for you. We were provided a bowl of fruit, as well as home made wine bread while we were there. The full body shower was a nice surprise, and the complimentary wine tasting and tour were a great addition to the experience. We plan on returning to the Clipper house Inn and encourage anyone looking for a B&B to take advantage of this unique setting.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OUHDSOFHO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Before I booked this stay, I read a good portion of the reviews and we were very excited about staying here. Needing a close to Houston getaway, it seemed to be a great option. Unfortunately, we quickly felt like we were being ripped off. We stayed in The Flying Cloud. I was not surprised by the "old house" smell, because it is an old cottage. However, there were many disappointments with the room.

First - the goods - walking distance to the boardwalk and water. The tasting room at the winery was a nice way to begin our stay, the 2-person Jacuzzi tub (although buttons were missing and the stopper didn't work without a manual cover).

The bads -

Due to the weather, we stayed in the first night.. unfortunately, we learned the "satellite tv" only carried local channels. Normally, this would not bother me, but their website claims satellite.. just because your signal comes from a dish does not make it better than digital rabbit ears if you only provide local channels. We also read online each room had a DVD player and ours did, however, it did not work. The internet connection was also a problem. It was definitely not high speed and the wifi signal would drop or not maintain connection consistently. Since the innkeepers are not on the property except to check you in and out, we could not get assistance until the next day. The weather improved so it became less important. But when you pay $250 a night for a room, you expect things to work.

The room only had 2 pillows, and they were very big and hard, so big, I couldn't use mine for sleeping. The bed was too soft and I woke up both mornings with a back ache. They have an old coffee maker, cream is not fresh. In the fridge, they supplied 2 sodas and 2 waters for our stay. This is extremely minimal, and I consider this bordering on fraudulent to advertise. Having traveled extensively (20 + countries), we both are accustomed to bottled water in the room, so when I read online that sodas and waters are complimentary, I expected more.

The breakfast part of the B & B is practically nonexistent, a couple of pieces of cake and days old fruit. Not exactly sure how they can categorize themselves as a B & B. My bet is the Holiday Inn provides a better breakfast from 6-10am. We ended up going to IHOP up the road for breakfast and another stop for coffee at Starbucks. It would have been great to enjoy some breakfast and coffee on the covered porch had they actually provided something worthy to be called breakfast. Additionally, window panes on the covered porch were broken, so it made it very cold and windy. I can imagine how mosquito infested this will become in the summer.

As far as the service goes, well, there was little to no service whatsoever. The room was not cleaned while we were there, not even to empty trash. beds were left undone and towels were not refreshed. The innkeeper did bring in 2 pieces of wine cake. If this was meant to be the next day's "breakfast" it was an extremely poor attempt. Additionally, the website states a breakfast basket would be delivered to the room each morning. I'm not sure the innkeeper was even on site the first morning of our stay.

When asked about the problems with the room, the innkeeper, Barbara, responded with "we don't do that because of the cost". Really???? What on earth are you spending your business' income on? It's certainly not your guests, that was very clear to us, which leads me to my last and most important "Bad". I expect much better service and actual amenities when I spend that much money for a room. We will not be back and I will share my opinion of this establishment with others planning to stay in Kemah.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank HT0917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

My husband and I love the Winery so we decided to try the Clipper House for a relaxing couples get away. Barbara was very helpful in making the reservations and when we arrived she filled us in on the accommodations and the restaurants she enjoys. The rooms were clean, the bed in "The Elissa" was very comfortable and the towels and robes were very nice. All the accomodations (TV, fridge,Jacuzzi,coffee pot, etc...) were in good working order with directions for use, if needed. The fruit and coffee were fresh, the cakes were absolutely the best (I could have enjoyed a lot more of the “wine cake”)! We love their wine so we loved the wine tasting and the cheese tray. Everyone was helpful and friendly and they just left us to rest and enjoy ourselves. We both left feeling refreshed and decided staying at the Clipper House is something we definitely will be doing again! Jim and Nancy.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SassyMom0508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews