We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Le Girls Sondra, Nan,and Nadine”
Review of Clipper House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kemah
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Clipper House Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Kemah B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 10, 2013

There were 3 of us. We needed a little R & R. Could not have picked a better place Our room had a wonderful deck for morning coffee and conversation, anytime thru the day conversation, and evening relaxation and conversation. As you probably have guessed a lot of catching up to do.

Barbara is an excellent hostess and can give you all of the information you could possibly want on the area. Places to eat, shop, and knowledgeable about the Boardwalk. They have a winery and a wonderful restaurant on site. Each of the rooms have there own unique decorations. Barbara had cakes and nut breads along with fruit and beverages in the room for us..

This was our second trip and it was a wonderful place for us to go and just relax and enjoy our friendship. Would highly recommend The Clipper House Inn.

Room Tip: Actually you can tell Barbara what you or looking for and let her recommend the right room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sondra V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (231)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 231 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night in the Mont Blanc cottage and Barbara was a wonderful host. We arrived late and she drove down to check us in. The room was great, Barbara gave us wine cake which was delicious. The breakfast was lovely too. I also totally recommend t-bone toms for food. Best steak we had in Texas!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Tam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Mont Blanc. It was a nice room, but the shower was small and the shower head was right above you. We were able to walk to the boardwalk and watch the boats. Barbara was very kind and welcoming. There is not the typical B&B breakfast. Instead, there is a bowl of fruit and muffins in the room to eat the next morning. There was fresh cake and water and soda in the fridge there to welcome us to our room. The landscaping and grounds were beautiful. We very much enjoyed our experience and would stay there again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bethlee_05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Just left The Clipper House Inn in Kemah this past Saturday, July 20, 2013!!!
The Most AWESOME experience for 9 of us ladies!!! It was our Annual Cousins Retreat and we rented four of the cottages-----The Flying Cloud and The Challenge which nicely took care of 5 of us---two sisters in the main room (King Bed) Flying Cloud and two sisters in the twin bed room--- and one cousin in The Challenge---which really could of slept 6 comfortably--super great beds and nice sheets ----plenty of room with 2 full baths --kitchen area was GREAT with a neat screened in back porch for morning coffee. Full size refrigerator and TV's in the bedrooms.
The other two cottages----Also very spacious---The Cutty Sark---complete with kitchen area---nice front porch with porch swing and bed also excellent in both this cottage and The Mount Blanc. Barbara who I began working with back in February is just so nice and very pleasant to work with and very helpful as we wanted to enjoy some local restaurants of seafood and she gave a super place-----Top Water Grill---we loved it---believe me pleasing 9 women can be a task and The Clipper House Inn is definitely the only way to go with lots of beautifully landscaped courtyard and gazebo area--fountains, lily pond and plants and birds galore--walking distance to The Boardwalk---and just a few steps down to the waterfront!!! Loved it Loved it and Loved it some more--take my advice and book your next getaway with Clipper House Inn for a very stress free time. Just can't say enough good things about this place--definitely rated very highly in my book of B&B's---we have stayed at several and this was the BEST by far!!!

Room Tip: Loved the Four Cottages ---The Flying Cloud, The Challenge, The Cutty Sark and The Mount Blanc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

My family stayed here two nights in the Challenge cottage. It has two bedrooms, perfect for a family of four. It was a pleasant stay. I liked sitting on the deck in the morning and drinking my coffee. They do have a fruit and muffin/bread basket each morning, but if you are hungry, this will not suffice. :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank proudmarinemom06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed in Romance which is small but very clean & comfy for two. Free wine & cheese tasting at winery on site included. Wonderful homemade cakes, muffins, fruit, and a bottle of birthday wine made my birthday special. Barbara offered great tips for local food and fun.

PRO: Gracious hosts provide lots of TLC throughout the property. Great location withing walking distance to everything Kemah.

CON: One less chair (there are 5!) and one small chest of drawers would be helpful in this small cottage. Not sure why second nite was more expensive than first nite since we were the only guests on the property during mid-week, but we felt safe all alone.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TbSb_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Romance, and thoroughly loved it! The ambiance of the grounds were very nice with the gardens surrounding the premises and the grapevines for the winery also. It is practically right behind T-Bone Tom's so on the weekends you can enjoy the bands from the garden area without dealing with the crowds, and had our own private dance area to boot. Barbara is a wonderful hostess from the set up of the room to the overall warmth of her personalized service. The only complaint we had with the romance is the lack of control of the thermostat, there is none, but in saying that they keep it comfortable inside. Other than that we LOVED it and plan on a weekend trip there soon but with a bigger cottage to really relax and take in the whole Kemah experience and enjoy the garden dance again soon.

Room Tip: They are all an excellent choice!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tex311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kemah
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Kemah (near boardwalk)
0.4 mi away
Boardwalk Inn
Boardwalk Inn
#1 of 5 in Kemah
620 reviews
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Kemah
Days Inn Kemah
#3 of 5 in Kemah
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston Space Center-Clear Lake
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Houston NASA-Johnson Space Center
4.7 mi away
Extended Stay America - Houston - NASA - Johnson Space Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clipper House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clipper House Inn

Address: 710 Bradford Ave, Kemah, TX 77565-2959
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Kemah
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Kemah
Price Range: $99 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clipper House Inn is located in the heart of Kemah only blocks from the Boardwalk and marina. We feature private cottages with luxurious amenities designed to provide a relaxing getaway. Our on-site winery offers award-winning wines and a great experience while staying at the B&B. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing