We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Fun family place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Joe's Crab Shack

Joe's Crab Shack
Ranked #49 of 70 Restaurants in Kemah
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fun family place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

It is as expensive as Red Lobster but it is a more family friendly atmosphere. The food wasnt bad but I was the only person that liked it in my family. The waiters are friendly and even do a song and dance. I liked it and would like to return.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank COOKIEDULCE5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    19
    19
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kemah, TX
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Have a Great Time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Good seafood served in a 'party' atmosphere...don't be surprised at the noise.GOOD FUN TIME. Best location in Kemah,TX at the boardwalk.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TXislander44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“the shrimp was prepared perfectly.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

we went on weekday afternoon so we avoided the crowds I have heard about. the view of the bay was enjoyable. the waitress was attentive and informative. the batter or my shrimp was the way it really should be on seafood--very light and not at all greasy. the coleslaw also was prepared well.

    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank barb t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Will NEVER go again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Bad food. RUDE Waitstaff. LOUD LOUD LOUD! The server jumped on top of our table and danced...while we had food there. The manager couldn't beleive when I got up and stormed out after the waiter stepped in my meal. Come on!

Helpful?
1 Thank DJM1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
428 reviews
286 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“The atmosphere is the high point here”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

If you can get a table out on the patio, you can watch the boats going in and out. Lots of sail boats. We had a large party for dinner and they had no trouble seating us.

I found the food to be average. The crab balls were kind of mushy. Not real flavorful. My husband had fish and he said it was just so so.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Likeness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's Crab Shack also viewed

Kemah, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Kemah, Texas Gulf Coast
Kemah, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Joe's Crab Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing