We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I dont know why we keep going back”
Review of Joe's Crab Shack

Joe's Crab Shack
Ranked #49 of 74 Restaurants in Kemah
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner
Huntsville, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“I dont know why we keep going back”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Every Joe's Crab Shack I've ever been to has disappointed me with the food and for some reason I keep thinking they will have changed and we keep going to different ones expecting better food quality and we keep being disappointed. The waitress didn't even come to our table for 20 minutes after we sat down, took forever to check on us and refill our drinks. She brought our appetizer and when my husband asked for 2 plates so we could split it up she said, "no you may not have 2 plates." She was trying to be funny but wasnt very good at it.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LilaA325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    19
    20
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
171 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Nice View, Bad Food”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I love sitting by the bay watching the boats sail in and out of the canal at Kemah. But, the crab nachos were disgusting. I was very disappointed.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dstillwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“OK Food but good atmosphere”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Food is nothing to write home about. Average food priced high because of the seawall location. Atmosphere & Location are the plusses.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank GMSLCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Food run-of-the- mill; service fantastic”
Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

Ate here a few days ago. Fantastic waiter. Food was just okay. The atmosphere was great though - especially if you sit outside.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank emmysmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
131 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“FUN”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

This is a very very relaxed place to eat. We have gone to Joe's Crab Shack since my girls were in middle school and they are all in college now. Loud music and fun staff makes this place a cool place to eat. Oh, and the food is not so bad either. lol
Located on the boardwalk in Kemah where you can sit outside and watch the boats go by or sit inside.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank swalkerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's Crab Shack also viewed

Kemah, Texas Gulf Coast
Kemah, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Kemah, Texas Gulf Coast
Seabrook, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Joe's Crab Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing