We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best sailing adventure!”
Review of Rock Bottom Catamaran Company - CLOSED

Rock Bottom Catamaran Company
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: All of our charter rates are all inclusive even including tax. Every sailing charter includes private use of the yacht, Captain/Crew, light snacks, soft drinks, bottled water, fuel, waste disposal, and cleaning costs. You may always bring your own favorite adult beverage. We also do not have a mandatory gratuity built in. Gratuity is not expected but is appreciated by the crew. You should always know what it costs before you sail. You may also purchase a sailing charter gift certificate and have up to six months to use it. Use of the certificate can be extended, just ask. Each cruise listed below includes up to four persons in your party. You may always add a couple extra friends for $50.00 Each. Have any "Special Requests" just ask and we will do our best to fill them. DAY SAIL - $375.00 (All inclusive) Day Sail The day sail can be set up for the morning or afternoon. The cruise is a four hour, private, captained charter. The day cruise is good for enjoying the sun and water on Galveston Bay. Sailing the bay during the day allows you to watch the boats and people too. The day cruises can be extended for anchoring out at Red Fish Island where you can enjoy a swim in the bay. Includes captain, use of boat, fuel, snacks, non-alcoholic drinks, waste disposal and tax. ______________________________________________________________________ SUNSET SAIL - $425.00 (All inclusive) Sunset Sail The sunset cruise is a four hour private, captained charter that is a great way to enjoy a beautiful Galveston Bay Sunset. Galveston Bay has some the most beautiful sunsets on the Gulf Coast. Anchoring out in the bay is always an option. The sunset cruise is great for romantic dates, anniversaries, or popping the question. Includes captain, use of boat, fuel, snacks, non-alcoholic drinks, waste disposal and tax. ______________________________________________________________________ FULL MOON SAIL & HOLIDAY SAILS - $500.00 (All inclusive) Full Moon Sail The full moon cruise is a four to five hour, private, captained charter that is a great way to enjoy a beautiful sunset and full moon shining on Galveston Bay. Sailing at night under a full moon is an experience that should not be missed. The full moon cruise is also great for romantic dates, anniversaries, or popping the question. Includes captain, use of boat, fuel, snacks food, non-alcoholic drinks waste disposal and tax. ______________________________________________________________________ We offer """ Overnight Sailing Adventures""" to the following destinations: Redfish Island, Double Bayou, Offats Bayou and Galveston Island. Overnight Sailing Adventure - Two full days sailing and one night for two onboard Rock Bottom Sailing Yacht for $950.00. Make it a Cruising Adventure - Three days and two nights onboard Rock Bottom sailing Galveston Bay, Trinity Bay, with destinations like Offats Bayou anchoring off Moody Gardens, Oak Island and Double Bayou for $1250.00. The cost is all inclusive for two persons. (Private use of yacht, captain/crew fee, onboard meals, soft drinks, bottled water, fuel, waste disposal, clean up, and tax) Up to two other guests may be added for an additional $200.00 Per person. (Marina fees may be extra depending upon destination.) You may bring your favorite adult beverages on your overnight adventure. Double Bayou Traveling down Double Bayou. Double Bayou is a rustic setting where you can tie up to a tree along the bank. Have a campfire, explore the bayou by dinghy where you might see all types of wildlife including an alligator. This is a very economical way to have full days under sail, while learning to pilot the yacht, trim the sails and navigate to a destination of your choice. Then drop the anchor, tie to a tree along the bank, or berth in a marina of an exotic port. Nothing beats the excitement and romance of sleeping on the water under the stars. __________________________________________________________________
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase
Reviewed June 11, 2014

I had the best time sailing with friends with Rock Bottom. The Captain was very friendly and pointed out many interesting areas. The catamaran was very clean and nice! I would highly recommend this company. Thank you Capt. Robert!

Thank travelingangel1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (15)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Filter

2 - 6 of 15 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

Im not one to give bad reviews of a company but this experience was so devastating I want to share so know one has to go through the same thing. I scheduled a cruise for my family of 13 people which included two children. I was told at the time of making the reservations that I would need to bring life jackets for the children. 1 week before the event I called to confirm the reservation and was informed that he needed to find another boat because his boat was not big enough. I found this to be weird given The day of the event as we were heading towards Kemah he tells me that he canceled the reservation thru pay pal and the money was refunded. No call just refunded the money. He never called to clarify the concern and when I spoke to him in a rude voice he told me to have a good day bye. At minimum it would have been nice to show some sympathy given this was a planned out anniversary celebration that was a dissapointment to all. But even if this courtesy was not to be extended It was very unprofessional to book a cruise if your policy is not to accept children when children was aligned by both parties as part of the orginal reservation. Also if a reservation is to be cancelled given your lack of knowledge of your own policy you should at least inform the customer via a call in a timely manner so they can make alternative reservations. . Please beware of this company if you have children or call several times to ensure there are no last minute changes or cancellations.

12  Thank Brookethomas8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RockBottomCat, Owner at Rock Bottom Catamaran Company, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Its unfortunate that this potential client has written such a horrible review, In speaking with the client it became evident that she originally said 12 adults, as no one boat can take out 13 people , additionally she wanted to bring , small children under 5 on a boat. We canceled her reservations , and refunded her money , well in advance of her trip, Her response to us was cancel our trip and I will write a bad review. She has, but we wouldn't risk our licenses, or peoples life's just to avoid a bad review.

Sorry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

My girlfriends and I recently had a weekend vacation in Kemah. The catamaran was a great new experience for all of us. Robert was pleasant and attentive. The boat was clean and comfortable. The boat dock is located close to the bathrooms and showers. The bathrooms are clean well equipped. Also they are only open to members. We had the captain take the boat out around the bay for a couple hours. It was absolutely an enjoyable, memorable new experience.

1  Thank Jet_Setter_Jesse_Mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Everyone had a great time! There is plenty of room to spread out and make the outing on the water everything you want it to be. This is a recommended trip for a group of friends, a family get together or a special event. Captain and Crew were Awesome.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank DMcG_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We recently went out in Kemah on a 3 hour tour. What a great way to spend a Sunday Funday. Very spacious and very knowledgeable Captain and crew.
Would recommend their services to everyone!

1  Thank Joseph T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rock Bottom Catamaran Company also viewed

 
Kemah, Texas Gulf Coast
Kemah, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing