We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth it”

Landry's Seafood House
Ranked #3 of 74 Restaurants in Kemah
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
SanAntonio
Level Contributor
186 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Visited Landry's for a birthday lunch with a group of 8. The service was OK, if a bit slow, especially on the sodas (though they were prompt with the alcohol for those who ordered it!). The fresh oysters were outstanding. However, the rest of the lunch was mediocre. My fish had so much butter on it, I thought it was still swimming! The vegetables were overcooked. I didn't have alcohol, so for my grandson & I, lunch cost over $50!!!! Unbelievable. Won't go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ShootingGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    137
    74
    33
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Great atmosphere!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The atmosphere was great, the staff was friendly and the was delicious!!! I'm a picky pregnant woman and everything was tasty from appetizer to dessert! I had the fried zucchini for appetizer, the shrimp trio for entree and the cinnamon bread pudding for dessert. The salad was even yummy and I loved the house dressing that came with it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jchild28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Seafood with a Bay View!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Yummy food with a view of the water. Our waiter was awesome and took care of everything that we requested. Even though we had no reservation, we were seated quickly. Food was delicious! We would absolutely go back when we are in the area again. Parking is a bit of a challenge because this is a major entertainment area. But ... if you are in the area of the Houston Space Center it is absolutely worth it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DebCMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant service”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We visited this restaurant during a 3 week holiday in USA. We had spent the day at NASA which we all enjoyed and then went down to Kemah to see the sea1 After wandering round the beach area for a while we decided to eat &, being seafood lovers, Landry's looked good. We were not disappointed! There was no wait when we arrived

Our server was Jeffery and he was fab. Quietly attentive, making sure we understood all the dishes and anticipating drinkes etc before we knew we wanted them! The food was excellent and very big portions that we could not face dessert. He even offered us free sodas to take with us for our long drive back that night.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dawnh9997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ate here on 7-20-13 and totally agree w/ the Kcknana review”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

There was a 20 minute wait to get a table. I went to the bar to get a couple of drinks for my wife and me and sat there almost 15 minutes before one of the bartenders asked if I had been helped. they had been walking by me like I was invisible for the entire time. By the time I got 2 drinks - a margarita and mojito, our table was ready. 2 drinks $20 - way over priced.

My wife ordered the Shrimp Fresca and I ordered the Snapper Pontchartrain. My wife's shrimp were so overcooked she couldn't even cut them with a knife. The server never came back to the table after taking our order to find out if the food was okay or even if it arrived as ordered. She, as many servers seem to do, waited on tables near ours, but never took the time to look our way or even come by to see if we needed anything. We flagged down another server and he got our server. She had them prepare my wife's dish again, and this time the shrimp were at least edible. My Red Snapper Pontchartrain was okay, but certainly not the best I've eaten, and not worth the $35 price tag.

In summary - the food was way over priced and not that good, the server's attitude was terrible and seemed like it was a chore for her to even wait on us. I am a person that always tips based on the service and have left tips in the past as much as 30-35% of the bill. I left her a 10% tip that was probably too much.

On the way back home to north Texas, we had lunch at Ralph and Kacoo's in Lufkin and the food was reasonably priced and excellent. We also eat at Pappadeaux's quite a bit and their food is so superior to Landry's they aren't even in the same box.

This experience reminded me that we ate at Landry's in San Antonio several years ago and it was equally as bad. DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MRT67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Landry's Seafood House also viewed

 
Kemah, Texas Gulf Coast
Kemah, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Landry's Seafood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing