We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tapas dining”

Flying Dutchman Restaurant & Oyster Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Flying Dutchman Restaurant & Oyster Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 74 Restaurants in Kemah
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tapas dining”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Everything on the menu looks so go. So we, my friend and her boyfriend, ordered a few appetizers. This was the BEST idea. We order the fresh oysters, ceviche, fried crab legs, corn chowder, gumbo, fried jalapenos and fried calamari.

ALL of the appetizers were delicious. The calamari and the oysters were my favorite. They weere fresh and flavorful.

When I'm back in town from Southern California I will definitely be back

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zuzizu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    87
    55
    19
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
83 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good locally owned restaurant”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Many of the restaurants in Kemah are owned by large corporations, so it's nice to dine at one that is locally owned. It is a very kid friendly restaurant. The menu is very simple and nothing out of the ordinary, but the food is good. The prices are average for Kemah, with nothing priced over $15. The staff are friendly, but don't go out of their way. I would recommend sitting on the outdoor patio since it provides a nicer atmosphere. There is no free parking for the restaurant, which can lead to an even pricier afternoon or evening.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Texas2829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas USA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Delicious Seafood”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

I really enjoy the food here. The crabcakes are delicious. It is a quieter restaurant, so it is a good place to talk.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank MandySeymour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice Resteraunt”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Nice place to eat. Excellent food, but it is on the Kemah Boardwalk & priced higher than normal for that. It is a shame that they charge to park in the area as well now. Can they siphon anymore money from us???

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank GMSLCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Thursday Nights”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

In summer time they have Rock The Dock and The Flying Dutchman is just behind the band. Its great cause you can listen to the music and watch the dolphins. The best part is seeing the seagulls steal food off the waiters treys. I only gave it a three because I ordered gumbo and it wasn't very good. We also got fried mac. It was very good and the kids had good burgers.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank LaurieM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flying Dutchman Restaurant & Oyster Bar also viewed

Seabrook, Texas Gulf Coast
Kemah, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Kemah, Texas Gulf Coast
Kemah, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Kemah, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Flying Dutchman Restaurant & Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing