We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Doable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bubba Gump Shrimps Co

Bubba Gump Shrimps Co
Ranked #6 of 71 Restaurants in Kemah
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dallas, Tx
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Doable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

This place was just okay. Not bad/ Not good. But if you're hungry and walking along the boardwalk, it's a cool choice. Besides, if your with friends or family, that will make up for what this place lacks.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank StarleneS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    81
    64
    25
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Overpriced with great location.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Food was overpriced and small portions. New staff was training and very slow. I'm a Bubba fan, but not this one.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank slicksar15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas City, Texas
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“OVERPRICED ESPECIALLY FOR THE QUALITY AND QUANTITY!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The food reminded me more of something you should get from a Long John Silver's with a very large price tag. We were extremely disappointed and most definitely will not be going back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mm2013_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Small portions for the $$$”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My wife & I ate at Bubba Gump Kemah last night. Doubt a return. The food was good, but the portions were ridiculously small for the price. Ordered Seafood Feast (should be called Seafood Least)and planned to share as neither of us have large appetites.We were shocked at how small the portion was for the price ($19.99), six small shrimp, three VERY small pieces of fish, two hush puppies, and many fries. Our waiter would not leave us alone long enough to eat in peace. Sale, sale, sale was all he could do. (Typical Landrys Corp). We had eaten at BG Destin, FL in 2012 and the portions were larger and service much better there. Ten bucks would have been a big price for what we got at Kemah BG!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BubbasDaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Liberty, Iowa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

I have to agree with other review, having been to multiple Bubba Gumps, this one seemed to have the best tasting food. The atmosphere on the water and boardwalk was excellent.

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jake1490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bubba Gump Shrimps Co also viewed

Kemah, Texas Gulf Coast
Kemah, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Kemah, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Bubba Gump Shrimps Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing