We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs improvement” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Passport Inn and Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Passport Inn and Suites
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Kemah
Lumberton, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Needs improvement”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

I recently stayed one night here . The hotel is in a great location . It is right across from the marina and within easy walking distance from the boardwalk . But the room was very dirty . The towels had hair stuck to them , and the shower had a green mold/ algae growing in it . The desk in the room was also almost broken in two . I could never recommend this hotel to anyone .

Room Tip: There is a new Holiday Inn very close . I will try it next time .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charles Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    13
    7
    8
    48
See reviews for
19
24
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Website says "Relax by our beautiful deck/pool. THERE IS NO POOL!!! We also had to walk up three flights of stairs. It's kind of tacky, but the prices were reasonable.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

It's a very good location... It's kinda noisy At night time since it's close 2 the lake, boats & restaurants... Don't expect like 5 star motel... No elevator ... Only stairs... The manager is kind ... They clean our room clean... They r nicely 2 give us extra towels wen we ask 4... It's nice experiment expect the bathroom is small... The shower thing makes noise, & the water kinda make my bf sick ... An only good 4 walking to the downtown 4 the fair over there ...

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hoanglevy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

This place is horrible. Very long story short. Our room wasn't clean when arriving. After cleaning leftover hygenine was in bathtub men's pubic hairs stuck in towels. Which smelt like vomit. The non smoking room is smoked in by all maintence/maid women. This place is absolutley horrible.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pissedoffmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

I work in the travel industry, and feel that I've "seen it all"! I read all the "negative" reviews online about this Property and was expecting the worst! I have to say... My experience was NOT so negative. My entire family stayed at this hotel, as we simply needed a 1 night stay in the area before a Cruise.
My brother suggested this property because of its Price and Location. He was Right! The price was Great as well as the Location! There is NO closer Hotel to the Boardwalk, than the Passport Inn. It is literally at the Boardwalk! So close you can walk to the many Restaurants, Bars and Activities that the Boardwalk has to offer! We had 5 rooms and none of them smelled or were dirty. The people at the front desk were fine. Not rude or short in any way. So this stay, met all of our immediate needs.
However, if you are looking for a 5 Star Resort...this hotel is not for you. The pool/deck mentioned, IS a little laughable. You will know what I mean if you see it. It is simply a small above ground pool with a couple of Lounge Chairs. The Breakfast mentioned was just Ok. There was Coffee and Juice, some Bananas and Apples, Cereal. A toaster w/some breads. And a few "Walmart" type snack cakes/muffins. So, its not a 5 star Buffet Breakfast, by no means...but we did not have to shuttle to the cruise hungry. It met our needs.
This property does have 3 floors. Ground Floor being the Parking Lot. I did not see an elevator. So, you must be able to climb some stairs. The 1st floor with rooms, is 1 flight up. So if your disabled and cannot climb stairs, this property may not be for you.
So, you cant believe everything you read. If you need a place to hang your hat without a bunch of "Frills". I would highly recommend this property. Trust me....Ive seen worse!

Room Tip: Request a lower floor. Less stairs to climb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sheila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

We needed last minute reservations and had heard some bad things about this motel, but we just needed a shower & a place to lay our heads. We didn't want to drive home after drinking at a party, so we thought it couldn't be that bad. OH MY GOSH! We ask for a non smoking room when we made reservations before leaving our home, the lady confirmed non smoking room. We arrived at the motel, as soon as we walked into the reservations office I knew we had made a mistake! I ask if I cold use the ladies room, I went to the restroom there in the office and almost died! It was DISGUSTING! Our walk to our room was a sign that things were going to get worse. The grounds of this motel are so unkept, trashy & ugly!! Broken cheap trash cans in view, full ash trays along the walk way. We get to the room which was at the end of the walkway in the corner on the second level. Very dark and dangerous. Walked into the room and it looked like a cheap porno flick motel room! Reeked of cigarettes and the bed was so small we thought it was a twin size! The bathroom was small, the television was from the 70's, the sheets must be 100 years old they were so thin. The mattress cover was cheap and thin and too small for the bed. We went to the front office to complain about the cigarette smell in the room and was informed that it was a smoking room. He said there were no more rooms available and we cold not cancell. Although we were guaranteed a non smoking room and that is what we paid for, He was EXTREMELY RUDE and just kept shrugging his shoulders! Thank goodness a couple came in to the office looking for a last minute hotel room, we sold them ours, they didn't mind the smoking room because they were smokers. WE COULDN'T GET OUT OF THERE FAST ENOUGH!! We went to the Holiday Inn a block over and for $60 more we felt like we were in another world! I am from this area and frankly am embarrassed that tourist get stuck staying at Passport Inn. This motels is a reflection on the Kemah area and not a good one at all!!! I hope people read reviews before staying here. No matter how cheap the room is...remember you get what you pay for. This motel is a PRIME example of that cliche'. This place is NASTY!!

Room Tip: Nothing good to advise about this motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Expend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

absolute HELL HOLE, everything was smelly and dirty and horrible. The bathroom was filthy, bath almost falling off the wall, the towels were smelly as was the whole room. It was dark and horrible and none of the furniture matched. Myself and my hubby and our 3 year old had 1 room and my mam and dad had another and both rooms were disgusting. There was blood on the sheets in my mam and dads room. We all slept on top of the covers with our own towels on us. My mam told the man at reception the next morning, at 8am (which they checked out at) that the room was filthy and smelly and he did not care at all, he said "and you stayed the night", when my mam said that we didnt really have a choice all he said was " you always have a choice"....... so rude... never ever ever stay.......... we paid 120 dollars per room, but if they paid me 120 dollars i would say NO WAY.................

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ETA10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kemah
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Kemah (near boardwalk)
0.3 mi away
Boardwalk Inn
Boardwalk Inn
#1 of 5 in Kemah
4.0 of 5 stars 458 reviews
0.8 mi away
Days Inn Kemah
Days Inn Kemah
#3 of 5 in Kemah
3.5 of 5 stars 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Seabrook Nasa Kemah
0.7 mi away
No photo provided
Palace Inn Kemah
#4 of 5 in Kemah
3.0 of 5 stars 15 reviews
1.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Houston NASA/Seabrook
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Passport Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Passport Inn and Suites

Property: Passport Inn and Suites
Address: 601 Texas Ave, Kemah, TX 77565-2963
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Kemah
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Kemah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Passport Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Passport Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Passport Inn Hotel Kemah
Passport Hotel Kemah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing