We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Quaint place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amadeus Italian Restaurant and Piano Bar

Amadeus Italian Restaurant and Piano Bar
700 Kipp Ave, Kemah, TX 77565-2947
281-334-3311
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 71 Restaurants in Kemah
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Excellent service and fantastic food. We tried the lamb, crab cakes, sea bass, mussels, seasoned bread-all were excellent and full portions. entertaining music and also a dance floor-
central Illinois
Level Contributor
141 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Quaint place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The ambience is out of the 60s with a lot of locals that you can tell spend a lot of time there. The crowd is older 40+ and they come to socialize, eat and dance. If you want quiet to socialize with your date this is the place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chriscentralIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    15
    7
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“You will like it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

If you go ask for the Chilean Sea Bass, melts in your mouth.
The service is very good, our waiter was very accommodating and went out of his way to make us feel at ease and enjoy the meal.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of the best in town.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I have been going to this piano bar/restaurant for 20 years and can tell you it is my favorite spot in town. Claudio first owned the business the he partnered up with another Matt last year and opened Claudio and Matteo's Restaurant at another location. several of the posts below are posted to the Amadeus site when they should be posted to the Claudio and Matteo's site. Two entirely different restaurants.

Claudio is urgently playing piano at Amadeus for the past couple of months, but he is not affiliated with the restaurant other than as a musician.

The owner of Amadeus is Matt and I think he does a fine job. He is one of the few independent restaurant/bars that has been able to remain open in this past terrible economic times since the hurricane was up the the ceiling in that building,

I assure you his food is the freshest he can find and serves excellent food.

Abel plays the piano seven six nights a week and Claudio plays with him on the weekends.

It is a very friendly local establishment.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RoselynTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This over priced dive bar isn't worth your time.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

First of all do not buy restaurant.com gift certificates and expect this place to honor them. They flatly refused to honor our gift certificate. Secondly we paid $80 a plate for valentines dinner and I've never been so disappointed in my life. The food was decent I had the lamb and my husband had the veil but overall the food was no where near as good as the $80 price tag made it seem. 3 courses the first was a salad and the last was a lumpy creme brûlée that I couldn't stomach. The main course was 4 lamb chops a bowl of mint jelly two small potatoes and a couple of carrots. The food wasn't only overpriced I felt as though I'd been robbed. Lastly this piano bar didn't have anyone at the piano. Everyone kept asking it was valentines day and the whole reason my husband and I chose this restaurant was because it was a piano bar. We kept being told the musician would be in stage at 7pm but we left at 7:45 and there wasn't music the entire time we were there. Avoid this place like the plague. It's a dive bar with dishonest management and owners that sell gift certificates and refuse to honor them. Do yourself a favor and go to one of the many good restaurants around Kemah and avoid this dive bar with the dead plants and half working Christmas lights.

    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great entertainment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Best entertainment around.Small establishment,but good food,nice people.Free valet parking.The name has changed to Amadeus Piano Bar,not Claudio's anymore. Claudio and Able still perform there and are great!!

Helpful?
Thank ronnie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amadeus Italian Restaurant and Piano Bar also viewed

Kemah, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Kemah, Texas Gulf Coast
Kemah, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Kemah, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Amadeus Italian Restaurant and Piano Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing