We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay!”
Review of Captain's Quarters

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kemah
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Captain's Quarters
Ranked #6 of 6 Kemah B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 7, 2012

I stayed here last summer for a short weekend trip, the service of the owners was very receptive! The rooms were clean and comfortable. I wish I could've stayed longer! this location was close to the boardwalk, about 2 blocks away; definitely within walking distance to the boardwalk and several restaurants. Parking was great, location was great, rooms were great. I stayed in the captain's room, at the very top of the house. It has a great big bathtub, nice shower, and spacious room. Great view of the water too! The only thing, is the breakfast is not a traditional continental breakfast, no eggs and bacon. They did offer fresh fruit and packaged pastries. The price was very affordable compared to other B&B's in the area. I couldn't have asked for a more relaxing stay at this inn!

Room Tip: Definitely splurge for the Captain's room! You won't regret it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jasmine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (11)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 11 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2011

They have the listing wrong it should be bed & view the breakfast is pre-packaged donuts yuk. They have a coffee pot in room but you have to place it floor so you can plug it in. Nothing like any B&B's i've stayed in before. The view is great and the location is also great, you are within walking distance of most things. You are paying for the view and the location, just keep this in mind when you book.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gus807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2011

$220+/night was out of line in our view, but we didn't have another suitable option. A big sticking point was the used travel shampoo and lack of soap. Not a lot to ask for at the price we paid. We have stayed in many B&B's. The "breakfast" was an assortment of packaged pastries (a la donuts, apple fritters and NutriGrain bars). Comparing it to the hard work of the B&B's we've enjoyed staying at with homemade breakfasts and community at far less of a price, the Captain's Quarters did not compare. But the location could not be beat for Kemah. It was far enough from the Boardwalk and peaceful right on the water. The room was comfortable, albeit a bit loud in the morning, which is to be expected from a B&B. A good option if you don't want to stay at the Holiday Inn or Kemah Boardwalk Inn, but be prepared to shell out the dough!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank thecoveys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Captain's Quarters! Connie, the owner/manager was very helpful and accomodating in every way possible and the cleaning/maintenance workers were also very helpful and friendly. The house was beautiful and has had quite a few renovations in the past few months. The house sits directly on Galveston Bay and is within walking distance of many restaurants and the boardwalk but it's far enough away from the Boardwalk so you can't hear the noise of it. Our stay was very peaceful and the view from our balcony on the second floor was wonderful. The house has 3 stories: the first floor is a sitting area, check-in desk, dining room and they are in the process of building a little restaurant; the second floor is where rooms 1 through 5 are located; the third floor is room 6 (they are remodeling it) which is a suite with its own private balcony. There is also a lovely glassed-in widows walk with a balcony on the very top of the house. You can see a 360 degree view of Kemah and the Bay from the widow's walk. Each story of the house has a community balcony. We stayed in room 1 which is located adjacent to the second story balcony but it does not have a door that leads directly to the balcony. Our room was very peaceful and comfortable and the view from our balcony was beautiful. The only downside of this B&B is the breakfast. We were only provided one basket of individually wrapped goodies such as granola bars, cinnamon rolls, powdered doughnuts, and fresh fruit. I think the reason for the small breakfast was because they just opened this B&B after the remodeling. I'm sure they are planning better breakfasts in the future when the kitchen/restaurant area is open. Overall this was a great B&B and a perfect vacation!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank louisianatraveler14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012
Google Translation

Room Tip: Según sus necesidades pida asesoría en administración.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luzdeluces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kemah hotels
0.4 mi away
Boardwalk Inn
Boardwalk Inn
#1 of 5 in Kemah
620 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Kemah (near boardwalk)
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Kemah
Days Inn Kemah
#3 of 5 in Kemah
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
No photo provided
Palace Inn Kemah
#4 of 5 in Kemah
18 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kemah Escape
Kemah Escape
#4 of 6 in Kemah
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain's Quarters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's Quarters

Address: 701 Bay Ave, Kemah, TX 77565-2970
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Kemah
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Kemah
Price Range: $95 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing