We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We got robbed (inside job for sure beware)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Kemah (near boardwalk)
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kemah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2012

This was our first time in Kemah, Tx. Wanted to be near boardwalk. On check in front desk very rude. At first was impressed with our room. We decide to go to boardwalk for dinner. While out received phone call from hotel about my room. When we returned key cards did not work. When we finally got into room we noticed our stuff was rummaged through and many things stolen. Hotel staff not very helpfull. No manager contact that night. Currently over 4 weeks with no resolution and no funds for over 600$$$$ loss. Beware!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Thimios P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Kemah (near boardwalk), responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

Dear Thimios P,

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We take comments such as these very serious and would like to follow up with you. We have sent you a private message in effort to obtain more information.

I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Sincerely,

Katie J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (247)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

218 - 224 of 247 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2012

This hotel is nice, at great location - walking distance to The Boardwalk. The Lobby is nice, modern look, clean and staff are helpful. Room is small but neat, clean and nicely decorated. But the carpet in escalators need to be cleaned. Pool is small but neat outside of the lobby. Parking lot is big enough for all guests. Wifi is free. Lots of electrical plugs in room. Generally we love this hotel.
However, one big issue we had the day we departed is at The Sport New restaurant. we came down for breakfast around 9:30AM. It is not a rush hour but no staff hosts at the front. We found the empty seat and waited, and waited, and waited. Waiters and waitresses passed by couple of times without asking any thing... Finally, one waitress came over and took order. Believe or not, we waited and waited and waited for more than 15 minutes... The restaurants was not full of guests... Hmmm.... We constantly requested the booster seat for our toddler but no one seemed bother to bring it. My baby ended up to seat on my lap and eat 'cause the table is to high for her. Besides, lots of tables full of glasses and plates with left-over that been eaten by previous guests still there from the time we walked in and walked out... Thus, other guests came in and could not find place to seat down. This is the WORSE restaurant I've ever been. Food is so so with reasonable price. Need to hire more staffs or this place will loose business very soon.
Recommend to stay but not eat. There are lots of places to eat outside.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TravellerUSA1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Manager at Holiday Inn Kemah (near boardwalk), responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

I would like to take the time to thank you for filling out a review and letting us know how we did during your stay. It is always very encouraging to receive great reviews like yours and it is because of guest like you that we are able to know that we are doing the right things for our guests.

Best Regards,

Mark Shearer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Just going blindly on an article about Kemah, TX Boardwalk on our way to Galveston. What a find. It was crowded on a Saturday night before July 4, but compared to the big theme parks, that was fantastic. Small scale, nice rides for young and old. Very afforable. Holiday Inn was exceptional and within walking distance of Boardwalk. I felt very safe.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Coffeebeans8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Manager at Holiday Inn Kemah (near boardwalk), responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

I would like to take the time to thank you for filling out a review and letting us know how we did during your stay. I am so glad you enjoyed Kemah and the Boardwalk. It is always very encouraging to receive great reviews like yours and it is because of guest like you that we are able to know that we are doing the right things for our guests.

Sincerely,

Mark Shearer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We checked into the south shore harbour and were not pleased. I called the holiday inn Kemah and thu found us rooms! Great, fresh and clean hotel. Kiersten at the front desk was very nice and charlene in the restaurant was very nice and worked very hard. Loved our stay. Very close to Kemah and our kids eat FREE

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Momzroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Headed to Kemah for a quick get-away with the Honey and took in the Star Fleet Cruises Fireworks trip. The Holiday Inn was new construction, staff was courteous and the bed was very comfortable. Rooms are nice sized with modern amenities. Lots of electrical hook-ups and free wifi. Bathroom is modern and attractive, shower is a low-lipped walk-in affair and water pressure and temp were consistant. Fair price for a tourist area. Pool has a lovely view of Hwy 146, but was well maintained.

Room Tip: Go for Height - stay on 5th floor and see the Bay and yacht basin
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikesth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

In short good priced hotel. Clean modern. I have stayed there on two occasions for 6 days.
However last stay we agreed 1 night midweek would be complimentary as I was staying in another hotel for 1night and would save me checking out and back in. This was confirmed twice.
Now they say the conversation never happened. Bacsically I made it up, the manager refused to acknowledge my conversation with her.
Dissapointing.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
4  Thank putoguiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Stayed here for a week in March 2012, room was lovely, think I was in a deluxe suite. Huge bed, I'm 6"1' and could lay any way I wanted and not be dangling off the bed.
Shower was a bit of a pain to work as it was either freezing or boiling, I just accepted it for what it was. No bottled water in the room which I found a bit odd as I've had that at most other hotels I've been at.
Towels and room cleaned daily.

I'd go back.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank domkj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kemah
0.5 mi away
Boardwalk Inn
Boardwalk Inn
#1 of 5 in Kemah
620 reviews
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Kemah
Days Inn Kemah
#3 of 5 in Kemah
306 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hilton Houston NASA Clear Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Houston NASA/Seabrook
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Seabrook Nasa Kemah
3.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Seabrook Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Kemah (near boardwalk)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Kemah (near boardwalk)

Address: 805 Harris Ave, Kemah, TX 77565-2950
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Kemah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kemah
Price Range: $114 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Kemah (near boardwalk) 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Kemah (near boardwalk) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Kemah (Near Boardwalk) Hotel Kemah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing