We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Kemah Boardwalk
from $115.00
More Info
Houston CityPASS
50 Reviews
from $59.00
More Info
Reviews (2,054)
Filter reviews
1,913 results
Traveler rating
771
706
311
87
38
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
771
706
311
87
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviews roller coaster ride pass amusement park pleasure pier flying dutchman aquarium restaurant galveston bay carnival games watching the boats funnel cake speed boat board walk catfish fun place to visit all ages bubba gumps lots of fun
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,913 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

One of the first evening in Houston in 2018 with the temperature in high 50s we (a group of 4) decided to the sea front Kemah offers.
Eventhough a good drive from our place it was worth a visit with the pleasant weather, halloween festival fair, and beautiful colors on the sky that evening.

Definitely a small boardwalk compared to the ones i visited on the east coast however had good attractions with an aquarium, nice restaurants, an open play area which was beautifully decorated with halloween theme.

A further down we found a small light house which was a good place for the watching the beautiful amalgamation of the sky and sea with the setting sun offering those additional set of colors to the beautiful blue colored pallet.

Loved the various spots for photography with seagulls photojacking many pictures.

All in all a place worth spending an evening.

Thank kotlap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago

We got all you can ride tickets through the City Pass, only to realize a couple rides are NOT included. Thankfully parking was free. We went on a Monday and got there right as they opened at noon. Because of the off season, the rides were on ride-rotation, which wasn't as much of a big issue, except for there was really only 2-3 ride attendants working. Additionally 4 of the rides were not available to ride. My inlaws who are older were only able to ride the ferris wheel and the train (which broke down halfway through and they had to walk back) due to the carousel and 3 other slower moving rides. This was very frustrating and led to us feeling like we didn't get a good value for our visit.

Thank ColoradoTravelsWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We walked the boardwalk during the off season so the stores closed early. It was still fun to walk around a beautiful place near the ocean feeling unthreatened. It was a romantic night for just us.

Thank PAMELA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

In season this place probably buzzes with activity and excitement. Out of season if feels like an old maid at a wedding reception. A few hints of former glory but little to entertain currently. There were lights and a few restaurants but only about 12 people in the whole place, all felt deserted. Nothing to tempt you to stay. We eventually ate in the aquarium, we were three of 8 people in there. Probably great with a crowd with the fishes all around, felt depressing with so few.

Thank PBPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

It's okay.. There were four rides closed due to 'maintenance' which included two of the big ones. I accept its a Monday and in off season but was very quiet and just okay. Having said that my four year old loved the rides that she could go on.

Thank Traveler183563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Not much for kidless families but always nice to be waterfront. Definitely a nice place with plenty of food and entertainment options for entire family. Plan accordingly as parking can be a problem if a large event is taking place in Kemah. Enjoy!

1  Thank JChristopherHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were there on a Thursday. Even with some things closed until the weekend, it was fun. The ferris wheel overlooks the water, the rides are fun. There are plenty of restaurants. It's right on the water. There seems to be events every weekend. Everything from wine to Halloween. Fun for kids and adults.
Short drive from Johnson Space Center.
We bought a city pass and started on Kemah at the Boardwalk Inn on the Boardwalk, then stayed downtown at the Whitehall and went to the museum district. The city pass is much cheaper than paying for everything individually.

Thank papertiger1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were en route back to Houston from the Space Centre and had been advised to visit. We passed a nice couple of hours here by the waterfront and had a drink. It was quiet on a Friday lunch with much of the fairground rides and stalls closed. Liked the place though.

1  Thank jandlUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

First of all, we came here on a recommendation from a friend. We had thought about Pleasure Pier in Galveston but you have to pay just to get on the pier. Kemah doesnt charge just to walk around which is very nice.
The good: Fun rides (at least the ones that were working), friendly staff, fairly clean place.
The bad: Some rides were non-functional. Both towers and a swinging ride were not available.

Overall, i liked it ok. The rollercoaster is a lot more impressive than i thought it would be.

2  Thank sunseeker1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The train ride is a lot of fun. Great way to cool off and rest your feet. Lots to see and do around the boardwalk.

Thank PeggWindham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews