We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Overnight Getaway” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Boardwalk Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Boardwalk Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kemah
Certificate of Excellence
Channelview, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Overnight Getaway”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Needed some alone time with just my husband. I looked into some of the nicer hotel resort locations in Galveston but they all required a 2 night stay. The Boardwalk in Kemah did not. We reserved a room for Saturday of that week. We arrived about 2 hours before check in and our room was already available. We got our pass for the reseved parking area and got our luggage and headed upstairs. We went and walked around Kemah. Played a few games, got a snow cone and did the maze ( which was fun but HOT.) So headed back to our room rested up and refreshed for dinner. The hotel called over to the Aquarium to get us on the waiting list. We walked around for about 20 mins then headed to dinner. No waiting what so ever. Very nice! After dinner we went swimming. Meet several nice people at the pool. Will definately keep the Boardwalk Inn in mind for future mommy & daddy get away time!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverly V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalia P, General Manager at Boardwalk Inn, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of our property, sounds like you and your husband had a terrific time and had alot of fun during your recent stay.Hope to see you soon , lots of great events during our Fall months.


Safe Travels,

Dalia Pena
General Manager
Boardwalk Inn- Kemah Boardwalk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    104
    50
    29
    24
See reviews for
188
169
21
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

My 16 year old granddaughter stayed at the inn right on the boardwalk in May of this year. Our double room was extremely expensive, certainly more than what I usually pay for a hotel,i always speak to a manager upon making reservations if I feel price of room is not comparable to other hotels in same area. I usually get a discount of some type by speaking to manager , however I was unable to receive any discount , nevertheless , I agreed to the price , as a special trip with my granddaughter was important to me .I feel our room was not worth what I paid as the bed's were lumpy, the wall's thin, the bathroom could have been cleaner.the room in general had a tired look.On to the positive, the service was excellent ,front desk staff was very helpful, all our requests were met in a timely fashion .in the morning the request for help with a cart and belle service was immediate and friendly . We had a lot of luggage plus what we had purchased on the Boardwalk!,plus I realize dealing with a teen wasn't easy on the staff. We enjoyed the balcony attached to our room in the evening and early morning, the rooftop pool and Jacuzzi were wonderful nice beach towel's were set out at entrance to pool , a very nice touch !

Room Tip: They do have a good quick elevater , therefore I would suggest a room on upper floors for assess to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anadee2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalia P, General Manager at Boardwalk Inn, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of our property. Great to hear you and your grand daughter had a wonderful time and your stay was a memorable one. We hope you will visit again whenever your travels bring you and your family to the Kemah area.


Safe Travels,

Dalia Pena
General Manager
Boardwalk Inn- Kemah Boardwalk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Small very cute hotel. It's right on the boardwalk, shops underneath, live band right outside your room on Friday and Saturday, good music, it was nice to be able to walk to everything. Right next to all the boardwalk restaurants and attractions.

Very expensive for what you get. Rooms nice and clean, but no refrigerator, so taking leftover to your room is out.. Being in the middle of everything is nice, but you get to listen to the train whistle all day. I'm on the fence about the place, the Inn was nice, other than the room not have a fridge or microwave, plus for $750 for two nights you think you'd get more than just two bottles of water a day.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amber D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalia P, General Manager at Boardwalk Inn, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of our property and services, we truely appreciate your business and hope you will consider visiting again in the near future. Regarding the "No frig" in our guest rooms, we are actually looking at adding this to all our guest rooms in the very near future. We do provide the best location on the Boardwalk and feel we have alot to offer to our guests.

Safe Travels,

Dalia Pena
General Manager
Boardwalk Inn- Kemah Boardwalk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pike Road, AL
Level Contributor
252 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

The Boardwalk Inn is a great place to stay if you are in South Houston. It is right in the middle of all the action of Kemah, but our room was very quiet. The lobby is relaxing, there are plenty of very nice restaurants in walking distance, and the room was very comfortable. Each room has a balcony that overlooks the boardwalk - it is really too small to be comfortable (and it's way too hot anyway) but we enjoyed standing out on it, looking around, and taking some pictures.

The property is probably 15 or so years old, but we didn't notice any signs of wear. The decor is tasteful and everything smelled clean. There was at least one wedding at the Inn and we didn't even notice. Only negative comment of our one-night-stay is the pool was crowded, even at the 10pm closing time. Lots of kids and they ran out of pool towels. I guess that is to be expected in the summer. We stayed here on a Sunday night. I would definitely stay here again if in the area.

Room Tip: all rooms face north - we were on the 3rd floor - higher is probably quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank goldendiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalia P, General Manager at Boardwalk Inn, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of our Hotel, sounds like you and your family have a great time sampling all the fun on the Boardwalk. Come back and see us again soon, lots of great events during our fall months.


Safe Travels,

Dalia Pena
General Manager
Boardwalk Inn- Kemah Boardwalk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilchrist, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

My friend & I spent the night during the 'Rock the Dock' concert series. It was great to relax on the balcony overlooking the venue!!! Bed was comfortable & bathroom was fine. We were on the floor where the pool was located and there was soggy carpet in the hallway, but it did not affect our stay.I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalia P, General Manager at Boardwalk Inn, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of our property. Great to hear you and your family enjoyed the Rock The Dock music venue that was performing on the evening you stayed with us! we have made some venue changes this year and happy to hear we are on the right track!
Come back and visit us soon.


Safe Travels,


Dalia Pena
General Manager
Boardwalk Inn- Kemah Boardwalk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breaux Bridge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

The hotel was nice, clean and pretty comfy. A little too much light coming through the blinds especially in the morning but I covered it up with a blanket. Great food lots of rides games and restaurants! If you play games make sure to bring plenty money it goes quick but the kids had fun! Food was pricey too, but most vacation spots are anyway. The beds were okay not the most comfortable but it was okay. The staff was very nice and helpful! Overall it was fun for the kids! Pool was ver small, didn't spend much time there. Galveston was 30 minutes away and so was Houston, so we did that too. Music was great at night! Balcony was small but had a good view.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rfoti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalia P, General Manager at Boardwalk Inn, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel, sounds like the kids have a terrific time, its always alot of fun here during the summer. Regarding the blinds and "Too Much" light, we agree! The hotel is in the process of retro fitting all our guest rooms with window and balcony door plantation shutters. We have about 50% completed on this project and we hope to have the entire hotel completed by October. We recongnize that this has been a concern with our guests and we have selected some great shutters and hope that this will resolve the "Too Much " light filtering through. Our goal is to provide genuine care and comfort to all our guests and we do take reviews and comments to heart and make every effort to resolve. We hope you will come back soon and hope to hear your feed back on our new window coverings.

Safe Travels,


Dalia Pena
General Manager
Boardwalk Inn- Kemah Boardwalk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We stayed one night and had a great time on the boardwalk. Hotel is very nice however the room we were in was directly across from the service area used by housekeeping and room service. It was extremely noisy with staff in out and I was not happy about having to look at the housekeeping carts stationed outside our room ALL DAY. We have not had this experience at any other hotel. We were also awakened at the next morning at 7am by the housekeeping staff starting their day. Nice place to stay but too much to pay for the noise when you are looking to spend a nice, relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Y R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalia P, General Manager at Boardwalk Inn, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of our property, we apologize for the noise inconvienience during your stay, as you are corect our Housekeeping service area is directly across from the room you stated. None the less it is not an excuse for us to work at finding a method of entry to this area without making undue noise as we recognice this will effect the comfort of our guests in this immediate area.Our Housekeeping Director has made some changes with her staff and methods of entry in and out of this area and we are hopefull that this will minimize the noise. We hope you and your family will allow us another opportunity in the near future.

Safe Travels,

Dalia Pena
General Manager
Boardwalk Inn- Kemah Boardwalk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kemah
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Kemah (near boardwalk)
1.0 mi away
Days Inn Kemah
Days Inn Kemah
#3 of 5 in Kemah
3.5 of 5 stars 224 reviews
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Seabrook Nasa Kemah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hilton Houston NASA Clear Lake
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Seabrook Suites
6.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites Houston / NASA - Clear Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boardwalk Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boardwalk Inn

Property: Boardwalk Inn
Address: 8 Kemah Waterfront St, Kemah, TX 77565-7900
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Kemah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kemah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Boardwalk Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and unwind at the Boardwalk Inn, situated on the Kemah Boardwalk in Kemah, Texas, overlooking beautiful Galveston Bay. Each of our 48 deluxe guest rooms and 4 master suites feature Gulf Coast architecture, offering the feel of a seaside retreat with yellow walls and crisp trim, enhanced by nautical artwork and oversized bathrooms. We offer various views of the Kemah Boardwalk waterfront and Galveston Bay water channel, with the most-requested hotel rooms overlooking our entertainment stage and dancing water fountains. Each room in the hotel includes a private balcony, flat screen television and wireless high speed Internet access and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Boardwalk Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boardwalk Inn Kemah
Boardwalk Hotel Kemah
Kemah Boardwalk Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing